Lagos Rejects Ebola Trial Drug, Nano Silver

Date: 16-08-2014 8:53 am (9 years ago) | Author: emora latis
- at 16-08-2014 08:53 AM (9 years ago)
The Lagos State Government has declared its resolve not to use any drug other than the American ZMAPP for the Ebola patients in its custody.

The Commissioner of Health, Dr Jide idris, disclosed this on Friday.

As at Friday evening, it was still sketchy if the drug has arrived the shores of Nigeria.

Dr Idris said the Nano Silver being suggested by the Federal Government by a Nigerian scientist is a natural health product and the state is not ready to take chances with the health of the patients at all.

“Should we have access to ZMAPP now, right away, we will start the administration on the patients.

“We are attending a meeting soon with the Task Force on Ebola to know if the ZMAPP drug is available as stated by the Federal government,”Idris said.

Meanwhile, Idris disclosed yesterday that First Consultant Hospital where the first case of EVD occurred would be reopened soon.

This, he said, followed the mandatory three rounds of state certified decontamination process.

He said the Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Clinic, was shut after the detection of a confirmed case of the disease at the facility.

He said the state would facilitate the decontamination process of the clinic, adding: “25 patients and health workers at the facility when the case was detected are presently under surveillance.”.

You might also like to Read more Gist...

Posted: at 16-08-2014 08:53 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- sweetiedee at 16-08-2014 11:13 AM (9 years ago)
Hmmmmm! Naija, we like to comspire a lot. Why can't we just support
One another on a quest to get a cure for this dreadful disease to put
an end to it in our Country? Why can't we put sentiment aside, care
about this great nation and the lives of people in danger?
I can see nothing but the conspiracy here! I mean...we should encourage
Sommeone who can think of something meaningful. The victims are in pain
Already and nothing has been done yet to treat them other than to watch them
Die in pain. Even if u believe so much in the foreign drug (ZMAAP) and since
That's not available yet, let's acknowledge this Nano silver, treat people with it
And see if there could be a positive result. Don't be sentiment, peoples' lives are
Already in danger but do something to save their lives.
In my own opinion, I believe there are many solutions to a particular problem,
Let's use watever we have available for now and embrace any other drug
suggested drug to be the cure for it. May God help us.

Posted: at 16-08-2014 11:13 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie