25-Year Old Banker Assaults By Policeman For Urinating Beside Bank

Date: 23-10-2014 8:47 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 23-10-2014 08:47 AM (9 years ago)

There was confusion on the premises of Stanbic IBTC in the Ifo area of Ogun State after a banker, Mr. Ogidan Bolaji, was hit with the butt of a gun by a police officer identified as Kayode Ojo, leaving the 25-year-old victim with a deep cut on his face.

The matter, which was said to have been reported at the Sango Police Station, was however, said to have been dismissed by the police authorities. Bolaji, an indigene of Ewekoro area of the state, said he wanted justice in the matter.

He said he had alighted from his car to make withdrawal from the bank’s ATM when he decided to ease himself.

He said, “I was coming from Ifo with a neighbour. But, on our way, I discovered I was cash-strapped, and needed to make a withdrawal. So, we stopped by at Alisaba, in Ado Odo Ota where the bank is located. “We parked outside their premises and on getting to the ATM, the security guard said there was no network.

“I was so pressed that I had to urinate beside my car. Before I knew it, a policeman, came out and without any questioning, hit me with his rod. I asked him what I did wrong, but instead of a reply, he slapped me.

“The man in my car and some other security men around the bank came out to intervene. My neighbour was trying to question the policeman on why he slapped me, instead, he cocked his gun and pointed it at me, and I had to run away.

“I told people to caution him not to fire a shot. I was just a bit unfortunate that he caught me at a close corner and I did not have an escape route. He used the butt of the gun to hit me on my face and I sustained a deep cut.”

He said he was rushed to a hospital because he could not go to the station with a blood-stained face.

After treatment, Ogidan said he reported at the Sango Police Station but was disappointed as the police asked him to settle the matter with the police officer.

He said, “The police changed the story and said I and my friend were drunk, and we were peeing around the whole premises without having any transaction in the bank, which were all lies.

“At the end of the day, the police said we should go and settle and the police officer should pay my hospital bill.

“We were also forced to make a statement of withdrawal. I don’t want this matter to die like this because I have been harassed unjustly.”

Another eyewitness, who claimed to be the man with Ogidan in the car, Mr. Kehinde Idowu, corroborated the story.

He said that the police officer had first chased Ogidan around the premises with the gun before hitting his face with its butt.

He added, “We will still take up the matter. I was personally disappointed at what the police told us at the station, but you know in Nigeria if you don’t know anybody, you will just suffer in vain.”

The Police Public Relations Officer, Muyiwa Adejobi, told reporters he was not aware of the incident.

He said, “If they disappointed him in Ota, he should have gone to the Commissioner of Police. It is if the CP disappoints him that he should approach the press for justice. We should try to educate our people. I can’t confirm the story because I am not aware. Let him come to the command and I will personally investigate it and make sure he gets justice.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 23-10-2014 08:47 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abubu86 at 23-10-2014 09:12 AM (9 years ago)
Useless NPF harassing d law abiding citizen
Posted: at 23-10-2014 09:12 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 23-10-2014 09:16 AM (9 years ago)
good for him..next time he go control his dick..
we naija ..we no dey hear word..
Posted: at 23-10-2014 09:16 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareper at 23-10-2014 09:46 AM (9 years ago)
Police always flex their power on innocent citizens, if na me he cock gun for I go beat am tire to tell him gun is like a toy to me(odieshi things) na that day I go beat sege comot for im body.
Posted: at 23-10-2014 09:46 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 23-10-2014 09:47 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 23-10-2014 09:47 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 23-10-2014 09:49 AM (9 years ago)
NPF?Huh?? WHY? UNA NO DEY WEE ANYWHERE?
Posted: at 23-10-2014 09:49 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Aniagain at 23-10-2014 10:42 AM (9 years ago)
Shebi dem get Anti Terrorist squad (ATS) yet they av all abandoned d work in d northeast for d soldiers, those ones that claim to be ATS personnal are busy terrorising motorist instead of fightin Boko Haram, dia ris god o

Posted: at 23-10-2014 10:42 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dames at 23-10-2014 10:53 AM (9 years ago)
We dey watch...
Posted: at 23-10-2014 10:53 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- isbigo at 23-10-2014 11:07 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on 23-10-2014 09:46 AM
Police always flex their power on innocent citizens, if na me he cock gun for I go beat am tire to tell him gun is like a toy to me(odieshi things) na that day I go beat sege comot for im body.
hahahahahahha Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 23-10-2014 11:07 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- x-avier at 23-10-2014 02:01 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dickman2 on 23-10-2014 09:16 AM
good for him..next time he go control his dick..
we naija ..we no dey hear word..
This is part of the problems we have in this country.
I agree peeing in or around the bank premises or anywhere public is wrong, but is hitting someone with a rifle or chasing him with a cocked rifle the right or stipulated punishment for peeing in public?
Posted: at 23-10-2014 02:01 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ricardoprinz at 23-10-2014 04:01 PM (9 years ago)
Old boy eeeee you better go thank either na juju you dey worship ni oooo or your God if u be xtian or Allah if u be Muslim. Na the God wey you dey worship saved you,,,,You for don die now.
Posted: at 23-10-2014 04:01 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ritabrenice at 23-10-2014 05:17 PM (9 years ago)
Too bad
Posted: at 23-10-2014 05:17 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 23-10-2014 06:47 PM (9 years ago)
Nigeria police wil neva act professionaly.
Posted: at 23-10-2014 06:47 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 23-10-2014 06:53 PM (9 years ago)
Peeing anyhow Tinz
Beating tinz
Posted: at 23-10-2014 06:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 23-10-2014 08:24 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 23-10-2014 08:24 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kayonewien at 23-10-2014 08:43 PM (9 years ago)
That is just his side of the story which does not look like true, @ Abubu 86, if that is how a law abiding citizen should urinate in front of the bank. then u should define again what law abiding means.
Posted: at 23-10-2014 08:43 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Yoshi12 at 23-10-2014 10:15 PM (9 years ago)
Even if he Urinates inside d Bank Managers office does not warrant d policeman 2 hit d butt of his gun on him,n dis is y we have d Law...Mr Police man,u shld b known 4 peace n not destruction...Let dis always b at d back of ur mind most especially wen u have d gun with u...The press should look onto this cos he has not only abused this young man but also d Nigeria Law,n the entire Nigeria at large...Discipline should take it place cos anyone can b a victim of dis...Pointing gun on Citizen Mr Policeman ?...Hmm.
Posted: at 23-10-2014 10:15 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chealseafc at 24-10-2014 01:58 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: schmit on 23-10-2014 06:53 PM
Peeing anyhow Tinz
Beating tinz

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 24-10-2014 01:58 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Andybest1 at 24-10-2014 07:15 AM (9 years ago)
Pretty Bad
Posted: at 24-10-2014 07:15 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- SWORDMAN at 24-10-2014 10:27 AM (9 years ago)
the policeman should be jailed for life.he has no right to beat up the guy irrespective of what the banker did.in western world the police can never lay a finger on anyone who pee of the road instead you will be fined,i think nigerian police shold also copy that.
Posted: at 24-10-2014 10:27 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac