A Nigerian Priest in The UK Jailed for 8 Months for segxwally Assulting A Woman

Date: 20-02-2015 2:07 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 20-02-2015 02:07 PM (9 years ago)

A Nigerian priest who went on the run after segxwally assaulting a woman in the UK has been jailed for eight months. 58 year old Father Hilary Ogom Nwadei, pleaded guilty to fondling the woman’s Bosom s and exposing himself while staying at St Mary’s Priory in Leyland. Nwadei, from the Diocese of Issele-Uku, Delta State, Nigeria, began staying at the Priory in September 2013 while he studied a doctorate in law at the University of Central Lancashire, and also preached to the congregation. During that time, according to reports, he complained of loneliness and befriended his victim who he regularly confided in and often hugged during these exchanges. However on December 12, 2013, he asked the woman to help him pack for a return trip to Nigeria.
She agreed and went to his bedroom. David Traynor, prosecuting, said:
The defendant leaned against the door of the room, causing it to shut. He was between her and her way out of the room. He asked her for a kiss and she presented him with her cheek, but the defendant said ‘No, a proper kiss’, then kissed her on the lips.
The victim said she wanted to leave and tried to leave, then the defendant asked if she had any segxwal feelings towards him. When she said no the defendant reached up the back of her jumper and undid her bra.
Then he moved his hands round the front, underneath her jumper and placed his hands under her bra, onto her naked Bosom s. He fondled her Bosom s for a matter of seconds. The woman made her excuses to leave, but he was still between her and the door, so she couldn't leave at that point
.”
The court heard he then undid his trousers, exposed himself and made a lewd comment. The woman said she had to leave and Nwadei moved out of the way to let her pass.
Mr Traynor also told the court Nwadei had told the woman “it was meant to be just you and me” and told her not to say anything.
The assault followed two incidents in previous days, where Nwadei had told the woman he loved her, “twanged” her bra and slipped £100 in her pocket for new underwear. The woman told a friend and the matter was raised with the church, who launched an investigation, then told the police.
Nwadei returned to Nigeria before moving to London, returning briefly to Leyland to apologize for his actions. But knowing that he was wanted for questioning, he left the UK again, following the death of his father and did not return until he was arrested at Heathrow Airport while on a transit flight to the USA in December 2014 – 12 months after the offence.
Claire Jones, defending, said:
“He yearns to return to his country and has learned a salutary lesson. He can no longer carry on in this vein. He has been asked to leave the church and also it has shaken his faith going through this experience.
She insisted there was no evidence to suggest he tried to stop the victim from leaving the bedroom during the time of the assault.
Judge Michael Byrne read out excerpts from the victim’s impact statement, where she told of feeling intimidated and scared to bump into Nwadei. Sentencing, he said:
I make it unequivocally plain that all incidents of segxwal assault always regarded as serious.
He said although the crime was at the lower end of the scale, it has two aggravating features – it was a breach of trust for a minister of religion, and that the invitation to his bedroom was for the purpose of a segxwal encounter.
Reflecting his guilty plea, Judge Byrne jailed him for eight months with a £100 statutory charge. Nwadei will be put on the sex offenders’ register for 10 years, and will be deported from the UK immediately after his jail term expires. DS Carl Matthews
This was a despicable crime committed by Nwadei who then tried to flee from facing the consequences of his actions. I hope that today’s sentence brings some closure to his victim who has been supported by specially trained officers throughout the process.”

Posted: at 20-02-2015 02:07 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Giftous1 at 20-02-2015 02:18 PM (9 years ago)
Hmnmn
Posted: at 20-02-2015 02:18 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 20-02-2015 02:22 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 20-02-2015 02:22 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- tokslucci at 20-02-2015 02:43 PM (9 years ago)
hmmmmm is not good o if u are serving God serve him in truth & in spirit, yes! i no its difficult buttttttt pray. a man of God dat took an oath its a shame
Posted: at 20-02-2015 02:43 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- EmekaBlue at 20-02-2015 02:55 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 20-02-2015 02:55 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- discollins at 20-02-2015 03:13 PM (9 years ago)
My annoyance here, is the continuous misrepresentation of Nigeria all over the world. We are Nigerians, we are good people in a great nation. We must surely stand up for Nigeria, the best nation on earth... God bless Nigeria..
Posted: at 20-02-2015 03:13 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- candela at 20-02-2015 03:18 PM (9 years ago)
Very sad
Posted: at 20-02-2015 03:18 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 20-02-2015 03:29 PM (9 years ago)
the guy Lips reminds me of the Skpomon wey one delta woman wey dey for my erea that year dey sell with rice,Mama Obushe alias madam 4.the Kpomon dey thick wella  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 20-02-2015 03:29 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- eric2000 at 20-02-2015 03:49 PM (9 years ago)
THE UNITED KINGDOM IS TOO LENIENT..IN THE UNITED STATES,HE WOULD HAVE DONE 5 TO 10 YRS..THE BAD HABIITS THAT HE BROUGHT FROM NIGERIA ,HE DECIDED TO BRING IT ABROAD..IMAGINE ALL THE QUIET WOMEN HE HAS MOLESTED IN NIGERIA...ITS A DIFFERENT BALL GAME WHEN YOU GO ABROAD..THERE IS ACTUALLY CONSEQUENCES FOR YOUR ACTIONS..
Posted: at 20-02-2015 03:49 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eric2000 at 20-02-2015 03:54 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: discollins on 20-02-2015 03:13 PM
My annoyance here, is the continuous misrepresentation of Nigeria all over the world. We are Nigerians, we are good people in a great nation. We must surely stand up for Nigeria, the best nation on earth... God bless Nigeria..

NICE IDEA..START BY OPENLY CONDEMMING PEOPLE WHO BREAK THE LAW OR PUT OUR COUNTRY TO SHAME...IT SHOULD NOT MATTER WHETHER THEY ARE FAMILY MEMBERS OR FROM THE SAME VILLAGE AS YOU..LETS SEPERATE THE SHEEP FROM THE GOATS..YOU ARE RIGHT ,THERE ARE NICE PEOPLE IN NIGERIA BUT THE MINORITY ONE PERCENT THAT TARNISH OUR IMAGE GIVES ALL THE OTHER 99 PERCENT OF US A BAD NAME
Posted: at 20-02-2015 03:54 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 20-02-2015 04:08 PM (9 years ago)
Both of them are guilty. Why would a woman enter a priest room to pack for him? Its totally not acceptable in Catholic church. They have man servants and house helps which he could have used. The lady consistently going to the priest also means there was an attraction. Methink its a relationship gone soar, maybe he promised her some benefits and failed. Diaris God
Posted: at 20-02-2015 04:08 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- deita at 20-02-2015 04:13 PM (9 years ago)
Na by force to be a priest,nawa for this man
Posted: at 20-02-2015 04:13 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- eric2000 at 20-02-2015 04:24 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on 20-02-2015 04:08 PM
Both of them are guilty. Why would a woman enter a priest room to pack for him? Its totally not acceptable in Catholic church. They have man servants and house helps which he could have used. The lady consistently going to the priest also means there was an attraction. Methink its a relationship gone soar, maybe he promised her some benefits and failed. Diaris God
how can you justify the molestation of another person...completely wrong on this..just because a woman helps a priest to pack regardless of the circumstance does not give him a right to molest her..by the way ,the man servant you are talking about are being molested by the priest also...so wake up
Posted: at 20-02-2015 04:24 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 20-02-2015 04:29 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: eric2000 on 20-02-2015 04:24 PM
how can you justify the molestation of another person...completely wrong on this..just because a woman helps a priest to pack regardless of the circumstance does not give him a right to molest her..by the way ,the man servant you are talking about are being molested by the priest also...so wake up

A woman who obviously going by the write up is a church member has no business in the priest bedroom. For Christ sake, priest or no priest, this people are human and has got feelings too. We should always help them come out of that situation, not tempt them by going into their bedroom, to do what? Besides, what is wrong with the priest hands that he cannot pack his stuff. See I was born into a catholic family and can authoritatively tell you that church members caused most abuse in catholic church. They are crazy about Rev fathers - belief it or not. Thank God am REDEEMED now
Posted: at 20-02-2015 04:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 20-02-2015 04:32 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: eric2000 on 20-02-2015 04:24 PM

Yes! Agreed! Man servants are also being molested but its a better case to judge than that of a woman. Why on earth will a woman go into a priest bed room to help pack his stuff? Why? Why must it be that particular woman that was invited to pack his stuff in his supposedly sacred room? It is even wrong for a sister to enter a priest room talkless of an ordinary woman. Both of them are wrong- take it or leave it
Posted: at 20-02-2015 04:32 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- eric2000 at 20-02-2015 04:41 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on 20-02-2015 04:32 PM

Yes! Agreed! Man servants are also being molested but its a better case to judge than that of a woman. Why on earth will a woman go into a priest bed room to help pack his stuff? Why? Why must it be that particular woman that was invited to pack his stuff in his supposedly sacred room? It is even wrong for a sister to enter a priest room talkless of an ordinary woman. Both of them are wrong- take it or leave it
These so called men of God are manipulative..who knows how she got there..the fact is that there is no justification for her ordeal..That is a woman..we all have women in our families..imagine if that was your sister, aunt or family member..The point is we as humans have to be able to control ourselves regardless of what the temptation is..there is always going to be temptation out there..
Posted: at 20-02-2015 04:41 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odegbalegu at 20-02-2015 05:11 PM (9 years ago)
you lack self control
Posted: at 20-02-2015 05:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ritabrenice at 20-02-2015 05:58 PM (9 years ago)
So all these fake pastors still carry their mumu comot go another country....mtchewwwww
Posted: at 20-02-2015 05:58 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 20-02-2015 06:38 PM (9 years ago)
terrible
Posted: at 20-02-2015 06:38 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- eoadex2003 at 20-02-2015 11:41 PM (9 years ago)
Ibo man
Posted: at 20-02-2015 11:41 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac