Protest At LUTH After A Woman Died From Being Detained Over Unpaid Hospital Bill

Date: 04-02-2015 11:30 am (9 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 4-02-2015 11:30 AM (9 years ago)

Family members and youths in the Idi-Araba area of Lagos state last Thursday January 29th took to the streets of Idi Araba, to protest the death of one Mrs. Folake Oduyoye who reportedly died on Dec. 13th 2014 at the Lagos University Teaching Hospital, LUTH, after her husband could not offset her medical bill of N1.3million while she was admitted in the hospital for post delivery complications she developed after having a child at the hospital.

Mrs Oduyoye’s husband, Mr Oduyoye said she was transferred to LUTH following post delivery complications. He said after she was admitted into the hospital, she was treated and given a bill of N1m which he was able to offset through the help of relatives and associates from his wife’s fashion trade. Mr Oduyoye said after his wife was officially discharged by the hospital, he was issued another bill of about N1.3million.
Mr Oduyoye said that he was able to raise N300,000 out of the bill and then had an agreement with management of LUTH to discharge her on the condition that he would provide a guarantor who would stand to ensure that he pays up the balance in a systematic manner and that the guarantor must be a staff of LUTH. He said his inability to provide a guarantor within their workforce made the hospital management detain his wife who in the process developed other illnesses with symptomatic cough. He said the hospital refused to treat his wife’s new illness because of the unsettled bill.

“At this point they [hospital management] policed me everywhere, saying I might smuggle my wife out of the hospital. I slept beside her all 45 days in the hospital, watching other patients die on daily basis,” he said.
Sadly his wife passed away in the hospital on 13th of December, 2014,

“She asked me if we would go home any time soon, since she was said to be discharged a month and half ago. But that was only the last five minutes into end for her, I didn’t know. At about 2a.m on 13th of December, she finally dropped on my lap,” he said.
One of the leaders of the protest and frontline human rights activist, Dr Joe Okei-Odumakin said this was a case of government corruption.
“This is neglect and a rip off. Where is the National Health Insurance Scheme and where are the billions earmarked for public healthcare?”, Okei-Odumakin said.

Posted: at 4-02-2015 11:30 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 4-02-2015 11:45 AM (9 years ago)
RIP madam  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-02-2015 11:45 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Foxtroft at 4-02-2015 11:56 AM (9 years ago)
Sorry to say fellows on Naijapals, Nigeria is a failed country.
Posted: at 4-02-2015 11:56 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- joromy at 4-02-2015 12:49 PM (9 years ago)
AFRICA FOR YOU
Posted: at 4-02-2015 12:49 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 4-02-2015 01:24 PM (9 years ago)
I deeply sympathize with the bereaved, I want to say that this human right organization are stupid, selfish and are idiots and bunch of fools. Must they wait for someone to die before they can carry their stupid flags and placard up about just to be noticed and caused fracas's so that Govt can notice and bribe them? If they had done this when the woman was alive possibly, that would have helped. Mtcheeeew!
Posted: at 4-02-2015 01:24 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Opeyemi66 at 4-02-2015 02:29 PM (9 years ago)
nawa o............
Posted: at 4-02-2015 02:29 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- uncledon at 4-02-2015 02:58 PM (9 years ago)
Medicine after death.
Posted: at 4-02-2015 02:58 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- aroroghene at 4-02-2015 03:19 PM (9 years ago)
Africa is a disgrace,,,,,,,,nigeria is a failure
Posted: at 4-02-2015 03:19 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- JossyKassy973 at 4-02-2015 04:44 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on  4-02-2015 01:24 PM
I deeply sympathize with the bereaved, I want to say that this human right organization are stupid, selfish and are idiots and bunch of fools. Must they wait for someone to die before they can carry their stupid flags and placard up about just to be noticed and caused fracas's so that Govt can notice and bribe them? If they had done this when the woman was alive possibly, that would have helped. Mtcheeeew!

Thank you very much bros. You just said the same thing I was thinking of. I wonder why our people are found of behaving foolishly in many situations. I wonder, too, where they were at that time. What stopped them from raising funds or creating awareness to the public so people could be of help to the woman? Now how does it help the deceased woman and her husband? They shouldn't be allowed to constitute nuisance to the society because this protest is self-serving.
Posted: at 4-02-2015 04:44 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- eonemusic at 4-02-2015 05:19 PM (9 years ago)
Bad Govt
Posted: at 4-02-2015 05:19 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Wysetots at 4-02-2015 06:02 PM (9 years ago)
You go to a hospital to save your life......and lose it instead.

What a shame......for all the politicians who can afford medical trips abroad.....but allow our hospitals to be in perpetual strike.

GEJ and His Cohots spending billions on campaign.

May the blood of these innocents deprive you all of peace. 
Posted: at 4-02-2015 06:02 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 4-02-2015 06:33 PM (9 years ago)
Painful
Posted: at 4-02-2015 06:33 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 4-02-2015 09:05 PM (9 years ago)
how did her stay or detainment in the hospital cause her death Huh? Huh?......i am sure she met some patients there at LUTH when she was
admitted and are still there now.
Posted: at 4-02-2015 09:05 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Abubu86 at 4-02-2015 11:26 PM (9 years ago)
Even though death is inevitable. I still strongly condemn d actions of LUTH staff. And dis NGO's should have come 2 his aid 2 settle his bill while his wife is alive not protesting after his wife is dead. May D Lord gives her eternal rest and gives u d fortitude 2 bear her loss
Posted: at 4-02-2015 11:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Squeezud at 5-02-2015 06:41 AM (9 years ago)
The husband really tried and showed her love till death separated them. This is painful! I couldn't hold back the tears. This life sef. Everything is Vanity!
Posted: at 5-02-2015 06:41 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- makavalipac at 5-02-2015 10:24 AM (9 years ago)
Hope those fellow poor nigerians can see the reason for disentegration of nigeria? or still wait a little maybe when it get to us, this politicians dnt care about us, ALL THE PARTY U ARE DEFENDING AND PROTECTING DNT EVEN CARE ABOUT U ; THIS PPL TURNED U TO WHO  U ARE TODAY INDIRECTLY; THEY LOOT THE MONEY MADE CHEAP HOSPITAL BILLS;  Smiley
Posted: at 5-02-2015 10:24 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- PeacetoU at 5-02-2015 10:50 AM (9 years ago)
What a pity
Posted: at 5-02-2015 10:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tochpy at 5-02-2015 10:58 AM (9 years ago)
This is inhuman treatment, RIP Ma.
Posted: at 5-02-2015 10:58 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- PoliticxGuru at 13-08-2015 08:56 AM (8 years ago)
very bizarre situation
Posted: at 13-08-2015 08:56 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Hardewarlee at 13-08-2015 08:59 AM (8 years ago)
Poor Govt. Poor hospital management
..... RIP maam
Posted: at 13-08-2015 08:59 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie