Some Producers Asked Me For Sex — Actress Damilola Alabi

Date: 29-08-2014 1:10 pm (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 29-08-2014 01:10 PM (9 years ago)

Damilola Alabi is a United Kingdom-based actress and legal practitioner. The role interpreter, fondly called Dami Ann by her fans has been frequently in Nigeria lately. Gistmaina caught up with her at a movie location where she talked about her multimillion naira movie, The Rubicon, and the knotty issue of sex for role in Nollywood
You are known as a lawyer. How did the acting part of you evolve?
It started in 2008 when I met a producer, Afolabi Makinde, who came to the law firm where I was working in the UK to do a shoot. I spoke to one of his production crew of my interest in acting, and how I had been looking for the opportunity. He promised to help me speak to Makinde, the producer, which he did. I later met the producer who told me they had all the cast complete already, but should they need me, they will let me know. He told me to just stick around and I did. I was later given a role; just a scene in the movie titled Rescue Me. But it was a good experience to start with. The movie, directed by Fidelis Duker, paraded Nollywood stars including Steph Nora Okeke, Clem Ohameze and others. Since then, I have not looked back.
How would you describe the experience so far?
It has been a very wonderful experience. Even right from the first day, the director said I have a face for the camera. That was to me an encouragement. It feels amazing to be appreciated. It’s a nice feeling. Acting and entertainment are my life, I live to act and make films, and any chance and opportunity I get to do that, I embrace it with open arms. The experience has been nice. And to be honest, I am very grateful to God for where I am today. I know I am not there yet but I am quite sure I will by the special grace of God.
What have been the challenges?
While I would say I am happy with the experience and those so many lessons I have learnt, the only challenge I am facing is that being a UK-based actress, people here in Nigeria don’t know me much. So, I had to network, do the ground work which has not been easy at all. But I thank God that I have met some people who have been very nice to me. They believe in me and allowed me to showcase my talent and God-given skills. Though, I still shuttle between Nigeria and the UK but it has been really good. I am enjoying it all and believe I will soon be among the celebrated entertainers across the globe.
You are seen more in Nigeria lately. What are you up to?
Yes, I frequent Nigeria more and it is because of some projects I am doing here.
You premiered your debut production, The Rubicon, sometime last year in the UK, how would you describe it?
Yes, my first production, The Rubicon, starring O. C. Ukeje and directed by Chucks Mordi was premiered in the UK in January. It was a very successful event. I was overwhelmed by the support and turnout. It was the first ever invite-only Nollywood premiere to be done in the United Kingdom and the screening hall was packed full. It was a great experience, I thank God.
When are you premiering it in Nigeria?
There is a plan for another exclusive invite-only launch in Nigeria and I am earnestly working on that at the moment. All will be revealed in good time. I will like people to stay tuned.
So, what’s new about you now?
After The Rubicon, I have just produced a Yoruba movie, Lakumbutu. It is in post-production now. Very soon, it will be out.
That should be your first Yoruba movie?
Yes. That is my first Yoruba movie I personally produced. People should just watch out for it. It is a very fantastic flick starring Odunlade Adekola, Yemi Elebubon, Rasaq Olayiwola, Peju Ogunmola and others. Like I said, it is my first Yoruba production but I have featured in some Yoruba movies as an actress.
Learnt you also have a TV programme running in the UK?
Yes. It is not a live show. We shoot seasonally. I just finished taping some more episodes. When I go to the UK, I will shoot some more again.
What is your assessment of Nollywood?
I think nothing can be perfect, no matter how good something is, you will still find some things to complain about. In my opinion, the biggest problem with Nollywood is marketing. A great movie requires a lot of money. Thus distributors and marketers should be ready to encourage producers by investing good money to produce good quality movies.
What is your take on the issue of segxwal harassment in the movie industry?
What I can say is that there is harassment in most occupations. Even some church workers would have experienced segxwal harassment in their church. So, it is not peculiar to Nollywood alone. However, actresses should be protected and awareness should be created to let them know that they need not sleep with producers before they have a career in Nollywood.
Have you actually experienced such?
I have experienced instances where some producers expected me to exchange favours for roles. But I have stood my ground saying I need not have to do that in order to succeed. I have heard lots of stories from others who have been victims. Exchanging segxwal favours for roles is not a guarantee of success so I will never go down that lane.
What is your reaction to those tales that you and Chuks Mordi are dating?
That is absurd. There is no romance between us. Chucks Mordi is the director of my first production, The Rubicon. He has been nothing but a great support, help and assistance to me since we met. He is a man of great character and conviction. He believed in me when I approached him and he took up my cause like a father and friend. He stood by me, guided and advised me, he even sacrificed a lot just for The Rubicon to be the success it is today. He is a great person that I can always rely on.
Since you are not getting any younger, when are you planning to settle down?
Oh, I actually thought I was getting younger. I am grateful to God as I am already settled for an amazing guy. He is very private and doesn’t like being in the spotlight.
Who is your ideal man?
My ideal man is a man of great character, someone who is supportive, understanding and is not afraid to show his love to me at any time. A man with a great sense of humour who is ambitious and hard working.
Tell us a little of your background?
I attended both primary and secondary schools in Nigeria before moving to the UK for my tertiary education where I studied Company and Family Law but with a little of Immigration Law. I am the sixth of seven children. I grew in a very disciplined home. My dad was very strict but my mom is a bit relaxed. Funny enough, with my deep involvement in movies, my dad always asked if I am still practicing Law.

Posted: at 29-08-2014 01:10 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ken1230 at 29-08-2014 02:10 PM (9 years ago)
Ok oooooooooooo, but why are you lying that you have not give in to their demands? Next please
Posted: at 29-08-2014 02:10 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 29-08-2014 02:23 PM (9 years ago)
Ok, but u dey give them naa? Abi na only the ones wey u no give u go dey tell us?
Posted: at 29-08-2014 02:23 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 29-08-2014 02:29 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 29-08-2014 02:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zeigbo at 29-08-2014 02:33 PM (9 years ago)
still reading

Posted: at 29-08-2014 02:33 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 29-08-2014 02:35 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 29-08-2014 02:35 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- seveneleven at 29-08-2014 02:59 PM (9 years ago)
after u don give dem finish you come dey talk trash
Posted: at 29-08-2014 02:59 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 29-08-2014 04:45 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 29-08-2014 04:45 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- daveobahon at 29-08-2014 05:16 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 29-08-2014 05:16 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 29-08-2014 06:32 PM (9 years ago)
Na dis face, na him dem say he gud for camera?
Posted: at 29-08-2014 06:32 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- osamabinladin at 29-08-2014 06:43 PM (9 years ago)
Noted !
Posted: at 29-08-2014 06:43 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Yossman at 29-08-2014 08:21 PM (9 years ago)
Who knows how many of them u Gave it to
Posted: at 29-08-2014 08:21 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Yossman at 29-08-2014 08:24 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 29-08-2014 08:24 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Yossman at 29-08-2014 08:24 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 29-08-2014 08:24 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 29-08-2014 09:46 PM (9 years ago)
even ugly you  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 29-08-2014 09:46 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dynasty4all at 29-08-2014 09:48 PM (9 years ago)
ATTENTION SEEKER
WHO TELL U SAY SHE NO OPEN HER LEGS FOR THEM?
YORUBA GIRLS DONT KNOW HOW 2 SAY NO
D WORLD "NO" NO DEY 4 THEIR DICTIONARY
Posted: at 29-08-2014 09:48 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EVERYBODY at 29-08-2014 10:23 PM (9 years ago)
FIRST YOUR FACE NO JUST GOOD FOR CAMARA,AND THE MAN YOU DISCRIBE AS A FATHER ND FRIEND DON MASAKA U FINISH THAT WHY, EVEN MONEY FACE HIN SEE E DEY GOOD FOR CAMARA IDIOT TALK TRUE.
Posted: at 29-08-2014 10:23 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- NaWahooo at 29-08-2014 11:21 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dynasty4all on 29-08-2014 09:48 PM
ATTENTION SEEKER
WHO TELL U SAY SHE NO OPEN HER LEGS FOR THEM?
YORUBA GIRLS DONT KNOW HOW 2 SAY NO
D WORLD "NO" NO DEY 4 THEIR DICTIONARY

Ha ha! The ''alata slum'' Yoruba girls weh you fit afford, abi?  A U.K. based Lawyer serving her fatherland has passion for acting not like you that has passion for stealing from your fatherland-bunkring and being an international thief 419na. She's way past that cheap level to sleep with ''allrightsir'' like you.  A corporate/goodwill lawyer in western world, ABAH  Shocked

You're similar to the assumed 666 dataIDfools......
GET EDUCATED and stop embarrassing your ''OFE agbero'' self......

FIRST CLASS BOLO Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 29-08-2014 11:21 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 30-08-2014 04:52 AM (9 years ago)
yeye dey smell

Posted: at 30-08-2014 04:52 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- NaWahooo at 30-08-2014 08:58 AM (9 years ago)
O P O N U   S L A N G  N I Y E N  o O o  Grin

Posted: at 30-08-2014 08:58 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming