Carmen Latty, Jamaican with a Nigerian Heart

Date: 20-10-2009 7:06 am (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
- at 20-10-2009 07:06 AM (14 years ago)
Carmen Latty, a Jamaican is an educationist with a great passion for children. She arrived Nigeria about 17 years ago to work as a school teacher and later as a school administrator. For her, any society that wants to make rapid progress must raise children in such a manner that they would be sound in learning and character. This is exactly what she has been doing in her present position as Executive Director of Roemichs International Schools in Kwara State. At Roemichs, she has full responsibility for academics and administration.

How did Latty’s romance with teaching start? “My teaching career started at age 16 after my secondary school education. I was waiting for admission into a teachers training college in Jamaica when I got an offer to work as a prepaid teacher. I am from a family of teachers. Virtually all my family members are teachers and they love the profession. Teaching has been a family tradition.”

So far, she says over 15,000 Nigerian children have benefited from her teaching experience. At Roemichs, Latty constantly strives to raise the bar in quality education and facility management. In three years, Latty has worked with her management and academic team to turn-around the fortunes of Roemichs Schools. Starting with Just 26 pupils mainly in pre-school and primary school sections, the school has grown to become one of the best private schools in Nigeria with a current student population of about 300 from crèche to secondary school.

“We are using international standards for recruitment of teachers and teaching of students.

http://odili.net/news/source/2009/oct/17/203.html

Posted: at 20-10-2009 07:06 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 20-10-2009 07:46 PM (14 years ago)
mmm

Posted: at 20-10-2009 07:46 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- presciousoluchi at 24-10-2009 03:05 PM (14 years ago)
hmmmm

Posted: at 24-10-2009 03:05 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lesleta at 26-06-2011 01:38 AM (12 years ago)
I am proud of my J'can or my yardie when they kept the fire burning in the professional way.
Posted: at 26-06-2011 01:38 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 26-06-2011 01:47 AM (12 years ago)
Keep it up, Latty...

Posted: at 26-06-2011 01:47 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- babygat at 9-09-2011 07:27 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: lesleta on 26-06-2011 01:38 AM
I am proud of my J'can or my yardie when they kept the fire burning in the professional way.
wa gwan sis? nuff respek!!!
Posted: at 9-09-2011 07:27 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 9-09-2011 09:46 PM (12 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 9-09-2011 09:46 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vectorcy at 4-07-2016 12:33 AM (7 years ago)
Nawaoooooooo...no get strenth to read al of dis abeg
Posted: at 4-07-2016 12:33 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 4-07-2016 12:34 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Lesleta Whittaker on 26-06-2011 01:38 AM
I seeee
Posted: at 4-07-2016 12:34 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 4-07-2016 12:52 AM (7 years ago)
Will comment my comment when I finish reading
Posted: at 4-07-2016 12:52 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 4-07-2016 12:53 AM (7 years ago)
Too long
Posted: at 4-07-2016 12:53 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero