Nigerian Group In USA Wants UK & US To Deny Nigerian Officials Visa Over Gay Law

Date: 03-01-2015 2:11 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 3-01-2015 02:11 PM (9 years ago)

I thought we have moved passed this. Months after it was passed in both the House of Representatives and the Senate, a bill that criminalizes homosegxwal relationships in Nigeria has been signed into law by President Goodluck Jonathan.

The President gave his assent to the bill, which stipulates lengthy jail terms, both for same-sex marriage and public expression of same-sex intimacy, despite pressure from local and international social rights and public health advocacy groups.

There have been criticisms of the law in Nigeria, where antipathy towards homosegxwality and LGBT people, stoked by a convenient alliance of the state, the clergy, and the rump of the mainstream media, runs deep.

We, the undersigned, wish to ally ourselves with these voices of reason. We unreservedly condemn the Same Sex Marriage Prohibition Law and urge civil society and human rights groups to start a campaign that we hope will soon result in its abolition.

We also urge the eminent personages across the world who have condemned the so-called law to go beyond diplomatic gestures and put pressures on the Nigerian government wherever they can. Specifically, the United States and the United Kingdom should, forthwith, impose diplomatic sanctions (e.g., denial of visas) on all Nigerian functionaries, including journalists, the clergy, and policymakers associated with the passing of the law.

There are many reasons why every right-thinking person should oppose this law.

First, it is based on a spurious, uninformed and one-dimensional reading of ‘African culture.’ Second, it criminalizes a section of Nigerians for nothing other than their natural segxwal inclination.

Third, it ignores the fruits of many decades of scientific research which proves decisively that homosegxwality is as natural as heterosegxwality. Fourth, the law threatens to reverse the gains made by programs aimed at fighting the HIV-AIDS epidemic in the country.

Fifth, it is absurd in terms of the jail time it stipulates for those who associate with LGBT people. Sixth, it casts Nigeria in a bad light for no good reason, putting it in the vulgar company of other countries where homosegxwality is criminalized.

Seventh, it gives law enforcement agents an open check to go after innocent Nigerians in the name of upholding the law. Finally, the law impinges on Nigerians’ freedom of speech and association, and expressly violates the rights of minorities in a free and democratic society.

It is not the business of any state, let alone the Nigerian state, to interpose itself in the private affairs of two consenting adults. Any human act or practice that does not infringe on the freedom of others cannot and should not be criminalized. Homosegxwality does not harm us as a society and people. It is the hypocrisy, venality, and corruption that pervade our society that are the source of our problems.

Signed:
Ebenezer Obadare, Lawrence, Kansas, USA;   Akin Adesokan, Bloomington, Indiana, USA;    Wale Adebanwi, Davis, California, USA;  Lola Shoneyin, Abeokuta, Nigeria;  Jude Dibia, Lagos, Nigeria;  Jeremy Weate, Abuja, Nigeria; Chido Onumah, Abuja, Nigeria;  Amatoritsero Ede, Ottawa, Canada;  Mojubaolu Olufunke Okome, Brooklyn, New York, USA;  Olufemi Taiwo, Ithaca, New York, USA;  Tejumola Olaniyan, Madison, Wisconsin, USA;  Ike Anya, London, UK;  Kunle Ajibade, Lagos, Nigeria,;  Moradewun Adejunmobi, California, USA;   Sean Jacobs, Brooklyn, New York, USA;   Adeleke Adeeko, Ilorin, Nigeria;   Olakunle George, Providence, Rhode Island, USA;  Wendy Willems, London, UK;   Ikhide R. Ikheloa, Maryland, USA;   Rudolf Okonkwo, New York, USA;   Jide Wintoki, Lawrence, Kansas, USA

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 3-01-2015 02:11 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gbagyiza at 3-01-2015 02:39 PM (9 years ago)
Speechless
Posted: at 3-01-2015 02:39 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- spiridion at 3-01-2015 02:48 PM (9 years ago)
This is the height of stupidity...When a nation makes a law based on majority of popular opinion,such laws are not illegal or anti-human right.The people have spoken.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 02:48 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 3-01-2015 02:53 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 3-01-2015 02:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 3-01-2015 03:08 PM (9 years ago)
Hssssss
Posted: at 3-01-2015 03:08 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ken1230 at 3-01-2015 03:38 PM (9 years ago)
If they deny us, we will deny them as well That will be one one.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 03:38 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- egwuevans17 at 3-01-2015 03:44 PM (9 years ago)
rubbish
Posted: at 3-01-2015 03:44 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- benosky4 at 3-01-2015 04:06 PM (9 years ago)
mtcheww...
bunch of mentally deranged persons.
I'll keep praying for them

Posted: at 3-01-2015 04:06 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 3-01-2015 04:16 PM (9 years ago)
Mtcheeeeeeeew
Posted: at 3-01-2015 04:16 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 3-01-2015 05:11 PM (9 years ago)
Hisssssss..when will these born throw way people get a sense and stop fighting for what will not happen..hisssss...none of my business anyway

Posted: at 3-01-2015 05:11 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- why4why at 3-01-2015 05:35 PM (9 years ago)
@Hope23, you spoke my mind...they are even lucky that is not buhari that is in the position yet...he would have done the otherwise....by treating them like a church rats...
Posted: at 3-01-2015 05:35 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- campalla3 at 3-01-2015 05:37 PM (9 years ago)
Na Yoruba people nah, na their names full there
Posted: at 3-01-2015 05:37 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Opeyemi66 at 3-01-2015 08:03 PM (9 years ago)
mokuooooooooooo....lolx Grin
Posted: at 3-01-2015 08:03 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abogado at 3-01-2015 08:06 PM (9 years ago)
GOD FIGHT THOSE THAT FIGHT AGAINST US,GAY MY FOOT
Posted: at 3-01-2015 08:06 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abogado at 3-01-2015 08:08 PM (9 years ago)
GOD FIGHT THOSE THAT FIGHT AGAINST US,GAY MY FOOT
Posted: at 3-01-2015 08:08 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- darlington_iyke at 3-01-2015 09:07 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: campalla3 on  3-01-2015 05:37 PM

Stupid talk
Posted: at 3-01-2015 09:07 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 3-01-2015 09:17 PM (9 years ago)
Next
Posted: at 3-01-2015 09:17 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- steveoneal at 3-01-2015 09:20 PM (9 years ago)
Wa sofo danu  ninu odun tuntun yi ni, bastard may god punish you in this new year for daring to insult the yorubas...omo irankiran.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 09:20 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 3-01-2015 09:44 PM (9 years ago)

This is wot I hate ............: wot ve tribe got to do with this ........... U̶̲̥̅̊ this retarded bastard ........ U̶̲̥̅̊ re  a bigot ......... U̶̲̥̅̊ are very sick in head and mind for saying that : your paranoia had blind ur mind . ............ U̶̲̥̅̊ dis product of baby factory .......

oloriburuku omo .......... Since U̶̲̥̅̊ want start this year with curse may U̶̲̥̅̊  end well with  curse ........... May thunder fire that ur yeye mouth  .............

Nse si akparalala
Onye' ala ..............
Posted: at 3-01-2015 09:44 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 3-01-2015 09:52 PM (9 years ago)
Luk @ dis “Born Bastard”….Oloshi… ..a product of a “Baby Factory”
No bi your Baba or  “Catholic Father/Priest” dis virgin you?
Posted: at 3-01-2015 09:52 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac