These Are The Real Reasons Why INEC Postponed General Elections

Date: 08-02-2015 7:17 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-02-2015 07:17 AM (9 years ago)

The real reasons behind the decision of the Independent National Electoral Commission to postpone the general elections have emerged.

Chairman of the commission, Attahiru Jega, who has been under immense pressure lately, made the announcement for the shifts in election dates, yesterday, at a world press conference, invoking the provisions of the following in the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended: Section 76(2), Section 116(2), Section 132(2) Section 178(2).

He also quoted Section 25 of the Electoral Act 2010 as amended.

Jega explained that INEC was prepared but the security challenge and the need not to deploy men and materials when the security agencies had issued an advisory, made the commission postpone the elections.

“We are not being forced by anybody to take this decision,” the INEC Chairman claimed.
“This is a decision that we had to take by ourselves. They were not pleasant decisions to take but we had to take the decisions.  Nobody has forced us; nobody has coerced us.  We stand by this decision.”

However, Jega admitted that with the new dates, the Commission stands a better opportunity of fine-tuning some of its processes.

Although Jega claimed that the level of preparedness of the commission was better than how it was on 2011, there are several things yet to be put in place.

A status report published by Vanguard, which cited sources, revealed that training manuals for ad hoc staff are not ready. Presiding Officers are also yet to be trained.
Other points in Vanguard’s report include the following:
– 700,000 ad hoc staff not recruited yet
-PVCs still being printed abroad
-RECs yet to print Voter Register
– Printers for Register still in Abuja
– No full complement of ballot boxes
-Fake printing ink sent to states from headquarters rejected
-Many states yet to get balance of Card Readers

The presidential and National Assembly elections, earlier slated for Saturday, February 14, 2015, will now hold on Saturday, March 28, 2015.

The governorship and state legislative elections will hold on April 11, 2015.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 8-02-2015 07:17 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yeksal at 8-02-2015 07:40 AM (9 years ago)
gv us d best Lord......
Posted: at 8-02-2015 07:40 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- yeksal at 8-02-2015 07:41 AM (9 years ago)
gv us d best Lord......
Posted: at 8-02-2015 07:41 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- EmekaBlue at 8-02-2015 08:09 AM (9 years ago)
tire 4 politics
Posted: at 8-02-2015 08:09 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- basoo at 8-02-2015 08:26 AM (9 years ago)
It is today they know that it will hold  on 14th,   after many yrs of preperation, yet  it is only in dat expired name dat all things are seen!
Posted: at 8-02-2015 08:26 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- maizaxx at 8-02-2015 08:39 AM (9 years ago)
It took us 4 years to prepare and we aren't ready, will 6 weeks make us ready. With Johna there's always a first. Has any country prepared for elections and later postpone it? Please do tell me.
Posted: at 8-02-2015 08:39 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Adbb at 8-02-2015 09:32 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: maizaxx on  8-02-2015 08:39 AM
It took us 4 years to prepare and we aren't ready, will 6 weeks make us ready. With Johna there's always a first. Has any country prepared for elections and later postpone it? Please do tell me.
hahaha they said they prepared but not fully prepared.
Posted: at 8-02-2015 09:32 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Platinum1982 at 8-02-2015 12:22 PM (9 years ago)
Jega explained that INEC was prepared but the security challenge and the need not to deploy men and materials when the security agencies had issued an advisory, made the commission postpone the elections and U still said – 700,000 ad hoc staff not recruited yet
-PVCs still being printed abroad
-RECs yet to print Voter Register
– Printers for Register still in Abuja
– No full complement of ballot boxes
-Fake printing ink sent to states from headquarters rejected
-Many states yet to get balance of Card Readers, So how are u INEC den prepared without having all this in place?
Posted: at 8-02-2015 12:22 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ken1230 at 8-02-2015 01:24 PM (9 years ago)
Jega should go now
Posted: at 8-02-2015 01:24 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiimma at 8-02-2015 02:29 PM (9 years ago)
Is President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Really Bad?

1] Goodluck Jonathan signed FOI bill that Obasanjo

refused to sign and you join then in saying that Goodluck

is bad.

2] Goodluck approved N18,000 Minimum wage from

N7,500 Which Obasanjo refused to sign and you say that

Goodluck is bad and NYSC allowance from N7,500 to

nearly approved N39,500, yet they say he is bad.

3] Goodluck dualized federal roads (about 25,000km)

which Obasanjo and past Govts abandoned and you say

Goodluck is bad.

4] The rail system is working now, with little budget But

Obasanjo Sunk billions of dollars without result, other

pasts leader ignored and you say that Goodluck is bad.

5] Goodluck has been conducting free and fair elections

whereas the ones conducted under Obasanjo are Shameful

and national disgrace yet you say Goodluck is bad.

6] Goodluck established 12 new universities, 9 in the North

to improve learning and knowledge and increase the

Jambites admission rate, yet you say that Goodluck is

bad.

7] Goodluck established the Almajiri system for Northern

abandoned street children and those deprived of education

by their own people and you say Goodluck is bad.

8] Goodluck has been building dams and improving the

country's power from 2500mW to 6,000MW - And

successfully privatized the sector which many analyst

believed is the best way to go and you joined them say

that Goodluck is bad.

9] Agriculture have been revamped and for the first time in

Nigerian history, Food prices came down during

Christmas, instead of skyrocketing and you say that he is

a bad President.

10] 2013 and 2014 was the Christmas in Nigeria, where

Nigerian did not sleep in filling stations for 3 to 4 days to

get Petrol or 100s of people being roasted alive in

attempts to get fuel in petrol stations, wickedly, you joined

them to say that our God given President is not

performing.

11] Airports are wearing world class looks and every zone

have International airport and you say Goodluck is bad.

12] This administration has employed more people in their

5years in office than any other in the history of Nigeria

[Via Agric, Energy sector,16 New Car Companies, 12 New

Universities, 3,826 primary Health care Centers, Teaching

Hospitals] SURE-P, YOUWIN and you say Goodluck is bad.

Now do you think that General Muhammadu Buhari will

perform magic, which he could not do when he was in his

40s, if you vote him?

What else do they want from President Goodluck Ebele

Jonathan?

Share if you agree that President Goodluck Jonathan

deserves re-election to continue the good works.
Posted: at 8-02-2015 02:29 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- xjiggy at 8-02-2015 04:12 PM (9 years ago)
Onyiima, i no know who confuse pass, u or jonathan.
Dem build power stations yet light no dey
Agriculture don improve yet we still dey import rice and beans
Dem increase minimum wage for paper yet dem no allocate the money to states to disburse am
Railway don dey work... For which state and by the wey u don enter am?
Dem dey build new university yet lectures go strike for almost a year for lack of funding for the old ones
Dem create employment... Go ask how many people dem retrench after im sell Nepa to Ghost buyers
2013 and 2014 no cue... Ask people for Abuja and North weda dem see fuel buy easily
Free and fair elections. Im be like say na cotonou u dey when dem dey take soja and Dss dey harass APC politicians for Ekiti
Airport wear new look.. When last u enter plane? Port Harcourt International Airport na Canopy be arrival and Departure hall
Im build schu for alumajiri work im no creat wait for dem
Naija youth jobless sotey Yahoo pay pass bank work
Naira don weak sotey dodo strong pass am
and u sidon there dey promote PDP propanganda
Yéyé dey smell
Posted: at 8-02-2015 04:12 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bblessd at 8-02-2015 04:51 PM (9 years ago)
IT SHALL BE WELL WITH US. GOD IS WITH US U HV TO BELIEVE ME
Posted: at 8-02-2015 04:51 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Susiebabe at 8-02-2015 05:14 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: xjiggy on  8-02-2015 04:12 PM
Onyiima, i no know who confuse pass, u or jonathan.
Dem build power stations yet light no dey
Agriculture don improve yet we still dey import rice and beans
Dem increase minimum wage for paper yet dem no allocate the money to states to disburse am
Railway don dey work... For which state and by the wey u don enter am?
Dem dey build new university yet lectures go strike for almost a year for lack of funding for the old ones
Dem create employment... Go ask how many people dem retrench after im sell Nepa to Ghost buyers
2013 and 2014 no cue... Ask people for Abuja and North weda dem see fuel buy easily
Free and fair elections. Im be like say na cotonou u dey when dem dey take soja and Dss dey harass APC politicians for Ekiti
Airport wear new look.. When last u enter plane? Port Harcourt International Airport na Canopy be arrival and Departure hall
Im build schu for alumajiri work im no creat wait for dem
Naija youth jobless sotey Yahoo pay pass bank work
Naira don weak sotey dodo strong pass am
and u sidon there dey promote PDP propanganda
Yéyé dey smell

U can not stop importation in totality. This is where trade & batter come in. U export ur own goods to other countries & also import theirs. That is life, if u have not entered d train or even seen it ask those why have & who is ready to speak the truth. U are good in finding faults u don't see d good side of some else. It is people like u who will get there will not be able to move adime .
Posted: at 8-02-2015 05:14 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bobsolo1 at 8-02-2015 08:09 PM (9 years ago)
It has already been said 90% of the Nigerian Politicians are Vacuous Bunkum. End of Story .
Posted: at 8-02-2015 08:09 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- orji1234 at 8-02-2015 11:25 PM (9 years ago)
Hausa,yoruba poeple to vote out Jona. Now election is postponed,they should hit transformer.
Posted: at 8-02-2015 11:25 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- olubukolaawe at 8-02-2015 11:55 PM (9 years ago)
PDP HAS BEEN WINNING ELECTIONS IN NIGERIA BECAUSE THE HAUSAS AND THE IBOS VOTE FOR THEM. THE YORUBAS NEVER RAISED AN EYEBROW. NOW THE YORUBAS AND THE HAUSAS ARE COMING TOGETHER THE IBOS ARE CALLING OUR LEADERS DESPICABLE NAMES.
Posted: at 8-02-2015 11:55 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Amibomatc at 9-02-2015 12:22 AM (9 years ago)
First victory for the victorious party.
Posted: at 9-02-2015 12:22 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- papadip at 9-02-2015 01:43 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: olubukolaawe on  8-02-2015 11:55 PM
PDP HAS BEEN WINNING ELECTIONS IN NIGERIA BECAUSE THE HAUSAS AND THE IBOS VOTE FOR THEM. THE YORUBAS NEVER RAISED AN EYEBROW. NOW THE YORUBAS AND THE HAUSAS ARE COMING TOGETHER THE IBOS ARE CALLING OUR LEADERS DESPICABLE NAMES.
Good point and well noted.
Posted: at 9-02-2015 01:43 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rizzotti at 9-02-2015 06:32 AM (9 years ago)
for the past 4 yrs,inec is still not ready? Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 9-02-2015 06:32 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- x-avier at 9-02-2015 07:53 AM (9 years ago)
I thought Jega said he'd rather resign than postpone the elections? I'm waiting for his resignation.
Posted: at 9-02-2015 07:53 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming