What Does The Bible Really Say? Did I Make A Mistake By Leaving My Husband?

Date: 13-01-2015 9:52 am (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 13-01-2015 09:52 AM (9 years ago)

After reading some comments under the last reader’s mail which says ‘Did I Make A Mistake By Leaving My Husband? Reader Writes In’ I got confused.
Some people where shocked she left her husband because he refused to work, while some said she has done the right thing by working out of the marriage since he couldn’t feed his family.  Someone categorically asked that she needs a reference in the bible, where it states that a woman can divorce her husband because he has refused to work. With my little knowledge of the bible, didn’t the bible say, there’s no food for a lazy man and a man that can not feed his family his worse than an infidel? (That's not a reference to what she asked). Continue...
I am also aware that the bible does not support divorce and it’s till death do us part. But in this case, he does not work, they gave him a job, he rejected it.  And even beats her sometimes. I know of Pastors who have said it on the pulpit that if your husband keeps beating you, and your family and his own keeps interfering and he wouldn’t stop please run very far away from him. What about that?
Please do we have any counsellor in the house? I know there are some young women here who are as confused as I am. Please we need someone to shed more light on this.

Posted: at 13-01-2015 09:52 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 13-01-2015 10:14 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 13-01-2015 10:14 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 13-01-2015 10:30 AM (9 years ago)
Roll EyesRoll EyesRoll EyesRoll EyesRoll EyesRoll EyesRoll Eyes
Posted: at 13-01-2015 10:30 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ogom at 13-01-2015 10:44 AM (9 years ago)
Out the 30 places where divorce is mentioned in the bible; 14 times in the Old Testament and 16 times in the New Testament, I did not see where the bible gave the woman any right to quit. I like to quote the only person who understands this; 31. “Furthermore it has been said, ‘Whoever divorces his wife, let him give her a certificate of divorce.’ 32.  But I say to you that whoever divorces his wife for any reason except segxwal immorality[a] causes her to commit adultery; and whoever marries a woman who is divorced commits adultery (Matthew 5:31-32). The reason is because Marriage Is Sacred and Binding and when a man leaves his parents and be joined to his wife (Genesis 2:24, Matthew 19:5, Mark 10:7, and Ephesians 5:31).
Posted: at 13-01-2015 10:44 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- morgrawl231 at 13-01-2015 10:57 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 13-01-2015 10:57 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- danielsony at 13-01-2015 11:20 AM (9 years ago)
U really hv to keep on ur good work and pray without season, quitting is not an option, bcos u hv said it b4 God weather good or bad that u will stay so thats one of it, so men are just lazy no doubt no body knos tomorrow,
Posted: at 13-01-2015 11:20 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 13-01-2015 11:36 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 13-01-2015 11:36 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- femjay at 13-01-2015 11:39 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 13-01-2015 11:39 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bankadetoun at 13-01-2015 11:55 AM (9 years ago)
Marriage is for better for worst, know matter the circumstance, you must stay and be praying to God, 'coz He's the Alpha and Omega, He knows more than you do, and the Son of God also said it, (i hate divorce) God does not put hand in divorcing each other, but if you insisting to, then remain single.
Posted: at 13-01-2015 11:55 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jar84 at 13-01-2015 12:01 PM (9 years ago)
my dear my husband is lazy, he doesnt support me and my 2kids but i am still married to him. i work hard although i hate him with a passion but there is nothing i can do about it. divorce is a no no for me
Posted: at 13-01-2015 12:01 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HOPEA23 at 13-01-2015 02:03 PM (9 years ago)
For better or for worse...na the vow be that..so na the worse time u dey so..u just have to be patient ..and prayful like some advised..so my dear..if I may ask..as a counselor lol
What do u think?

Posted: at 13-01-2015 02:03 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zoe61 at 13-01-2015 02:27 PM (9 years ago)
no room, no food for a lazy man
Posted: at 13-01-2015 02:27 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- EmekaBlue at 13-01-2015 02:34 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 13-01-2015 02:34 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Rachenny at 13-01-2015 04:28 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Ogom on 13-01-2015 10:44 AM
Out the 30 places where divorce is mentioned in the bible; 14 times in the Old Testament and 16 times in the New Testament, I did not see where the bible gave the woman any right to quit. I like to quote the only person who understands this; 31. “Furthermore it has been said, ‘Whoever divorces his wife, let him give her a certificate of divorce.’ 32.  But I say to you that whoever divorces his wife for any reason except segxwal immorality[a] causes her to commit adultery; and whoever marries a woman who is divorced commits adultery (Matthew 5:31-32). The reason is because Marriage Is Sacred and Binding and when a man leaves his parents and be joined to his wife (Genesis 2:24, Matthew 19:5, Mark 10:7, and Ephesians 5:31).
FACT....
Posted: at 13-01-2015 04:28 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 13-01-2015 05:52 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 13-01-2015 05:52 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 13-01-2015 05:53 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: jar84 on 13-01-2015 12:01 PM
my dear my husband is lazy, he doesnt support me and my 2kids but i am still married to him. i work hard although i hate him with a passion but there is nothing i can do about it. divorce is a no no for me
that ur husband must be from beneno and femjay side( I no call any name oo) I trust them
Posted: at 13-01-2015 05:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero