Vote Him Out, Jonathan Has Shown A Total Failure In Leadership - Wole Soyinka

Date: 06-02-2015 6:18 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 6-02-2015 06:18 AM (9 years ago)

Nobel laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka, declared on Thursday that no one should vote for the continuation of President Goodluck Jonathan’s government, saying that there has been a total failure in leadership.

He said he has sixty reasons not to vote for the Jonathan regime.

“I will not vote and I will not encourage ‎anyone to vote for the continuation of this government, simply because your colleagues numbering over two hundred were kidnapped, ” Soyinka told students at the 2015 edition of Vision of the Child (VOTC), a yearly programme inaugurated in 2012.

He said the Chibok girls kidnapped on 14 April of last year were sent on a mission to acquire an education, but ended up being kidnapped.

“And the government of this nation failed to show leadership.‎ So anyone who says after that event that I will vote or cast my vote or encourage anyone to vote for this regime must be living in Sambisa forest,” Soyinka said, referring to a forest in Borno State where the Chibok girls are believed to be held by Boko Haram.

“There has been a failure of leadership. Our children whom you represent today have been betrayed‎,” Soyinka said, adding that no appropriate action was taken to retrieve them.

Soyinka said it took the Jonathan government ten days to even accept that the Chibok girls were even missing.

“After that dereliction of duty, after that failure of leadership, after that betrayal for our future, for anyone to think or to put words in my mouth suggesting that I will vote or encourage anyone to vote for this regime is a travesty of intelligence, ” Soyinka said.

Soyinka laughed off those who had claimed on the social media that he ‎was dead, telling journalists at the event that they should not misquote him. If they do, he added, he will rise from the dead to correct them.

The 2015 edition of Vision of the Child has for theme “The Road to Sambisa”.

This year, a total of 250 student participants from 60 primary and secondary schools within Lagos attended the interview. The age bracket for the participants was 9 to 12 years.

Their entries were assessed by a panel of eminent judges comprising teachers, artists, child carers and social workers.

The finalists will be invited on the 7 March to the National Conversation Foundation Park. Lekki, and provided with brush, paint and easel, and will be required to illustrate their literary presentation in the complementary medium painting.

This year, 60 finalists were drawn from 35 schools within Lagos State, said Foluke George‎, Festival Secretary and Programme Manager for the Vision of the Child.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 6-02-2015 06:18 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yklukmon at 6-02-2015 07:36 AM (9 years ago)
why is prof wole soyinka blowing hot and cold.some couples of weeks ago he said buhari lacks leadership value. Who is decieving who?
Posted: at 6-02-2015 07:36 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- maxzy277 at 6-02-2015 07:52 AM (9 years ago)
All this hilla-hillo will soon be over in couple of days now, the thing don dey bored person self.
Posted: at 6-02-2015 07:52 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sweetypweety at 6-02-2015 07:53 AM (9 years ago)
Prof Whole Soyinka 3 kbosa 4 u.
Posted: at 6-02-2015 07:53 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- wizy4u at 6-02-2015 07:59 AM (9 years ago)
speechless
Posted: at 6-02-2015 07:59 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- beneno at 6-02-2015 08:11 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 6-02-2015 08:11 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- charlesomo at 6-02-2015 08:30 AM (9 years ago)
wole sayinka abeg you in name of god just shut up ur mounth ok, if you are blind man you no see what is going on in this country abi you wan join yoruba dey play wayo now?
Posted: at 6-02-2015 08:30 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- gwadagwa at 6-02-2015 08:31 AM (9 years ago)
This was not Soyinka write-up, a fabricated story!
Posted: at 6-02-2015 08:31 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- charlesomo at 6-02-2015 08:37 AM (9 years ago)
is not fore jonthan to look for chibok girl try tell the notherner to go and look for the girl they kidnap? abi you nor no say the hausa people bring all this problam wen we get for this country?
Posted: at 6-02-2015 08:37 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- ChineduBlessing at 6-02-2015 09:38 AM (9 years ago)
Why can't this old man talk responsibly or shuts his mouth up.
Posted: at 6-02-2015 09:38 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 6-02-2015 10:12 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 6-02-2015 10:12 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- tmaxdon at 6-02-2015 11:13 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: charles on  6-02-2015 08:30 AM
wole sayinka abeg you in name of god just shut up ur mounth ok, if you are blind man you no see what is going on in this country abi you wan join yoruba dey play wayo now?
So you forgot so soon that Prof. Wole Soyinka was one of the people who went out to protest against the Yaradua cabals when they wanted to deny Jonathan his constitutional right of being the President after Yaradua's death.. He his against him because GEJ has failed..
Posted: at 6-02-2015 11:13 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- tmaxdon at 6-02-2015 11:26 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: ChineduBlessing on  6-02-2015 09:38 AM
Why can't this old man talk responsibly or shuts his mouth up.

You don't know the people behind the so called democracy you enjoyed today, you don't know the people who stood against injustice during the military regime in Nigeria and it means you don't know the history of your country and you don't love your country. If your father had fought to safe this country like Wole Soyinka did or is doing, we might probably not be in the situation we are now..Remember he protested with people like Pastor Tunde Bakare to bring GEJ to power after Yaradua's death,people you all refer to now as enemies GEJ..
Posted: at 6-02-2015 11:26 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 6-02-2015 01:03 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: yklukmon on  6-02-2015 07:36 AM
why is prof wole soyinka blowing hot and cold.some couples of weeks ago he said buhari lacks leadership value. Who is decieving who?

I tire oooo
Posted: at 6-02-2015 01:03 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- kelemann at 6-02-2015 05:02 PM (9 years ago)
Oga prof, now I know you are a card caring member of apc. You know as much as most people in the north east know that chibok girls kidnap was a grand design by apc to rubbish the fed govt. that's why they never blame the governor but only the fed govt. thereris god oooooo.
Posted: at 6-02-2015 05:02 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Purpleone at 6-02-2015 08:53 PM (9 years ago)
VIDEO OR ADONTBILIVIT
Posted: at 6-02-2015 08:53 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- abati666 at 6-02-2015 09:04 PM (9 years ago)
MY FELLOW NIGERIANS........WOLE IS RIGHT...FIGHT FOR WHAT IS RIGHT AND JUST.....

VOTE JONA THE MEDIOCRE OUT....HA HA HA
Posted: at 6-02-2015 09:04 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 6-02-2015 09:20 PM (9 years ago)
Well said ..... GEJ administration is a MINUS F......

The change is gonna happen ......!!!

Sai BUHARI
Posted: at 6-02-2015 09:20 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 6-02-2015 09:26 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: charles on  6-02-2015 08:30 AM
Hey bullock ..... Wot is going on this country positively  .... You are ve a gutless post .....You have been utterly ,irrevocably, un apologetically brainwashed......  Bigot without sense. Wot has tribe got to do with the post here ....... Comment according to suitation on ground .... Dunce  drunker !
Posted: at 6-02-2015 09:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 6-02-2015 09:40 PM (9 years ago)
Prof. Soyinka I salute…!!!
Posted: at 6-02-2015 09:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. Video of Davido, Shallipopi Spraying Naira Notes Hits The Internet Amid EFCC Crackdown

3. 10 Opponents Won So Far! Tunde Onakoya Moves to Break Guinness Record For Longest Chess Played

4. President Tinubu Directs Inclusion Of National Open University Graduates In NYSC Scheme

5. BEEF CRUSHED! Singer, Spyro Reaches Out to Portable, Requests Collaboration

6. UPDATE; Court Grants Order That Mohbad's Wife, Wumi Be Serve Notice Of Son's Pending DNA Test

7. Court Grants Order Suspending Ganduje As APC National Chairman

8. Army Confirms Arrest Of Soldiers Over Alleged Involvement In Cable Theft At Dangote Refinery

9. 'Our Restraint To Provocation Not Sign Of Weakness' — EFCC Reacts As Ododo Helps Yahaya Bello

10. Kaduna Assembly Calls Out Bello El-Rufai For Allegedly Calling For A Fight Against Them

11. BREAKING: Gunmen Kill ARTMA Official In Anambra

12. Heartwarming Video Of Woman Who Surprises Her Riders With iPhone 13 Pro Max Each

13. Portable Leaks Chat With Verydarkman After Tagging Him A Talkative

14. EFCC To Arraign Yahaya Bello, Nephew Over N80.2billion Money Laundering Today

15. Nigerians Dig Old Video Of Korra Obidi Admitting To Cheating On Ex-Husband Hours After Denying

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video