PDP Has Not Paid The Man That Designed The Umbrella Logo 17 Years Ago

Date: 08-02-2015 11:57 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 8-02-2015 11:57 PM (9 years ago)

The Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) has  not paid the designer of its logo- an umbrella, 17 years after it was approved and handed over to the party.
The logo designer, Gbenga Amobonye, a journalist and former Abuja Bureau Chief of the defunct  National Concord in an interview with the. Vanguard Newspaper,   said he designed the logo in 1999 in the wake of new political dispensation in Nigeria, and  It was accepted and approved by the party’s hierachy.
” I proposed umbrella to the party in 1998 as its symbol and it was carried with spontaneous applause and commendation. The proposal for the adoption of the umbrella as symbol of the then emerging political party, PDP, was presented on my behalf by one time President of  the Senate, the late Dr. Chuba Okadigbo, in his capacity as Chairman of the Publicity Committee of the political association, whose responsibility, it was, to consider a name and symbol for the association, in preparation for its registration as a political party with the Independent Electoral Commission, INEC”.
Since the adoption of his logo, the party’s echelon, Amobonye recalled, has been evasive.  He claimed that he has written  several letters to the party leadership without any response before he took the option of bringing his plight to the public through the media.
As proof of his efforts to get officials of PDP to respond, he produced the letter purportedly written to draw the attention of  the party’s chairman then,  Chief  Barnabas Gemade. .However, in year 2000, according to the letter, Okadigbo introduced him to, Chief Barnabas Gemade, as ‘ the man who gave PDP its logo, and said, please do something for him’. Gemade, he recalled, never did even when Amobonye had to officially write him.  His persistent efforts appeared to be paying off when he learnt that the Special Assistant to the then National Secretary, Senator Aniete Okon, signed a letter addressed to some founding fathers of the party on the issue.
It read, “I am directed to forward here  the letter dated 27th June, 2001 from Mr Gboyega Amobonye, Abuja Bureau Chief, National Concord Press of Nigeria Ltd, to our National Chairman claiming he suggested the umbrella symbol at the foundation stage of our great party, for your kind attention and advice. It will be appreciated if you throw more light on this matter to help the National Working Committee, NWC.”.           In the same vein, Segun Adeniyi, the Thisday Editorial Chairman, on December 15, 2002, published an interview with the late Okadigbo where he said, ” The name PDP was suggested by me at the Muson Centre in Lagos, including the symbol. There was a certain Yoruba guy from Concord Newspaper who wrote me a letter which had this symbol of umbrella, I thought it was interesting. So, I read it out and it was adopted”.

Evidence abound to show that indeed Amobonye was the brain behind the symbol through the collaborative claims of important party members.

Other evidence to confirm his efforts and proprietary of the logo includes a statement.credited to a one-time PDP Publicity Secretary, Gbenga Olawepo, in an interview with the defunct Monitor Newspaper of September 30,2001, corroborated the claim of the late Okadigbo. Olawepo, while  expressing his view on his suspension and eventual expulsion from the party. In an interview,  said: ’You, Gbenga Amobonye, even submitted the proposal for our symbol which we adopted at the Muson Centre, Lagos. Was Gemade at the meeting? That was when we were considering the logo and everything, you made a proposal. You know the story of the PDP better. How can any of these people now say they are sacking me from the party?”

Amobonye said he would continue to appeal to the PDP leadership rather than resorting to legal action over the logo issue, hoping that they would have a change of heart.” I  think this option I have been pursuing is far better than the legal option you are asking me about. If you believe in a cause, see it to the end, and that is what I intend to do. I will continue to appeal to them, particularly Alhaji Adamu Muazu, the Chairman and President Goodluck Jonathan, the party leader, to see my little contribution to what the party is today and duly acknowledge it .

“I have written another letter to the President explaining my stand on the issue. I am yet to get a reply. Yes, it is true that this is an intellectual property issue which ordinarily should resort to litigation. But what do I stand to benefit ultimately if I drag the party to court? If my design, which is my sweat, is appreciated by the party and adopted it as its official symbol, and the same party is now the largest on the continent, apart from being the ruling party since about 16 years now, I should be glad that my effort is what everybody is trying to associate with. So, I will continue to appeal to them, particularly through your widely read medium”.

Posted: at 8-02-2015 11:57 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- joromy at 9-02-2015 12:19 AM (9 years ago)
BOTH YOU THAT DESIGNED THE UNBRELLA LOGO OF PDP YOU ARE ALL CRIMINALS, CORRUPTED PARTY.
Posted: at 9-02-2015 12:19 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 9-02-2015 12:34 AM (9 years ago)
they've shared your money amongst themselves.......that's all they are known for
Posted: at 9-02-2015 12:34 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Dereknosh at 9-02-2015 01:31 AM (9 years ago)
You designed it for People deceive people and you complaining
Posted: at 9-02-2015 01:31 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 9-02-2015 10:02 AM (9 years ago)
Tell oga jona
Posted: at 9-02-2015 10:02 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DRraze at 9-02-2015 01:52 PM (9 years ago)
How that one take affect M̶̲̥̅ε̲̣̣̣̥?
Posted: at 9-02-2015 01:52 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- obynoses at 9-02-2015 04:48 PM (9 years ago)
I thought Gbenga is a name for wise people? Hmmm Indeed you are a foolish Gbenga! Why complain now? Didnt you see Obasanjo to hold? Or would you hold our democratic father, Yaradua. And how would yaradua wake up to pay you? Answer me Mr. Designer. Ok, are you saying this for what? So that Jonathan will leave his busy national issues to read your posts? Thank God i am here. I will pay you in cash or kind. send me your account number if you want cash OR you send me any design you need for a payback let me design it for you  because i am representing PDP here. Reply fast let me know the one you want.
Posted: at 9-02-2015 04:48 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- PeacetoU at 9-02-2015 05:37 PM (9 years ago)
You are a comedian lol
Posted: at 9-02-2015 05:37 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fertymor at 16-02-2015 11:06 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 16-02-2015 11:06 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 22-08-2015 05:55 PM (8 years ago)
Eeya, so whose fault now?
Posted: at 22-08-2015 05:55 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. VIDEO of a Foreign Construction Worker Playing With Most Wanted Bandits at Work Site in Zamfara

2. Regina Daniels Reacts as Co-Wife, Laila Charani Posts Romantic Video with Husband Ned Nwoko

3. Family Seeks to Raise $70k To Bring Home Nigerian Bodybuilder Shot Dead By Wife in US

4. Meet Uzoma Odimara, aka ‘Area Scatter’ Nigeria’s First Publicly-Known Crossdresser

5. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

6. Victor Boniface Shares Inspiring Photo After Winning First Title With Bayer Leverkusen

7. Kwara Police Arrest 46 Suspects After Cult Clash

8. VIDEO: Late Sylverter Oromoni’s Father Blows Hot As He Rejects Coroner Judgment

9. Ex US Pres, Donald Trump Risks 4yrs Jail Term as he Appears in Court to Face Criminal Trials

10. Omokri Hails Dunamis Pastor, Eneche For Apologizing To Woman, Vera Anyim Accused Of Giving Fake

11. Junior Pope: Yul Edochie's Estranged Wife, May Mourns Victims Of Boat Mishap

12. 22Yr Old Man, Francis Okoye Arrested Over Unlawful Possession Of Fire Arm

13. UPDATE: President Tinubu Declares April 7 As National Police Day

14. Man, Bamidele Adeleke Docked For Stealing N2m Batteries In Ibadan

15. Forgery: EFCC Arraigns Father-In-Law Alaba Alakija, Daughter-In-Law Oyinkansola In Lagos

16. VID: BBN Star, Phyna Reacts To Colleague, DeeOne’s Offer To Her Father At An Event

17. OAP, Moet Abebe Shares Receipt Of Her Outing, Insist Men Should Spend N7M Or More In Club

18. "Stop Linking Actor, Junior Pope’s Death To Marine Kingdom" - Prophet Fufeyin Warms

19. PDP NEC Meeting: Tensions Rise Within Wike’s Camp As Gov. Makinde Dumps G-5 Governors

1. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

2. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Nigerian Gov.t Nears Extradition Of Binance Executive Involved In $35.4M Money Laundering

6. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

10. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks