Ebola Vaccine Works 100 Percent on Monkeys

Date: 08-09-2014 12:32 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 8-09-2014 12:32 PM (9 years ago)

Vaccinated monkeys have developed "long-term" immunity to the Ebola virus, raising a prospect of successful human trials, say scientists.
The experiments by the US National Institutes of Health showed immunity could last at least 10 months.
Human trials of the vaccine started this week in the US and will extend to the UK and Africa.
The World Health Organization says more than 2,000 people have now died in the outbreak in West Africa.
Several experimental treatments are now being considered to help contain the spread of Ebola.
This includes a vaccine being developed by the US National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases and pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline.
It uses a genetically modified chimp virus containing components of two species of Ebola - Zaire, which is currently circulating in West Africa, and the common Sudan species.
The viral vaccine does not replicate inside the body, but it is hoped the immune system will react to the Ebola component of the vaccine and develop immunity.

Posted: at 8-09-2014 12:32 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ritabrenice at 8-09-2014 12:54 PM (9 years ago)
God help us all
Posted: at 8-09-2014 12:54 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 8-09-2014 01:03 PM (9 years ago)
Monkeys or human being???
Posted: at 8-09-2014 01:03 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- bissau at 8-09-2014 01:10 PM (9 years ago)
WHITE PEOPLE THEY LIKE ALIGET AFRICANS. HOW DID THEY KNOW THAT UP TO 2000 PEOPLE  HAVE DIED IN WEST AFRICA BECAUSE OF EBOLA
Posted: at 8-09-2014 01:10 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 8-09-2014 01:16 PM (9 years ago)
monkeys,,,,,,,,,?Huh??
Posted: at 8-09-2014 01:16 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Wysetots at 8-09-2014 03:27 PM (9 years ago)
Please Let it work
Posted: at 8-09-2014 03:27 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- orekiata at 8-09-2014 03:30 PM (9 years ago)
Monkey business
Posted: at 8-09-2014 03:30 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 8-09-2014 03:34 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-09-2014 03:34 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zednaijaman at 8-09-2014 05:11 PM (9 years ago)
It is common practice to use trial medications on other animals like rats or monkeys as we have it in this case. What if it was given directly to humans and it fails? from my little knowledge of medicine I know vaccines contain strains of the disease itself. In other words there might be strains of the ebola virus in the vaccine. Anybody here still think its wrong to try it on monkeys first? indicate by raising ur hands make i introduce the vaccine into ur body without trial on monkeys
Posted: at 8-09-2014 05:11 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zednaijaman at 8-09-2014 05:21 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Lil_grin on  8-09-2014 04:53 PM
Don't fool us!!! U started the ebola tinz!!! Yu knw the vaccines!!! Jez end it and let the african respect yu!!! Since that what yu want!!!!  #ihateamerica
I wonder what Africans have been doing all these years other than sitting back and blaming the whites for our misfortunes. Oh, now I know what Africans have been doing throughout history, we have been sitting back and blaming the whites for our misfortune instead of searching for solutions to our numerous problems
Posted: at 8-09-2014 05:21 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beejaybabs at 8-09-2014 09:33 PM (9 years ago)
this sure raise hope

Posted: at 8-09-2014 09:33 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 8-09-2014 09:40 PM (9 years ago)
Nice
Posted: at 8-09-2014 09:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yettyness at 8-09-2014 10:16 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 8-09-2014 10:16 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- doubleclick at 9-09-2014 03:48 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: zednaijaman on  8-09-2014 05:21 PM
I wonder what Africans have been doing all these years other than sitting back and blaming the whites for our misfortunes. Oh, now I know what Africans have been doing throughout history, we have been sitting back and blaming the whites for our misfortune instead of searching for solutions to our numerous problems
It's like you still a small boy when it come into issue like this. I don't trust these people(white.) To me i believe it is all these big multinational drug companies that manufactured the strains of the virus and then introduced them back to west africa in order to bust their market. Where did the so-called experimental drug( Zmapp) came from all of a surden since 1976? this new strain is not the same with one of the first outbreak in congo in 1976. What brought those american that were first infected to the remote part of west africa? mission work abi? anyway God will help africa.
Posted: at 9-09-2014 03:48 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- peterson20011 at 9-09-2014 04:38 AM (9 years ago)
SO WE BLACK NOW IS MONKEY? I DONT UNDERSTAND THIS PEOPLES ONLY GOD IS GOING TO HELP US
Posted: at 9-09-2014 04:38 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- rizzotti at 9-09-2014 04:56 AM (9 years ago)
why monkey?,were monkeys the first carriers of ebola?
Posted: at 9-09-2014 04:56 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 9-09-2014 06:28 AM (9 years ago)
It is well !
Posted: at 9-09-2014 06:28 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Nicksam at 9-09-2014 10:33 AM (9 years ago)
GOOD
Posted: at 9-09-2014 10:33 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 25-08-2015 09:14 AM (8 years ago)
Nice one
Posted: at 25-08-2015 09:14 AM (8 years ago) | Hero