170 African Migrants Drowned On Boat To Libya In Search of Greener Pasture

Date: 23-08-2014 7:02 am (9 years ago) | Author: ajomani
- at 23-08-2014 07:02 AM (9 years ago)

A boat accident has killed 170 African migrants travelling to Tripoli in search for better way of life.

According to Libyan coastguard officials, today a boat carrying 170 illegal migrants from sub-Saharan Africa was feared lost at sea off the capital Tripoli.

“We are looking for 170 African passengers on a wooden boat that has foundered off the Guarakouzi area” some 60 kilometres (35 miles) east of Tripoli, coastguard official Abdellatif Mohammed Ibrahim told AFP.

“A few miles off the coast, we found the remains of a wooden boat which had had some 200 migrants on board,” he said.

“We managed to save 16 people and recovered 15 bodies, but the search continues for some 170 people who disappeared at sea,” Ibrahim told AFP.

He said the coastguard was lacking in resources, and had only one patrol boat to search for the missing people.

An AFP journalist reported seeing the body of a child who was nevertheless wearing a life-jacket.

The coastguard official was unable to give any firm details of the nationalities of the victims or survivors, but added: “It seems that among them are Somalis and Eritreans.”

On Thursday, Tunisian fishermen rescued 75 migrants who had been drifting at sea for five days after leaving Libya aboard an inflatable in an attempt to reach Italy.

The migrants were in a state of extreme fatigue by the time they made landfall in Zarzis, in southern Tunisia, where emergency services took charge of them, an AFP correspondent reported.

Earlier this month, Tunisian coastguards intercepted 90 African migrants whose makeshift boat heading from Libya for the Italian island of Lampedusa broke down off Zarzis.

Would-be immigrants often attempt the crossing from Libya or Tunisia to Lampedusa in rickety boats.

On August 12, EU border agency Frontex said the number of boat migrants arriving in Italy soared 500 percent in the first half of the year, already topping a 2011 record during the Arab Spring uprisings.

The Warsaw-based agency said 78,300 people had arrived in the European Union by the end of July via the hazardous Mediterranean route from Libya to mainly Italy, but also Malta.

“Libya is highly unstable as it is now, and that means that the people-smuggling networks are flourishing,” Frontex spokeswoman Izabella Cooper told AFP.
[AFP]

>>>I THINK YOU WILL LOVE TO SEE THIS, CLICK AND SEE<<<

Posted: at 23-08-2014 07:02 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- zeigbo at 23-08-2014 08:13 AM (9 years ago)
Sad Sad Sad Sad

Posted: at 23-08-2014 08:13 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 23-08-2014 08:47 AM (9 years ago)
oh no!!!
Posted: at 23-08-2014 08:47 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 23-08-2014 09:02 AM (9 years ago)
Hmm African
Posted: at 23-08-2014 09:02 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 23-08-2014 09:09 AM (9 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 23-08-2014 09:09 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chidi4reala at 23-08-2014 09:12 AM (9 years ago)
Only in Africa... God save ur people
Posted: at 23-08-2014 09:12 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 23-08-2014 09:23 AM (9 years ago)
Poverty na bastard!! I swear!
Posted: at 23-08-2014 09:23 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 23-08-2014 09:45 AM (9 years ago)
Shame to u african leaders. Killing ur citizens to make money. Have u ever heard of brazilian citizens as poor as dat country is dat they are migrating to africa for greener pasture? Apart from those losers lebanese pple, I have not seen.
Posted: at 23-08-2014 09:45 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- motherlove at 23-08-2014 09:50 AM (9 years ago)
i can't even swim pool and wondering y people will risk their life on the sea
Posted: at 23-08-2014 09:50 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 23-08-2014 10:01 AM (9 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 23-08-2014 10:01 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- akinmanchy at 23-08-2014 10:15 AM (9 years ago)
So sad

Posted: at 23-08-2014 10:15 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- donpet at 23-08-2014 10:20 AM (9 years ago)
THE EUROPE NO EVEN WORTH THAT RISK, AFRICA IS MORE BETTER THAN EUROPE NOW
Posted: at 23-08-2014 10:20 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- seveneleven at 23-08-2014 10:30 AM (9 years ago)
Rip People
Posted: at 23-08-2014 10:30 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- christian432 at 23-08-2014 11:06 AM (9 years ago)
To quickly upgrade your WAEC results call mr dennis of the WAEC upgrading office on +2348145136576. Hurry now
Posted: at 23-08-2014 11:06 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- odprince at 23-08-2014 11:30 AM (9 years ago)
AFRICAN LEADERS ARE THE PROBLEM WHY THE PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING,,LOOK AT NIGERIA FOR EXAMPLE.,IF NOT THE PROBLEM AND GREED OF THE ABOKI,THE HAUSA'S SINCE 1960,EVERY NIGERIAN SHOULD BE RECEIVING SALARY EVERY MONTH,BECAUSE WE HAVE THE MONEY,HOW DID THE GOVERNMENT GET FROM ABACHA???BILLIONS OF NIGERIA AND WE AS NIGERIANS WE ARE JUST 170 MILLION PEOPLE,WHICH MEANS THAT EACH PERSON CAN GET 5-10 MILLION NAIRA EACH,BUT OBASANJO AND THE HAUSA'S STEAL ALL THE MONEY....MAY THUNDER FIRE THE AFRICAN LEADERS
Posted: at 23-08-2014 11:30 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Originalsly at 23-08-2014 12:30 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmm....greener pastures.....in Libya.
Posted: at 23-08-2014 12:30 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- henryob at 23-08-2014 12:31 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: odprince on 23-08-2014 11:30 AM
AFRICAN LEADERS ARE THE PROBLEM WHY THE PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING,,LOOK AT NIGERIA FOR EXAMPLE.,IF NOT THE PROBLEM AND GREED OF THE ABOKI,THE HAUSA'S SINCE 1960,EVERY NIGERIAN SHOULD BE RECEIVING SALARY EVERY MONTH,BECAUSE WE HAVE THE MONEY,HOW DID THE GOVERNMENT GET FROM ABACHA???BILLIONS OF NIGERIA AND WE AS NIGERIANS WE ARE JUST 170 MILLION PEOPLE,WHICH MEANS THAT EACH PERSON CAN GET 5-10 MILLION NAIRA EACH,BUT OBASANJO AND THE HAUSA'S STEAL ALL THE MONEY....MAY THUNDER FIRE THE AFRICAN LEADERS

MY MAN YOU CAN TELL THEM THIS AGAIN, phyuk ALL THE AFRICAN'S LEADERS FOOLS.
Posted: at 23-08-2014 12:31 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- donkendo1 at 23-08-2014 04:23 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: donpet on 23-08-2014 10:20 AM
THE EUROPE NO EVEN WORTH THAT RISK, AFRICA IS MORE BETTER THAN EUROPE NOW
..............What a brilliant statement!!!!!!!
Posted: at 23-08-2014 04:23 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- HOPEA23 at 23-08-2014 04:42 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmmm

Posted: at 23-08-2014 04:42 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 23-08-2014 06:00 PM (9 years ago)
CHAIIIII! MY PEOPLE PERISH BCOS OF POVERTY,,,,,WHICH BETTER WAY OF LIFE DEY LIBYA CAN SOMEONE PLS TELL ME???
Posted: at 23-08-2014 06:00 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

2. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

3. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

4. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

5. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

6. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

7. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

8. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

9. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

10. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

11. Kano Police Apprehend 22 Suspected Hoodlums, Declare 30 Others Wanted (Photos)

12. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

13. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

14. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

7. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

8. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

9. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

10. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives