POVERTY TINZ! Thousands Of People Scrambled For Tinubu’s Christmas Gifts (Photo)

Date: 22-12-2014 6:00 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 22-12-2014 06:00 AM (9 years ago)

Thousands of Lagos residents converged on the Idowu Taylor Street, Victoria Island, on Saturday to receive Christmas gifts from the Bola Tinubu Foundation, a non-profit organisation owned by a former Governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu. The gifts comprised bags of rice, salt, vegetable oil, T-shirts and cash.

According to reports, the event was not without hitches as policemen and other security agents tried to push back the large crowd that turned up from every local government area in the state. Barricades were broken as beneficiaries caused a stampede.

As the crowd became uncontrollable, policemen fired teargas into the crowd but the crowd remained adamant and stood their ground.

A Special Adviser to the former Governor, Mr. Femi Oyatolu, said over 2,000 bags of rice had been distributed as of 12pm on Saturday. Oyatolu, however, argued that the exercise was not politically-motivated as no one was made to show evidence of membership of any political party.

He said:
“We have distributed over 2,000 bags of rice of 12.5kg. We have also distributed vegetable oil, T-shirts, salts and cash for the needy. It is not politically-motivated because we have been doing this for the past five years. It is a Christmas outreach but we also do it during Salah as well. It is just a way of giving back to society and putting smiles on people’s faces. It is not stomach infrastructure because it cuts across all political divides. It is not restricted to any group.  Apart from giving out gift items, we also do free medicals for people and also pay school fees of indigent students.”

Posted: at 22-12-2014 06:00 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 22-12-2014 06:20 AM (9 years ago)
Nice one,,,,
Posted: at 22-12-2014 06:20 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Abubu86 at 22-12-2014 06:27 AM (9 years ago)
Nice gesture
Posted: at 22-12-2014 06:27 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 22-12-2014 07:32 AM (9 years ago)
A nice gesture. I just hope that those really in need get of help got something. I would hate to see these bags of rice, cooking oil and salt being sold for a profit in an open market. Maybe next year a better wsy to distribute it would be to hand it oved to charities who know bettter those REALLY in need so that THEY distribute the gifts!
Posted: at 22-12-2014 07:32 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 22-12-2014 07:42 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 22-12-2014 07:32 AM
A nice gesture. I just hope that those really in need of help were able to push thtough the large crowd and get something. I would hate to see these bags of rice, cooking oil and salt being sold for a profit in an open market by those who received them. Maybe next year a better way to distribute it would be to hand the goods over to charities who know bettter those REALLY in need so that THEY distribute the gifts - especially as CASH is involved.

Posted: at 22-12-2014 07:42 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ennyolalekan at 22-12-2014 07:50 AM (9 years ago)
Tinu Owo
Posted: at 22-12-2014 07:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- san1000 at 22-12-2014 08:15 AM (9 years ago)
too much money. olowo to sanu APC CHANGE!
Posted: at 22-12-2014 08:15 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- egwuevans17 at 22-12-2014 08:40 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 22-12-2014 08:40 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bebmigared at 22-12-2014 08:43 AM (9 years ago)
O BOY EH!
Posted: at 22-12-2014 08:43 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- femjay at 22-12-2014 09:34 AM (9 years ago)
Abeg will this rice sustain them to next year !
Politician and Their ways of getting naija pal: as for this is nt a nice gesture at all: Why cant be doing that at least evry month : since  D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ all know people are hungry and suffering in Nigeria: 
Posted: at 22-12-2014 09:34 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- thierry1 at 22-12-2014 09:56 AM (9 years ago)
Why not give it to disable on the street who are really in needs and that may not contribute any votes during election? Nigerians are still fools...... I see it clearly this year that Nigerians are still the real fools...
Posted: at 22-12-2014 09:56 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- shannon034 at 22-12-2014 09:57 AM (9 years ago)
Stomach things..... Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 22-12-2014 09:57 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- thierry1 at 22-12-2014 10:03 AM (9 years ago)
All of a sudden they change towards Jonathan forgotten no ex leader in the past has ever did what this guy did for the country in 4year as the president...... This why I use words of fools to my fellow Nigerians who they easily manipulate their minds...... If they make mistake to vote wrong party this time they will be the real ones to suffer it.... As for me I have been leaving abroad for past 20yr and many of my family's..... Shine ur eyes Nigerians .... JONA will still remain the best ooooh
Posted: at 22-12-2014 10:03 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- elchymo at 22-12-2014 10:21 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 22-12-2014 10:21 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- bamilok2008 at 22-12-2014 10:40 AM (9 years ago)
Jagaban baba
Posted: at 22-12-2014 10:40 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kejguv at 22-12-2014 11:05 AM (9 years ago)
may God deliver Nigerians from proverty

Posted: at 22-12-2014 11:05 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ainnylove at 22-12-2014 11:28 AM (9 years ago)
Chai poverty tinz
Posted: at 22-12-2014 11:28 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 22-12-2014 12:13 PM (9 years ago)
I see, as if he has been sharing it b4. Mtcheewww!
Posted: at 22-12-2014 12:13 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 22-12-2014 12:21 PM (9 years ago)
Kind man
Posted: at 22-12-2014 12:21 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 22-12-2014 01:29 PM (9 years ago)
Nice one
Posted: at 22-12-2014 01:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero