SUICIDE: Unemployed Graduate Drowns In Ibadan Lake Out Of Frustration

Date: 12-11-2014 7:30 am (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 12-11-2014 07:30 AM (9 years ago)

A polytechnic graduate (name withheld) has died in a lake situated at Aba Apata, Adegbayi, in Egbeda Local Government Area of Oyo State.

The deceased, eyewitness told the Nigerian Tribune, committed suicide after he claimed he was fed up with life, having searched for job after graduation to no avail.

He then decided to jump into the river.

The eyewitness, who is a resident of the area, said: “what we heard was that the man is a polytechnic graduate and has looked for job after graduation which he could not find. Before he jumped into the river, he dropped his documents by the river bank and that was how we could locate his relatives.”

When the Nigerian Tribune visited the site of the lake, the corpse of the deceased was still floating on the water, as it could be seen from afar.

A fisherman, Taofeek Dauda, who usually hunt for fish for commercial purpose in the lake, informed that: “His parents were here, and I told them to pay N30,000 so I can bring out the corpse with my canoe. I also told them that the money covers the materials we are going to use to perform some rituals before he could be buried, because it is very important to do such for whoever dies in this kind of circumstance.”

He further told the Nigerian Tribune that many lives had been lost inside the lake because it was very big and was not barricaded.

Nigerian Tribune, however, paid a visit to the Egbeda Local Government secretariat on the Ibadan-Ife road to know what the local government was doing in that regard, where the Director of Information in the council, Mrs Yetunde Samson, said it was only the chairman that could comment on the matter and informed that the chairman was not in the office.

Posted: at 12-11-2014 07:30 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Shegzan at 12-11-2014 07:55 AM (9 years ago)
*comes in wid a sad look*... Which way Nigeria? May ur soul rest in peace bro..!

Posted: at 12-11-2014 07:55 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 12-11-2014 08:02 AM (9 years ago)
Hmmm, this is what caused arab uprising(when a young man from tunisia after graduation for more 4yrs could not get a job he then write a suicide note and set himself ablaze). But here in nigeria, will see it as a normal thing and that's why our government is taking advantage of us. RIP bro.
Posted: at 12-11-2014 08:02 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 12-11-2014 08:04 AM (9 years ago)
Lord have mercy on us!
Posted: at 12-11-2014 08:04 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Keffejude at 12-11-2014 09:04 AM (9 years ago)
n bad luck Jonathan recently endorsed himself 4 next yr presidential election. guess they want all d masses 2 commit suicide out of frustration b4 9ja go better
Posted: at 12-11-2014 09:04 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 12-11-2014 09:05 AM (9 years ago)
Rip
Posted: at 12-11-2014 09:05 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 12-11-2014 09:28 AM (9 years ago)
What is this madness about committing suicide due to unemployment? I don't pity such people; they are just being stupid and senseless. I know of a graduate that went conducting for a bus driver and got his breakthrough through a passenger. He is now a banker. I also know of a graduate who picked up cleaning job in a coy and got employed by same company. Being unemployed is a challenge which should be dealt with through prayers and sense, not suicide. Anyway, I doubt its ordinary.  May God forgive him for taking a life he cannot give.
Posted: at 12-11-2014 09:28 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 12-11-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago)
Let him go and meet God
Posted: at 12-11-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Onyibochukwu at 12-11-2014 09:56 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on 12-11-2014 08:02 AM
Hmmm, this is what caused arab uprising(when a young man from tunisia after graduation for more 4yrs could not get a job he then write a suicide note and set himself ablaze). But here in nigeria, will see it as a normal thing and that's why our government is taking advantage of us. RIP bro.

olboy the guy choose to die o, just as you never kill your sef me too no go kill my self o. Any how thing go ever turn around for good, the arabs no get hope for tommorow except for 7 virgins. the guy kill him self yet the family go still spend 30k to bury am habaaa. Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 12-11-2014 09:56 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 12-11-2014 09:58 AM (9 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 12-11-2014 09:58 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Wysetots at 12-11-2014 10:12 AM (9 years ago)
1. Lack of Jobs.
2. Lack Infrastructure.
3. Lack of Quality Education.

The list is endless. All these things are planned for in the National Budgeting, but however end up in the wallets of Corrupt, Selfish and wicked Politicians which make up 99% of Nigeria's Polity.

May the Spirit of all those who lost their lives from any of these give the Politicians No Peace !!
Posted: at 12-11-2014 10:12 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- enyiekere at 12-11-2014 10:20 AM (9 years ago)
youths, do not wait till jobs come, look for something and do, till the job comes. Killing yourself is not the solution to life problems.
Posted: at 12-11-2014 10:20 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- yeksal at 12-11-2014 12:32 PM (9 years ago)
Oga jona see and his mumu supporters see wetin una dey cause..... ur generation too go suffer, will b killed ,maimed  , commit suicide
Posted: at 12-11-2014 12:32 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 12-11-2014 02:28 PM (9 years ago)
eyaa

Posted: at 12-11-2014 02:28 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Gedens at 12-11-2014 04:18 PM (9 years ago)
Commiting suicide over any ugly situation is like cutting off your head because you are having headache. Stupid indiviidual.
Posted: at 12-11-2014 04:18 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bospak at 12-11-2014 10:48 PM (9 years ago)
Nonsense
Posted: at 12-11-2014 10:48 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 24-08-2015 01:44 AM (8 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 24-08-2015 01:44 AM (8 years ago) | Hero