Photos: Survivors Of SCOAN Building Collapse Rejoice [Video Inside]

Date: 14-09-2014 8:25 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 14-09-2014 08:25 PM (9 years ago)

On Friday September 12th, a building inside the Synagogue Church of all Nation suddenly collapsed and according to NEMA officials, 17 people died while 120 people were rescued alive.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&amp;v=PMLhaRdFdlg" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&amp;v=PMLhaRdFdlg</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&amp;v=SHJfGVmuYHg" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&amp;v=SHJfGVmuYHg</a>

In this new report, Ihechukwu Njoku, a freelance journalist (who writes a lot for SCOAN) who visited the scene of the tragic incident writes about what he saw and how many people 'miraculously survived' the building collapse. Continue to see what he wrote and what some survivors told him

CLICK HERE TO VIEW MORE PHOTOS

Article by Ihechukwu Njoku
"Thank You, Jesus”, a cry rang out from an onlooker, followed by a burst of relieved applause from the crowd of church helpers and rescue workers. They had been working non-stop since the giant building was reduced to rubble in a matter of seconds the previous day.

From a tiny hole at the far side of the wreckage, a body was being brought out. “She’s alive,” a man beside me reassured. Straining to look closer, I saw the woman, who was being stretchered toward an awaiting ambulance, waving her hands. “God of T.B. Joshua, you are wonderful,” the rescued lady exclaimed, her voice extraordinarily strong. She had been in the dark, under the rubble for over 24 hours.

"Bros,” I overheard a worker confiding in his colleague, “if not for God, no one should be brought out alive from there.” It was hard to disagree with his sentiment looking at the mangled remains of what was a six-storey building nearing completion.

"They’ve found another one,” a cry excitedly broke my musing, another cheer reverberating among onlookers. Despite the tragedy, the spirit of camaraderie was warming to behold. A small child was being brought out of the wreckage alive. “Wait,” one of the rescue team cautioned. “Her mother is still inside.” Moments later, mother and daughter were reunited.

"One thing you have to understand,” an official of Nigeria’s Emergency Management Association (NEMA) official told me on the condition of anonymity, “90% of those being rescued were eating or working the bottom floor of the building when it collapsed.” He shook his head in disbelief. “How they survived beats my imagination.”

"The situation could have turned out much worse,” another member of the rescue team named Sunday corroborated. “If not for God, we could be talking of over 100 fatalities.”

I made my way toward one of the ambulances preparing to leave, hoping to catch a glimpse of another survivor. A man in his late 40s lay there, wet with sweat, bruised and breathing heavily. The discussion I overhead was poignant. “Was I really in that building,” he faintly questioned the nurse as she held his hand. “Thank your God,” she quietly replied. “We should call your name miracle.”

During a three-hour visit to The SCOAN, I witnessed no fewer than 30 people brought out of the wreckage through the concerted efforts of the rescue teams. All were alive."

I hear you Ihechukwu but all these could have been avoided if they hadn't tried to raise a 2-storey building to five. According to NEMA spokesman, the building (a guest house) was originally a two storey building and SCOAN was trying to raise it to five.

“The additional three was being constructed when it collapsed around 1p.m Friday afternoon. The church members have been very aggressive and tried attacking emergency responders." NEMA spokesperson said yesterday.

Posted: at 14-09-2014 08:25 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- allenspike at 14-09-2014 09:01 PM (9 years ago)
Na don go empower members 2 rejoice 2 cover na tracks! well played!

Posted: at 14-09-2014 09:01 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zeigbo at 14-09-2014 10:21 PM (9 years ago)

Posted: at 14-09-2014 10:21 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ololababs at 14-09-2014 10:40 PM (9 years ago)
Thank God for those who survived. People will say its a miracle but  Chai what about those who passed on???

Person don suffer! Rip to them.
Posted: at 14-09-2014 10:40 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mymumy at 14-09-2014 10:55 PM (9 years ago)
Tb Joshua is anointed man of God.peaple who are trying to destroy him will perish.do not touch the prophet of God
Posted: at 14-09-2014 10:55 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- isbigo at 15-09-2014 12:45 AM (9 years ago)
THIS AIRCRAFT MUST BE UP TO SOMETHING, THIS IS TOO BAD,RIP TO THE DEAD
Posted: at 15-09-2014 12:45 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- geo1010 at 15-09-2014 01:00 AM (9 years ago)
It is very clear that bomb was planted in that building or drop from the air craft , cos it happen so fast , their must be a explosion in that building  , i pray that the Nigeria police will do a good job there to find out what really course the building collapse , no matter what enemies do  , the wold had already seen  and believe that TB Joshua is really man of God , so shame on to then that are doing all this kind of evil , you had fail again and you will always fail ,   God is with him and God will expose you all in due time
Posted: at 15-09-2014 01:00 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- WhaleDog at 15-09-2014 04:25 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: geo1010 on 15-09-2014 01:00 AM
It is very clear that bomb was planted in that building or drop from the air craft , cos it happen so fast , their must be a explosion in that building  , i pray that the Nigeria police will do a good job there to find out what really course the building collapse , no matter what enemies do  , the wold had already seen  and believe that TB Joshua is really man of God , so shame on to then that are doing all this kind of evil , you had fail again and you will always fail ,   God is with him and God will expose you all in due time
My dear! How long will you continue living in denial and ignorance ;Truth of this episode is thd fact that the building was erected falsefully.This coukd hv been avoided catastrophe if the church had constructed the building on it's primary planning,purpose and survey.It was outright unnecessary loss of lives caused by altercation of the original design of the collapsed building .We should address issues with sincerity to avoid future occurrence of such tragedy.Peace !!!!

Posted: at 15-09-2014 04:25 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 15-09-2014 05:38 AM (9 years ago)
TERRIBLE,,,,,
Posted: at 15-09-2014 05:38 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 15-09-2014 06:16 AM (9 years ago)
God is good.... Cool

Posted: at 15-09-2014 06:16 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ritabrenice at 15-09-2014 06:24 AM (9 years ago)
God is faithful
Posted: at 15-09-2014 06:24 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Doziefelix at 15-09-2014 06:26 AM (9 years ago)
To the living, we rejoice with them. And to the dead, we mourn with their bereaved families.
Posted: at 15-09-2014 06:26 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mensch at 15-09-2014 07:52 AM (9 years ago)
An aircraft flying over a biulding can never cause it to collaps. Remenber an helicopter  do land on top of a building and ships,they never collaps. This building went down cause of love of money. The pastor should be arrested this is a serious crime
Posted: at 15-09-2014 07:52 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mensch at 15-09-2014 07:57 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: mymumy on 14-09-2014 10:55 PM
Tb Joshua is anointed man of God.peaple who are trying to destroy him will perish.do not touch the prophet of God
bro dont u thing he is destroying him self by using foundation of 2story building for 5 story building ?
Posted: at 15-09-2014 07:57 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 15-09-2014 08:36 AM (9 years ago)
calamity
Posted: at 15-09-2014 08:36 AM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- Nicksam at 15-09-2014 09:39 AM (9 years ago)
THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD COME INTO THIS ABEG
Posted: at 15-09-2014 09:39 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ashimole at 15-09-2014 10:32 AM (9 years ago)
WE REJOICE WITH THE LIVING
Posted: at 15-09-2014 10:32 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- benbellabiz at 15-09-2014 10:51 AM (9 years ago)
the lord will always be our strength.
Posted: at 15-09-2014 10:51 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fazob at 15-09-2014 11:26 AM (9 years ago)
It is possible to convert a two-storey building to five or even six so far as you do it right. Talking about mysterious aircraft, how mysterious was it, did it drop anything, well there was no explosion, so then lets wait until the committee set up commence work and give us their report. 
Posted: at 15-09-2014 11:26 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vincentade at 15-09-2014 02:41 PM (9 years ago)
most nigerians are hypocrites,our people do not like to say the truth,this building collapse because of the additional two story building that was added ,which was not in the original plan,no bomb,no helicopter,simple,i sympatise with the pastor,because he is a nice man.
Posted: at 15-09-2014 02:41 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

3. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

4. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

5. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. I've Paid IT Experts To Pull Down My S3x Tape Off Internet And Mobile Devices -Tiwa Savage Says

8. Suspended UNN Lecturer Caught Sexual Assaulting His Married Female Student Arrested

9. Naira Slumps Against Dollar To N1,300 In Official Market

10. Men No Longer Lose Weight In The Gym - Lady Reveals Reasons In A Video

11. 'Kidnappers, Terrorists Don’t Deserve Mercy'- Murdered Professor Says In Last Interview

12. Kanye West Reportedly Planning To Launch Porn Studio

13. Photos Of Kogi University Lecturer, Sarinus Kano Killed By Suspected Armed Robbers

14. Actor, Femi Adebayo's Wife Calls Out Online Aunties Who Come To Her DM With 'Dumb Advice'

15. Despite Men’s Craziness, Women Can’t Do Without Them Says Singer, Tiwa Savage

16. Alleged N8bn Nigeria Air Fraud: EFCC Arrests Ex-Aviation Minister, Sirika

17. BBN Venita Called A ‘Bully’ After Neo Shares Family Ordeal With One

18. HARDWORK PAYS; Lady Opens Own Shop After Years Of Hawking Chin Chin, Egg Rolls, Puff Puff

19. Heartbreaking; Man Losses Wife And Baby After 14 Years Of Barrenness

20. Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello, Group Tells EFCC

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office