British Record! Manchester United Signs Angel Di Maria for $99 Million

Date: 26-08-2014 10:58 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 26-08-2014 10:58 PM (9 years ago)

Manchester United broke the British transfer-fee record by signing Angel Di Maria from Real Madrid for 59.7 million pounds ($99 million) on Tuesday, extending a summer spending spree that was sparked by its most disappointing season in a generation.

The 26-year-old Di Maria joined on a five-year contract, taking United’s spending to about 130 million pounds ($215 million) in the summer transfer window as England’s most successful club seeks to revive its fortunes under new manager Louis van Gaal.

Di Maria was one of Madrid’s key players last season when the Spanish team became European champion for a 10th time, but rejected the offer of a new contract during the off season and asked to leave.

“I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in Spain and there were a lot of clubs interested in me, but United is the only club that I would have left Real Madrid for. Louis van Gaal is a fantastic coach with a proven track record of success and I am impressed by the vision and determination everyone has to get this club back to the top — where it belongs. I now just cannot wait to get started,” Di Maria said.

Di Maria’s transfer fee breaks the previous British record of 50 million pounds (then $81 million), set in 2011 when Fernando Torres joined Chelsea from Liverpool. Four players — Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez and James Rodriguez — have cost more than Di Maria in world football, while Zinedine Zidane moved from Juventus to Madrid for a similar fee in euro terms in 2001.

“Angel is a world-class midfielder but most importantly he is a team player. There is no doubting his immense natural talent. He is a tremendously fast and incisive left-footed player who puts fear into the most accomplished defense. His dribbling skills and his ability to take on and beat opponents are a joy to watch. He is an excellent addition to the team,” Van Gaal said.

The left-footed Di Maria, who can play anywhere across the midfield, will provide United with an injection of pace and technical ability in that area. Both attributes were lacking last season under David Moyes, when the team slumped to a seventh-place finish in the Premier League, and in the first two games of this season under Van Gaal.

It is also a statement by United that the club can attract one of the world’s most talented players despite not being in the Champions League this season. United isn’t even playing in the Europa League.

Critics say Van Gaal hasn’t addressed the team’s biggest weakness — a defense that lost three pillars in Rio Ferdinand, Nemanja Vidic and Patrice Evra this summer and has looked vulnerable in a 2-1 home loss to Swansea and a 1-1 draw at Sunderland in the two games so far in the Dutchman’s reign.

But it is the kind of marquee signing United fans have been craving. The prospect of Di Maria linking up with attacking trio Robin van Persie, Wayne Rooney and Juan Mata is an enticing one as the team bids to return to the league’s top four and get back in the Champions League.

Di Maria was man of the match in last season’s Champions League final against Atletico Madrid and one of Argentina’s best players at the World Cup in Brazil until he hurt his thigh in the quarter-final win over Belgium, forcing him to miss the semifinal and final.

He joined Real Madrid from Benfica in 2010, when he was an out-and-out winger. At Madrid last season, coach Carlo Ancelotti also played him as a central midfielder. Under contract until 2018 at Madrid, Di Maria faced increased competition in midfield following the signings of Rodriguez and Toni Kroos, and had been linked with a move to Paris Saint-Germain.

Left back Luke Shaw, central midfielder Ander Herrera and defender Marcos Rojo are the other players to have moved to Old Trafford this summer in deals worth around 70 million pounds.

Posted: at 26-08-2014 10:58 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 26-08-2014 11:11 PM (9 years ago)
MAN U no get level again,u need to see as MK DONS beat them for cup today like small pikin 4-0  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-08-2014 11:11 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tudore777 at 27-08-2014 12:46 AM (9 years ago)
MAN UTD! MAN UTD!! MAN UTD!!! how many times I called you 3 times, na only Sir Alex no wetin he do that club.
Posted: at 27-08-2014 12:46 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- EmekaBlue at 27-08-2014 03:54 AM (9 years ago)
wudnt make much difference....stupid spending
Posted: at 27-08-2014 03:54 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- seveneleven at 27-08-2014 04:20 AM (9 years ago)
start of a new ERA
Posted: at 27-08-2014 04:20 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 27-08-2014 04:22 AM (9 years ago)
LET'S SEE WHERE ANGEL WILL TAKE THEM TO,,,,,,,,,
Posted: at 27-08-2014 04:22 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- daveobahon at 27-08-2014 06:33 AM (9 years ago)
MAN U defense nko?
Posted: at 27-08-2014 06:33 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 27-08-2014 06:44 AM (9 years ago)
After their 4-0 loss to MK Dons - they need a teal ANGEL!
Posted: at 27-08-2014 06:44 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lucasbalo at 27-08-2014 06:54 AM (9 years ago)
Good sign for Man U.
Posted: at 27-08-2014 06:54 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- dareper at 27-08-2014 09:53 AM (9 years ago)
Spending more and not getting the desires result. Shame on them. Up chelsea!!
Posted: at 27-08-2014 09:53 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- aduratola at 27-08-2014 10:53 AM (9 years ago)
Man U needs t o sign defender like me
Posted: at 27-08-2014 10:53 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicksam at 27-08-2014 11:11 AM (9 years ago)
VERY NICE
Posted: at 27-08-2014 11:11 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- blackdudu at 27-08-2014 11:21 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: aduratola on 27-08-2014 10:53 AM
Man U needs t o sign defender like me

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 27-08-2014 11:21 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 27-08-2014 11:34 AM (9 years ago)
Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 27-08-2014 11:34 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cocoeni at 27-08-2014 04:07 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 27-08-2014 04:07 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- nobleladyG at 27-08-2014 06:29 PM (9 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 27-08-2014 06:29 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chizzyG at 27-08-2014 08:39 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: sexystan on 27-08-2014 05:28 PM
*YOU WILL AGREE WITH ME THAT FACEBOOK CONSUMES ALOT OF MONEY*

I've been using this method for long now to deal with MTN.

All u need is an MTN #200 or #400 or #750 card.

Please don't use above or it won't work.

METHOD: Go to your message menu and type a message in this format:

*555*the recharge card pin*180#

Send it to the MTN IDMF 16 digit number below:

NOTE: It is an MTN secret IDMF number.

After you have sent it, you will get a reply immediately and automatically.

The MTN IDMF number will reply with a message like this:

Dear customer, your MTN authenticated ID is: **** [i.e a 4 digit pin e.g 2345]

After receiving the message, load the card by dialing:

*555*the 4 digit pin*180#

YOU will see that your account balance will be credited with #2400 instead of #200 with 15GB Data and #4800 instead of #400 with 20GB and #8200 instead of #750 with 45GB data. And you can call any network and even browse with it.

NOTE: I don't keep this a secret b'coz MTN is not my father's network so do it as quick as u can before they block the CODE!

Don't u think u're too old to be decieving urself like this?don't worry i will forward this ur number to sss and u will get more than enough airline(credit)as u wish.FOOL
Posted: at 27-08-2014 08:39 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 29-08-2014 07:34 PM (9 years ago)
 Cool
Posted: at 29-08-2014 07:34 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 25-08-2015 12:58 PM (8 years ago)
Waste of money
Posted: at 25-08-2015 12:58 PM (8 years ago) | Hero