NOT AGAIN! President Jonathan Attacked By Angry Youths In Bauchi

Date: 22-01-2015 8:57 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 22-01-2015 08:57 PM (9 years ago)

President Goodluck Jonathan's re-election campaign in Bauchi on Thursday turned violent when some thugs who converged at the Ibrahim Babangida Square, venue of the event, hurled shoes, plastic water bottles and other objects at the canopy where the president and members of his campaign team were delivering their speeches.

Although security operatives intervened to stop the thugs from disrupting the event, several vehicles coming out of the venue, belonging to the PDP presidential campaign team, were stoned while tyres were burnt.

The violent youth also clashed with security personnel deployed around Ran Road and the Bauchi central market where a police patrol van was set ablaze by irate youths.

The Police Public Relations Officers [PPRO], Bauchi State, Haruna Muhammed, confirmed the violence but promised to provide journalists with details later on.

Earlier in his address at the rally, Mr. Jonathan lambasted the opposition All Progressives Congress, APC, accusing the party of instigating Nigerians against the ruling Peoples Democratic Party [PDP]-led government.

Mr. Jonathan challenged the APC to enumerate its achievements, and not seek cheap popularity.

He said that PDP stands for peace and that no retrogressive force can put the party behind.

Mr. Jonathan said his government has reduced the prevalence of polio virus in Bauchi State, and assured that before the end of the year, the virus will be completely eradicated in the whole nation.

He cautioned the youth against acts of violence during and after the election, saying if re-elected, he will invest in youth empowerment through micro small scale enterprise, agriculture and education.

According to Mr. Jonathan, "since oil is dwindling, we would embark on the excavation of the abundant solid minerals in Bauchi, so that indigenes of the state will be employable."

"If re-elected, I will ensure that I work with the governorship candidate to bring the dividend of democracy to Bauchi State," he said.

In his remarks, Vice-President Namadi Sambo cautioned politicians who are using religion and ethnicity to divide Nigerians to desist forthwith, stressing that Mr. Jonathan had no hatred whatsoever towards northerners, contrary to the falsehood being peddled by some politicians in the North.

"These politicians trying to use religion and ethnicity to divide Nigerians must stop. People are fabricating falsehood that Jonathan is discriminating against the North. I believe in equity and I don’t cheat people, I always ensure that projects are distributed equally across the country," he said.

He urged the people to ensure that they collect their Permanent Voters Cards to enable them vote in the election.

"Ensure that you collect your voter’s card because without it, you cannot exercise your franchise in the coming election," the vice president said.

State governors present at the event were Isa Yuguda, Bauchi; Ibrahim Dankwambo, Gombe; Goodwill Akpabio, Akwa Ibom.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 22-01-2015 08:57 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 22-01-2015 09:18 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:18 PM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- Lateef67 at 22-01-2015 09:20 PM (9 years ago)
They dont want hm
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:20 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 22-01-2015 09:24 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:24 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- TABONTE at 22-01-2015 09:26 PM (9 years ago)
too many accumulated illiterates in north, even as they had power 1966 - 199 and still in power as VP 1999 - DATE!  that's a shameful thing to do
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:26 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dankan at 22-01-2015 09:28 PM (9 years ago)
Cows.....Jonathan must rule, after comes Biafra
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:28 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- SweetDaddy1 at 22-01-2015 09:29 PM (9 years ago)
Words Of Wisdom !!! Jonathan May Not be the Best, But He has Done What Past Leaders Could Not Do. - Alhaji Shehu Shagari. The first Executive president of Nigeria Alhaji Shehu Usman Aliyu Shagari has broken his silence after 32years of overthrown by Maj General Muhammadu Buhari In his rare interview with AIT news reporter in Sokoto state yesterday and the former President said as below: "Jonathan may not be the best, but I can mention 3 to 4 breakthrough in Nigeria that occurred under his 5 years in office "Under Jonathan's administration, train is back in Nigeria after about 30yrs of neglect. In fact, my 27 years old grandchild boarded train for the first time in his life in 2014. His Administration is the first Government to construct over 125 modern Almajiri schools and 12 Universities in a short frame of time. He is also first Nigerian leader to construct cargo Airports & ensure all zone in Nigeria has an International airport. His Administration is also the first Nigerian government to eradicate the high level corruption in the distribution of fertiliser and ghost workers . And the very first Government to start diversifying Nigeria, economy back to agriculture after Nigeria lost its agricultural glory in the 70s. Now I may ask Nigerians, what are Buhari's developmental strides as Nigerian Head of State?" Your Answer is as good as Mine, NONE for his whole time in office
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:29 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- TABONTE at 22-01-2015 09:29 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: CASHMAN101 on 22-01-2015 09:22 PM
SEE WHAT GEJ SAID : "IF I AM VOTED INTO POWER,WITHIN THE NEXT FOUR YEARS,THE ISSUE OF POWER WILL BECOME A THING OF THE PAST.FOUR YEARS IS ENOUGH FOR ANYONE IN POWER TO MAKE SIGNIFICANT IMPROVEMENT AND IF I CAN,T IMPROVE ON POWER WITHIN THIS PERIOD,IT THEN MEANS I CAN NOT DO ANYTHING …" GEJ, JANUARY 31,2011 AT THE UNITED NATIONS OFFICE,ADDIS ABABA,ETHIOPIA.

GEJ has done it again!!! The Chief thug and errand boy of the Presidency,Mr. Joseph Mbu,has been redeployed to Lagos as the AIG in charge of Zone 2, comprising Lagos and Ogun state just weeks before Elections.Nigerians and Lagosians should be on alert.I smell a rat here.

cashman breeze don enter your brain. na GEJ dey dis country 1966 till 2007 wey no do all these, una hate soootey we wey follow una for APC com dey like GEJ
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:29 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dankan at 22-01-2015 09:31 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: TABONTE on 22-01-2015 09:26 PM
too many accumulated illiterates in north, even as they had power 1966 - 199 and still in power as VP 1999 - DATE!  that's a shameful thing to do
Worry not, they must ask for forgiveness after 14 Feb.
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:31 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abubu86 at 22-01-2015 09:43 PM (9 years ago)
I don't support dia action,even if i see him as a clueless president in d history of dis country
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:43 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 22-01-2015 09:43 PM (9 years ago)
I don't support dia action,even if i see him as a clueless president in d history of dis country
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:43 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 22-01-2015 09:46 PM (9 years ago)
i wonder when ABOKI go ever get sense. upon all these buhari waka for south-east, south-south and even niger delta, how many stone wey them through to am even pple wey no like am?. brainless pple, dem MUMU pass COW sef.
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:46 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 22-01-2015 09:46 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:46 PM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- chealseafc at 22-01-2015 09:47 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Abubu86 on 22-01-2015 09:43 PM

if you dey there, you go follow them do pass sef. all of una na the same. clueless pple.
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:47 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 22-01-2015 09:48 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Abubu86 on 22-01-2015 09:43 PM

if you dey there, you go follow them do pass sef. all of una na the same. clueless pple.
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:48 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AdikpeReturn at 22-01-2015 09:49 PM (9 years ago)
APC and violence
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:49 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 22-01-2015 09:55 PM (9 years ago)
u are a liar
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:55 PM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- dareper at 22-01-2015 11:02 PM (9 years ago)
I think jonathan should give the policemen order to shoot at sight to anyone who throw a stone at him. Rubbish hausas
Posted: at 22-01-2015 11:02 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- kelemann at 22-01-2015 11:21 PM (9 years ago)
I wonder Why dis change party and their supporters like too much violence
Posted: at 22-01-2015 11:21 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- femjay at 22-01-2015 11:26 PM (9 years ago)
Lord ve mercy
Posted: at 22-01-2015 11:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac