My 3 Years Experience In Military Detention As Boko Haram Suspect – 300L Student

Date: 09-11-2014 5:49 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 9-11-2014 05:49 PM (9 years ago)

A 300-level Chemistry student of the University of Maiduguri, Salisu Adamu has narrated his horrible three and half years experience as a Boko Haram suspect in the hands of the Nigerian military.

According to Salisu, he is among thousands of innocent Nigerians illegally arrested, detained and tortured by Nigeria’s military as part of the countermeasures against the Boko Haram sect who have been waging war in Nigeria.

He was among 39 indigenes of Borno State and three foreigners who were handed over to the Borno State government last Thursday after thorough investigation by the military revealed that they were not Boko Haram members.

Speaking in an exclusive interview just after his release, Salisu said he was arrested on 16th April 2011 in his house at Wulari Street in Maiduguri, the Borno stae capital.

He said: “I had come back from school and had my dinner. I was sleeping when I heard a knock on my door around 9 p.m. I asked who was at the door. Some people said, “Open the door!” When I opened it, I saw them [the military]. I wondered what had happened. Then they said I should not worry, I should come with them, that it was just questions and answers. I said ok, no problem! They took me to 21 Armored Brigade (Giwa Barracks). So I was there for more than three years.”

Salisu said he saw hell while in detention and he saw many people pass away.

He recalled an incident which happened on March 14, 2014 when Boko Haram attacked Giwa Barracks.

“It was around 6:45 a.m. We went out to bathe and started hearing gunshots. After our baths, we returned to the cell. We felt it was the kind of normal testing that the military usually does, but the gunshots became unbearable. So I heard loud deadly weapons. We didn’t know what to do and to say, but we started praying that God should save us. However, the next thing we heard was “Allahu Akbar!” meaning, “God is Great!” So they [Boko Haram] came and opened the cells and freed everyone, but about eight of us managed to hide ourselves in the kitchen. That was how we could escape Boko Haram,” he said.

Salisu who expressed joy that he was free after a long time in military detention said though it sometimes seemed like the end f his life, he kept praying for God’s mercy to fall upon him.

He stated: “I never knew that there would be a day like this where I would be free. I feel so happy and excited. Today is the happiest day in my life. After such a long period of time in military detention, you should know what one would have undergone. I saw hell, but to be candid I also consider myself the luckiest person because many died.

“Looking back to my experiences in detention for three-and-and-a-half years, I lack words to describe what happened. My eyes saw things and I went through an unbearable situation, but I thank God that I am finally free.”

He explained that his next step would be to go back to the University and finish his education which was interrupted due to his arrest and detention.

Recall that authorities of 7 Division, Nigerian Army, Maiduguri had on Thursday handed over 42 Boko Haram suspects to Governor Kashim Shettima and also given them N100, 000 to enable them settle down in the society.

Report later surfaced that another 125 suspects have also been released.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 9-11-2014 05:49 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- christianity at 9-11-2014 05:55 PM (9 years ago)
but only ur face andname is enof to tag u a terrorist.lwkmd.
Posted: at 9-11-2014 05:55 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 9-11-2014 06:24 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 9-11-2014 06:24 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 9-11-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago)
if u ar not then one of ur family memeber is there,,,,
Posted: at 9-11-2014 07:00 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- benbella1 at 9-11-2014 07:22 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: chiboi123 on  9-11-2014 06:05 PM
During the slave trade the Africans who were taken to American were given the English name of their masters,  abolishing their own names. while the Africans in Africa were also re educated  to have an English name , everything about our  culture and tradition have  been killed by the white man  with Christianity. when you meet a Chinese man his name is LEE WONG, and nothing like LEE WONG JAMES or PETER, and when you meet a Russian his name is SOSKIN OLEG and nothing like SOSKIN OLEG CLINTON or dickson.. but when you meet an African his name is EBELE IYARE JONATHAN or NGOZI EBUBE OLIVIA,

Our girls all they care about now is Brazilian hair and nobody wants to weave her natural hair again in the African style, the white man came to Africa for their selfish interest , to kill and destroy and that is what they have been doing right from colonization.  they told you there was something going on like human sacrifice when they came to Africa but they didn't tell you how many children and mothers they killed during all those raids.

They told you Mary Slessor stopped the killing of twins why nobody questioned that theory knowing that deities don't accept the killing of twins or those born with natural dreadlocks DADA"s, am tired of every white Supremacy and i want to kill it.

A white man or an Indian with a Diploma  seeks for a job in Nigeria and he get's the job as an md with a monthly Allowance of 2 million Naira,  a  Nigerian with his Phd or  Masters will seek for same job and same position will find out  his allowance is reduced to just two hundred thousand Naira.

The whites at the airport in Nigeria the immigration don't even ask them their name , or  their purpose of Visit  as long as their Skin is White but a Nigerian will be intimidated , with his money  also collected in his own country.

Christianity didn't support your new yam festivals or the masquerade dance during Christmas or new year celebration when children put on their masquerade dancing from houses and people donating money to them because it's African but of course it supports  their Halloween.

Every African leader  that ever stood up to protect  the black country from the white thieves has been killed or sent to an exile , Idi Amin , Gaddafi, Abacha , patrice lumumba, Mugabe, and so on. ..... don't  make  controversy with this names i listed  make a true research and see the point am trying to make, Nigeria is the giant of Africa today is because Abacha lead the Army to help Liberia and sierra leone get their independents..  they all Had Good intentions for Africa and should be remembered as true heroes and not enemies or tyrants ...

We have to create our own image as Africans , we all know that the worlds Messiah Jesus is  Black man , all the Catholic Churches in Nigeria should change their Image of Jesus to the Black True Jesus.

That White Supremacy must Die and am Killing it I promise.

fire down brodaly
Posted: at 9-11-2014 07:22 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- skillman01 at 9-11-2014 11:14 PM (9 years ago)
ehen so what?  wetin that ur name suggest ?
Posted: at 9-11-2014 11:14 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Larry28 at 10-11-2014 06:15 AM (9 years ago)
Okay
Posted: at 10-11-2014 06:15 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Abubu86 at 10-11-2014 09:12 AM (9 years ago)
Thank God 4 ur life
Posted: at 10-11-2014 09:12 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nicksam at 10-11-2014 10:03 AM (9 years ago)
THANK YOUR GOD
Posted: at 10-11-2014 10:03 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- blozzom at 10-11-2014 12:07 PM (9 years ago)
ThankGod u came out alive 2 tell d story
Posted: at 10-11-2014 12:07 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- orekiata at 10-11-2014 01:59 PM (9 years ago)
Just thanK God that you are given a 2nd chance
Posted: at 10-11-2014 01:59 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zeigbo at 10-11-2014 02:48 PM (9 years ago)
mmmmmm

Posted: at 10-11-2014 02:48 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dames at 10-11-2014 09:22 PM (9 years ago)
Good for u!!!
Posted: at 10-11-2014 09:22 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 11-11-2014 09:54 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 11-11-2014 09:54 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac