Muslim Hero Who Saved Lives at Paris Supermarket Granted Citizenship by France

Date: 21-01-2015 12:39 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 21-01-2015 12:39 PM (9 years ago)
Lassana Bathily, the Mali-born Muslim employee who saved the lives of several shoppers at Kosher supermarket during the Paris attack that left 4 dead, has been granted French citizenship by France.

The 24 year old guided terrified customers to safety in a supermarket chiller when terrorist Amedy Coulibaly burst into the supermarket on January 9th and killed four people. Lassana, who was in the store's underground stockroom at the time, hid many customers in a freezer. He then escaped and was able to give police valuable information about what was happening inside. He's been praised for his quick-thinking and bravery and is being called a hero.
To reward him, the French government granted him citizenship during a ceremony that held today, saying his 'act of humanity has become a symbol of an Islam of peace and tolerance.'

Receiving his citizenship, Lassana said with tears in his eyes 'Tonight I'm very proud and deeply touched. I'm not a hero, I am Lassana. I'll stay true to myself. People are all equal to me and skin color isn't a matter. France is the country of human rights,'
Some of the people he saved pictured above. Below is the story he told of what happened that day
"When they ran down, I opened the door [of the freezer]. There are several people who came to me. I turned off the light, I turned off the freezer. When I turned off the cold, I put them [hostages] in, I closed the door, I told them to stay calm.'
After the siege ended, Lassana said many of the customers came to shake his hand and thank him for what he did. He's lived in France since 2006 and had filed an application for French citizenship last year.

Some of the people he saved

Posted: at 21-01-2015 12:39 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- victormorgan at 21-01-2015 01:02 PM (9 years ago)
Good one.
Posted: at 21-01-2015 01:02 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- femjay at 21-01-2015 01:11 PM (9 years ago)
Wot a nice gesture ...........that's great ......
Posted: at 21-01-2015 01:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Omududu77 at 21-01-2015 01:34 PM (9 years ago)
You can see that this thing has nothing to do with religion,the guy is just naturally kind,selfless and brave. He should be rewarded more than the citizenship. He should get himself ready to be the future President and anything he was to achieve in France is already given just by asking.
That is the kind of leader all of us should be,putting others first.
Posted: at 21-01-2015 01:34 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 21-01-2015 02:20 PM (9 years ago)
Imagine! So he even filed last year which means he is due/qualified for the papers already. Oyibo and dem wayo. They should look for better compensation for the guy abeg afterall he still would have gotten the papers within months if he was not given.
Posted: at 21-01-2015 02:20 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 21-01-2015 02:32 PM (9 years ago)
Good gesture. But the guy should always watch his back cuz those bastards might come after his life
Posted: at 21-01-2015 02:32 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 21-01-2015 02:55 PM (9 years ago)
Good for him forever,,,what a guy Roll Eyes
Posted: at 21-01-2015 02:55 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- x-avier at 21-01-2015 02:58 PM (9 years ago)
This is the king of islam we'd rather see. If all muslims were like this, they wouldn't need to behead people to join islam.
I just pray the so called patriotic muslims don't go after him.
Posted: at 21-01-2015 02:58 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 21-01-2015 03:12 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 21-01-2015 03:12 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- deboalabi262 at 21-01-2015 03:29 PM (9 years ago)
One good turn deserves another. Lassanna  -you are a hero..... Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 21-01-2015 03:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- bamilok2008 at 21-01-2015 04:34 PM (9 years ago)
this guy should be emulate by my fellow Muslim brother
Posted: at 21-01-2015 04:34 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bayonel3 at 21-01-2015 04:56 PM (9 years ago)
nice one dude

Posted: at 21-01-2015 04:56 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zoe61 at 21-01-2015 05:06 PM (9 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 21-01-2015 05:06 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- spiridion at 21-01-2015 07:59 PM (9 years ago)
The dude just got himself a bull's eye painted on his back...They'll come after him.
Posted: at 21-01-2015 07:59 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lateef67 at 21-01-2015 09:43 PM (9 years ago)
Good work u r hero
Posted: at 21-01-2015 09:43 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- egwuevans17 at 22-01-2015 01:42 AM (9 years ago)
A TRUE MUSLIM AND A HERO INDEED.
Posted: at 22-01-2015 01:42 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abubu86 at 22-01-2015 07:25 AM (9 years ago)
@Omodudu,u have said it all.
Posted: at 22-01-2015 07:25 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac