3 Hours From Abuja to Lagos by Speed Rail- FG Announces Project

Date: 05-02-2015 12:53 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 5-02-2015 12:53 PM (9 years ago)

The Federal Government has announced that plans have reached an advanced stage for a three hour high speed train project connecting Lagos and Abuja.
This was disclosed by the Minister of Transport, Senator Idris Umar, while speaking at the public presentation of a book, ‘Showcasing Goodluck Ebele Jonathan’s Monumental Strides: A Third Party Perspective,’ written by the Director-General of Citizens Network For Peace and Development in Nigeria, Mr. Dressmann Preye, in Abuja. Umar appealed to Nigerians to give President Goodluck Jonathan the chance to consolidate on his achievements.
The book highlighted areas the Jonathan administration has carried out reforms, to include macroeconomic management strategies; trade and investment policies; infrastructure development; agricultural transformation; oil and gas industry reforms; power and renewable energy; education and health reforms.
Senator Umar said the Federal Government had started receiving expression of interests from private firms within and outside the country, adding that the federal government had carried out a number of feasibility studies with the aim of constructing more standard gauge lines across the country and had successfully completed studies in seven new corridors, including Abuja-Lagos high speed train.
He said: �
The consultants, who carried out the feasibility studies have submitted their reports. Part of the report contains the involvement of the private sector to drive the project. This is because we want to develop these lines under public, private partnership arrangements. “We have received a lot of expression of interests even ahead of advertisement for the purpose from various companies in the country and indeed, in other countries of the world.
“The idea is that, if we have this in place, the trains can move from Abuja to Lagos, and from Lagos to Abuja in a maximum of three hours.“We are intending to compete favourably with other transportation system in carrying passengers from Abuja to Lagos.

Posted: at 5-02-2015 12:53 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 5-02-2015 01:11 PM (9 years ago)

Posted: at 5-02-2015 01:11 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bamilok2008 at 5-02-2015 01:22 PM (9 years ago)
Another Billion to be spent on this project
Posted: at 5-02-2015 01:22 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oways at 5-02-2015 01:40 PM (9 years ago)
Let it be done, am very sure it help alot
Posted: at 5-02-2015 01:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emmanuelokek at 5-02-2015 01:44 PM (9 years ago)
i hav not heard them mentioned anything about eastern rails or  those areas ar not included
Posted: at 5-02-2015 01:44 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- samybrowne at 5-02-2015 01:55 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: bamilok2008 on  5-02-2015 01:22 PM

U better stop hating, and congratulate a good job ok....
Well if i may ask U will the project be carried out with water if not money?

Posted: at 5-02-2015 01:55 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- trulyval at 5-02-2015 02:04 PM (9 years ago)
Laudable. But why now?, I support GEJ, but he should have done this long before now.
Posted: at 5-02-2015 02:04 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- shannon034 at 5-02-2015 02:11 PM (9 years ago)
Goodluck Jonathan all the way until 2019
Posted: at 5-02-2015 02:11 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- k4short2 at 5-02-2015 02:13 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: bamilok2008 on  5-02-2015 01:22 PM
pls be expose.
if dem no do, una go say dem no do.
if dem do, una go say dem too do.
if rain no fall, una go say rain no fall.
if rain fall, una go sday rain fall. which one una no dey sef?
ABEG TALK TO D HAND Huh?
Posted: at 5-02-2015 02:13 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- k4short2 at 5-02-2015 02:14 PM (9 years ago)
JONA KEEP THE GOOD WORK GOING, AS LONG AS GOD IS ON UR SIDE AND BACK UP, NO DEVIL CAN FRUSTRATE U
Posted: at 5-02-2015 02:14 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 5-02-2015 03:06 PM (9 years ago)
Lol were is the speed rail u mean this chines 1960 train is a speed rail
Posted: at 5-02-2015 03:06 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 5-02-2015 03:10 PM (9 years ago)
I hope it is no political propaganda
Posted: at 5-02-2015 03:10 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AdikpeReturn at 5-02-2015 05:20 PM (9 years ago)
Very good
Posted: at 5-02-2015 05:20 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ann2009 at 5-02-2015 06:07 PM (9 years ago)
I pray n hope it becomes a reality not
 political campaign
Posted: at 5-02-2015 06:07 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Troublemenot at 5-02-2015 09:07 PM (9 years ago)
Buhari will stop it like he stop lagos light rail years back
Posted: at 5-02-2015 09:07 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- torrejon_men at 5-02-2015 10:36 PM (9 years ago)
IMPOSIBLE,THIS IS ELECTION LANGUAGE
Posted: at 5-02-2015 10:36 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dondube at 6-02-2015 12:35 AM (9 years ago)
Our. . Government.    Have. Think.  About.  Other. Part.  Of. Nigeria.  Not.  Only.  North
Posted: at 6-02-2015 12:35 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mathiasobi at 6-02-2015 12:58 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: samybrowne on  5-02-2015 01:55 PM
U better stop hating, and congratulate a good job ok....
Well if i may ask U will the project be carried out with water if not money?

No mind him na stingy man,,,,Lol
Posted: at 6-02-2015 12:58 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- mathiasobi at 6-02-2015 01:02 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: zoe61 on  5-02-2015 03:06 PM
Lol were is the speed rail u mean this chines 1960 train is a speed rail
   The train be lack say na bullet prove...
Posted: at 6-02-2015 01:02 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- leerebort at 6-02-2015 05:44 AM (9 years ago)
you see this is what kills you people in nigeria, why we  Nigerian.s don't learn how to appreciate the good work of good leader, your now setting your ass there and complain billions it will cost.. off course let it cost what ever it may be and let it done, it's a really good development.. thanks you so much my president i love you and believe me you will rule again to complete your mission in Nigeria
Posted: at 6-02-2015 05:44 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie