CHAI: Pastor Chris Oyakhilome Removed As Trustee Of Church’s U.K. Branch

Date: 05-10-2014 4:22 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 5-10-2014 04:22 PM (9 years ago)

The face-off between the Founder of Believers Love World (aka Christ Embassy) Chris Oyakhilome, and his wife, Anita, has taken a new dimension!

According to an exclusive report on PremiumTimes, Mr. Oyakhilome is no longer a trustee of the United Kingdom’s branch of the church.

With Mr. Oyakhilome’s removal, his wife, Anita, now presides over a seven-man Board of Trustees of the N8.2 billion rich branch, church documents reviewed by PREMIUM TIMES have shown.The six other members of the board are:

Obi Chiemeka,
Ifeoma Onubogu,
Nkem Odiakah,
Raymond Okocha,
Tony Obi and
Uche Onubogu, all pastors believed to be loyal to Mrs. Oyakhilome.

Mrs. Oyakhilome has for long headed the U.K branch of the church but her husband, before what appears his sudden removal, had since inception presided over the Board of Trustees of the charity.

The new development suggests that in addition to the matrimonial squabble the couples are having, an intense power struggle and battle for the soul of the U.K. branch of the church might be going on between the estranged lovers and partners as well.

In fact, Mr. Oyakhilome had dropped the first hint that there might be a hierarchical row in the church when he reportedly accused his wife of acting like an equal and wanting to overpower the authorities of the elders she met in the church.

PREMIUM TIMES’ review of documents filed by the church’s UK branch to the Charity Commission of England and Wales has now shown that Mr. Oyakhilome is no longer a registered trustee of a branch of his church with total asset worth over N8.2 billion (£31 million). Until he was recently abruptly removed, Mr. Oyakhilome was consistently listed as a prominent trustee since 1996, when the branch was established.

Contrary to the church’s practice of stating reasons for removal of trustees in the past, no reason has been given for the removal of Pastor Oyakhilome. It is unclear whether explanation for the action would be given in the church’s annual report for 2013 which is yet to made public by the charity commission.

According to the church’s financial statement, in 2009, five pastors were removed from the church’s board of trustees after they resigned from their positions and two others were appointed. A Charity Commission spokesperson, Sarah Hitchings, told PREMIUM TIMES that it was not the concern of the commission to know why charities remove or replace their trustees.

The international office of Christ Embassy refused to respond to questions this newspaper sent through email neither did the international audit and accounting firm, Mazars, appointed by the Charity Commission to run the affairs of the church after it opened statutory inquiry into the finances of the church following suspicious payment it made to connected parties worth N941 million between 2008 and 2012.

However, church insiders said the removal of the pastor was a plot by his wife to take total control of the affairs of the branch even as her relationship with her husband of two decades deteriorates. With his ouster, those who should know said Mr. Oyakhilome has lost the locus to interfere in the affairs of that branch of the church.
“He has been effectively sidelined,” a church insider said. “The law in the U.K. does not recognise him as an interested party in that branch of the church anymore.”

Anita herself loses control

But even the seven-man board led by Mrs. Oyakhilome has itself lost control of the affairs of the church.  On August 11, the U.K. charity commission effectively sidelined her board and appointed an interim manager to take over the management of the church.

In what it described as a “temporary and protective measure,” the commission appointed Rod Weston of the international audit and accounting firm, Mazars, to take over the running of the church.

The Commission says it is investigating the church over “a number of serious concerns relating to the use of charitable funds, in particular large connected party payments and the potential misapplication of grant funding.”

Until investigation is concluded, Mr. Weston would preside “over the management of the charity, including its staff, assets, interests, and relations with third parties,” the commission said. He is also expected to discharge the functions of the church’s trustees and take steps necessary to secure and take control of the assets of the church.

The commission however added that the activities of the church would not be suspended by the appointment as the Interim Manager is expected to work with the pastors of the church to ensure its religious and charity activities continue as before.

Posted: at 5-10-2014 04:22 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 5-10-2014 04:33 PM (9 years ago)
Church Politics..........Church business.

*Shaking My Head*
Posted: at 5-10-2014 04:33 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- uncledon at 5-10-2014 04:41 PM (9 years ago)
This one na complete full essay, too long to read jare.
Posted: at 5-10-2014 04:41 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- morgrawl231 at 5-10-2014 05:02 PM (9 years ago)
LIPS SEALED,,,,,,,
Posted: at 5-10-2014 05:02 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 5-10-2014 05:07 PM (9 years ago)
Church businesses.
Posted: at 5-10-2014 05:07 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zeigbo at 5-10-2014 06:25 PM (9 years ago)
mmmmmm

Posted: at 5-10-2014 06:25 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bospak at 5-10-2014 07:24 PM (9 years ago)
Devil no where you can enter as far as you see any loop hole. Nawaoooo!!!!!
Posted: at 5-10-2014 07:24 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 5-10-2014 08:45 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 5-10-2014 08:45 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slyy2j at 5-10-2014 08:51 PM (9 years ago)
This people dey use church and Jesus name dey hammer from people head.i pity all this pastors followers,if you want to serve Jesus it's better to do it within you and your family not going to give pastors money and always remember Jesus is in the heart of everyone
Posted: at 5-10-2014 08:51 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Foxtroft at 5-10-2014 09:56 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: zeigbo on  5-10-2014 06:25 PM
mmmmmm
See your people. Instead of them to settle the stand off between Oyakhilome and his wife, they are taking side. From real life experience, that is so typical of Igbo ppl When will Igbo ppl stop this kind of attitude?
Posted: at 5-10-2014 09:56 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- isbigo at 5-10-2014 10:49 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Foxtroft on  5-10-2014 09:56 PM
See your people. Instead of them to settle the stand off between Oyakhilome and his wife, they are taking side. From real life experience, that is so typical of Igbo ppl When will Igbo ppl stop this kind of attitude?
MAY THUNDER FIRE UR ENTIRE GENERATIONS.U BLOODY AND SENSELESS APE
Posted: at 5-10-2014 10:49 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 5-10-2014 11:11 PM (9 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 5-10-2014 11:11 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 5-10-2014 11:31 PM (9 years ago)
church business
Posted: at 5-10-2014 11:31 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Foxtroft at 6-10-2014 02:50 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: isbigo on  5-10-2014 10:49 PM
MAY THUNDER FIRE UR ENTIRE GENERATIONS.U BLOODY AND SENSELESS APE

And yours amen amen and amen
Posted: at 6-10-2014 02:50 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- smartiyke at 6-10-2014 04:13 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Foxtroft on  5-10-2014 09:56 PM

Wow, why bring tribe into this? Stories like this always bring out the fools and the bigots to comment. These are sometimes the same persons. In fact they are usually some of the first to comment. If I could have my wish, I would love to deport a few of these one-of-a-kind, "unique" thinkers back to their villages, but ..., oh yeah, they're made right here in good ol' Nigeria.
Where the man or the woman is from has nothing to do with the story, so please don't use it as a segue to show your ignorance.
Posted: at 6-10-2014 04:13 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mensch at 6-10-2014 04:35 AM (9 years ago)
Jesus said we can,t serve GOD and money, one must be despised.
that is exactly what,s going on,in our churchs today
Posted: at 6-10-2014 04:35 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Foxtroft at 6-10-2014 04:41 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: smartiyke on  6-10-2014 04:13 AM
Wow, why bring tribe into this? Stories like this always bring out the fools and the bigots to comment. These are sometimes the same persons. In fact they are usually some of the first to comment. If I could have my wish, I would love to deport a few of these one-of-a-kind, "unique" thinkers back to their villages, but ..., oh yeah, they're made right here in good ol' Nigeria.
Where the man or the woman is from has nothing to do with the story, so please don't use it as a segue to show your ignorance.

Now am glad that you guys have finally come to realize how ppl feel. I did it on purpose and before chastising me please do some house cleaning first. Kindly talk to your Igbo brothers first, the Ewu and company, the Biafrans bigots that comprise the like of Zeigbo, dynasty4all and dareper. and etc. After they they change, then the rest of us will change and Naijapals will be a better place
Posted: at 6-10-2014 04:41 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- emioluwa1 at 6-10-2014 05:45 AM (9 years ago)
Broken home must surely occure when you are not born again, when you married a woman or a man that is not mearnt för
you simply because you love her, you forget that all shoes have their own sizeses. If you really want to get your destiny wife or husband, give your life to Jesus, be Born again, stay clear from sin and prayerfully pray daily to as God your
destiny partner and also be patience with God, dont be in hurry, always trust in God, you will see that God will never
disadpointed you. Please do not marry a woman or man because of their Beauty or bottom, these are not  what you should search for, the physical aspect has nothing to do wtih your destiny, try to know more about your partner spiritually if
he or she is your destiny partner through prayer because the type of partner you get married to will determine if your destiny would work or not, the bible say darkness and light have nothing in common, more over Jesus does not
encourage divource, Jesus says if you divource your wife or husband, you just have to remain unmarried without
fornicating with another man or woman, if you said you cant remain unmarried or alone, then you must reconcile with
Your wife or husband that you divourced, if you now say you wont reconcile and you went ahead to  Mary another
man or woman, Jesus said you are comunicating adultry with that person you got married to after your divource. You what this means when you disobey the law of God in the bible, it means you are not qualify to be with Jesus in heaven on
the last day because Jesus says be ur holy for l your Lord is holy, and there are no divission in heaven. U  Couples that already married, pls always forgive your wife or husband because no one is perfect, not even one,we all are sinner,
and we need forgiveness, if the Lord can forgive you, you must also forgive others undergiven man or woman will not enter the kingdom of God because there is no unforgiven spirit in heaven and you that is carrying unforgiven spirit in your heart can not live with that satanic spirit in heaven, hell is your home..
This message are not for every body but for those whos is heavenly concious or those who are ready to obey the law of God for the salvation of their soul.
Posted: at 6-10-2014 05:45 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicksam at 6-10-2014 08:21 AM (9 years ago)
PASSING
Posted: at 6-10-2014 08:21 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- johnaguinam at 6-10-2014 08:25 AM (9 years ago)
Hehehehehe him never see anything yet...na until dey collect d whole church from him hand na there him eye go open...nonsense
Posted: at 6-10-2014 08:25 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming