Fuel Scarcity Hits Lagos, Worsens In Abuja, Others

Date: 02-03-2015 6:36 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 2-03-2015 06:36 AM (9 years ago)

Entrances to many filling stations in Lagos and other parts of the country remained shut to motorists on Sunday following a sharp drop in the supply of petrol to the market.

Findings by The PUNCH revealed that oil marketers were no longer interested in importing the product mainly because of the rising exchange rate of the dollar to the Naira.

The other factors responsible for the marketers’ action are delayed subsidy payments and rising interests on loans from banks.

An official of a major marketing firm, who declined to have his name in print, said, “I am afraid that we cannot continue to import petrol because it costs more now to do so owing to the recent devaluation of the Naira. The rising amount of petrol subsidy arrears payable to us coupled with the high interests on loans   from financial institutions, are still major issues in our hands.”

Another marketer told one of our correspondents that an exchange rate of N226 per dollar was demanded on import duties contrary to the inter-bank exchange rate of N198 posted on the website of the Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency for the pricing template of PMS approved on February 19, 2015.

The major marketers import close to 60 per cent of petrol consumed in the country while the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation imports the balance.

Our correspondents observed on Sunday that the states hit badly by scarcity of petrol were Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Bayelsa, Ondo, Ekiti, Kaduna, Delta, Plateau, Akwa-Ibom.   Abuja, the nation’s capital, appeared to be the worst hit by the shortage.

The Chairman, Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers, Lagos Zone, Alhaji Tokunbo Korodo, said the depots did not have enough products   to serve filling stations   across the country.

“If there were enough to go round, tanker drivers, of course, would move products to the areas of need. Nigerians should not be surprised that this is happening now. It is really unfortunate,” he said.

In Lagos, many filling stations did not sell petrol but those that were open for business had long queues of motorists to contend with.

Although their pump prices remained N87 per litre, black market operators sold 10 litres for N1,200, i.e N120 per litre.

Drivers of commercial buses capitalised on the situation to increase their fares.     For instance, fare for Ojodu-Berger to Magboro, which hitherto was N50, was   N100 on Sunday.

One motorist told one of our correspondents in Lagos that, “If our fuel finishes now, we will go and queue to get another fuel. Now that we have fuel, passengers would have to pay more until the situation improves.

It was a Herculean task   for motorists in   Sango-Ota, Ijebu Ode and Abeokuta in Ogun State to purchase petrol from the stations.

Although most of the stations sold petrol at the regulated price of N87 per litre, the Oando Filling Station in Ijoko, Ota sold it for N100.

A motorist, who bought from the said station demanded for and was issued a receipt which she forwarded to one of our correspondents.

In Ibadan, Oyo State, one of our correspondents had learnt on Friday that the scarcity was due to unsubstantiated information that petrol price would go down to N65 per litre.

A   manager at one of the   stations in the Mokola area of the city, said   the rumour seemed to be gaining ground and that the marketers were   studying the situation.

He said, “No businessman wants to run at a loss. The product we have now was purchased at the old price. We have not added any price to the stipulated N87 per litre of petrol but the queue is long because many people are not sure of the availability of the product in a few day’s time or why some fuel stations are not selling.

“Those who are not selling must have exhausted their product and are unwilling to buy more at the old price because of the fear that the rumour of a new price of N65 per litre could be true. If we buy today at the current price and government slashes price tomorrow, who pays for the deficit?”

The situation was the same   in Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State on Sunday as many filling stations rationed the product.

A station along Adebayo Road which on Saturday sold the product for only two hours in the evening and did not on Sunday.

Motorists and commercial transport operators   went to the hinterland where petrol sold at a higher price but readily available. The price ranged between N100 and N105 per litre.

The shortage which was noticeable in   Warri, Sapele, Ughelli and other parts of Delta State thinned out on Sunday.

But the pump price of the product remained high in Asaba as motorists   paid between N95 and N100 per litre.

The attendants said the directive to sell at prices higher than   N87   was given by their bosses, who they said claimed to have bought the product at a higher price .

The scarcity in Ondo State which began on Thursday worsened on Sunday.   Petrol also sold   for between N95 and N110 per litre in filling stations that were operational.

Checks by our correspondent in the state showed that most of the stations were still locked .

The Chairman, Independent Marketers Branch, Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers, Ore, Mr. Olakunle Ajulo, attributed the scarcity to the failure of government to pay subsidy claims.

He expressed hope that the matter would soon be resolved as stakeholders were already tackling the issue.

Ajulo blamed the shortage in Ondo and Ekiti states on the fact that the Ore Depot was not functioning.

There was also   scarcity in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State. Apart from a few filling stations and the NNPC mega filling stations, others did not sell the product.

Some motorists   spoken to said it was only the NNPC mega stations that sold petrol   for N87.

A motorist, who gave his name simply as Femi, said he bought a litre for   N90.

The product also sold for between   N110 and N120 per litre in Jos,   Bukuru and its environs in Plateau State.

An attendant at one of the stations, who identified herself as Yeni, said, “We have product, but the manager asked us to lock up the station.”

Many filling stations in Uyo, Akwa Ibom on Sunday were selling petrol at N110 per litre as against N140 to N150 per litre which was prevalent price for a litre of fuel last week.

Motorists and commuters in Kaduna State continued to groan in pain in the wake of fuel scarcity that hit the metropolis and its environs since Friday.

The   Group General Manager, Group Public Affairs Division of the NNPC, Ohi Alegbe, told our correspondent on the telephone that the Federal Government had injected fresh 680 million litres of petrol to boost the product supply base.

He said the effect of the injection which was done at   the weekend would be felt from Monday(today).

He advised Nigerians to desist from panic buying of petrol because there was no need for such.

Meanwhile, the   Presidential Campaign of the All Progressives Congress has said that the return of queues at filling stations is a confirmation that the policies of the Goodluck Jonathan administration are founded on deceit and insincerity.

According to the APC campaign, it is now evident that the recent reduction in cost of petrol   was borne out of political expediency, rather than compassion.

It also condemned the poor electricity supply across the country by power firms, describing it as a sad reminder of the failure of the PDP-led Federal Government.

The group, in a statement by its Director of Media and Publicity,   Mallam Garba Shehu,   wondered how a political party which has been in power for 16 years, could still feel confident to seek another term in office.

The statement partly read,“The issue is that being unable to set up even one new refinery in the past five years and unable to get existing refineries to function up to 50 per cent capacity, the people of Nigeria surely need another set of people to be in charge of affairs.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 2-03-2015 06:36 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- frank1234 at 2-03-2015 06:59 AM (9 years ago)
Wahala dey ooo.God save ur children
Posted: at 2-03-2015 06:59 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- hakeemkind at 2-03-2015 07:51 AM (9 years ago)
Abeg find me origin make I drink  becos dollars dey go N300
Posted: at 2-03-2015 07:51 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Larry28 at 2-03-2015 08:10 AM (9 years ago)
Same shit everywhere..
Posted: at 2-03-2015 08:10 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 2-03-2015 08:24 AM (9 years ago)
Haba
Posted: at 2-03-2015 08:24 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Abubu86 at 2-03-2015 08:34 AM (9 years ago)
That's d price we pay after receiving greek(N97-N87) gift 4rm Mr Zoologist
Posted: at 2-03-2015 08:34 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 2-03-2015 08:40 AM (9 years ago)
We must not continue 2 be living in dis bondage Nigerians. I wonder what another four years will be under dis clueless, vision less administration of PDP. That's why most of d right thinking Nigerians are striving 4 change,so dat we can compare and contrast between both party
Posted: at 2-03-2015 08:40 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dafemoclassi at 2-03-2015 08:50 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Abubu86 on  2-03-2015 08:40 AM
We must not continue 2 be living in dis bondage Nigerians. I wonder what another four years will be under dis clueless, vision less administration of PDP. That's why most of d right thinking Nigerians are striving 4 change,so dat we can compare and contrast between both party
NIGERIANS SUPPOSED TO USE THIS CHANCE TO CLAMOR FOR CHANGE..MARCH 28 IS AROUND THE CORNER?
JONATHAN & PDP HAS NOTHING TO OFFER AGAIN AFTER 16 YEARS OF WASTEFUL GOVERNMENT ?
WE MUST VOTE WISELY NOW...OTHERWISE NIGERIA WILL REMAIN IN BONDAGE FOR YEARS TO COME ?
Posted: at 2-03-2015 08:50 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- victorstic1 at 2-03-2015 08:59 AM (9 years ago)
FISRT LADY HAS SAID U GUYS SHOULD NOT EXPECT ANY CHANGE IF JONA IS VOTED IN AM SURE FOOLS WILL NEVER GET THE MESSAGE
Posted: at 2-03-2015 08:59 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dafemoclassi at 2-03-2015 09:51 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: victorstic1 on  2-03-2015 08:59 AM
FISRT LADY HAS SAID U GUYS SHOULD NOT EXPECT ANY CHANGE IF JONA IS VOTED IN AM SURE FOOLS WILL NEVER GET THE MESSAGE
U SAID IT ALL...NOTHING GOOD FROM PDP AGAIN ( EXPIRED PARTY )
Posted: at 2-03-2015 09:51 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 2-03-2015 10:38 AM (9 years ago)
nawoo
Posted: at 2-03-2015 10:38 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- eoadex2003 at 2-03-2015 11:43 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Abubu86 on  2-03-2015 08:40 AM
Posted: at 2-03-2015 11:43 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 2-03-2015 12:07 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 2-03-2015 12:07 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- makavalipac at 2-03-2015 07:03 PM (9 years ago)
WHY ARE U PPL COMPLAINING HOPE U WANT 1 NIGERIA? U FOOLS THAT IS CALLING APC CHANGE U CANT DECIEVE OTHERS BUT UR SELVES ALONE BECAUSE WISE PPL KNOWS THAT IF AFTER 45YRS OF CIVIL WAR IN NIGERIA IS STILL MOVING THIS WAY THEN WHY CAN ALL OF U SUPPORT DISINTEGRATION ONCE AND FOR ALL;; THIS MANAGEMENT UNITY CAN NEVER HELP; LOOK AT A COUNTRY THAT IS BLESSED WITH CRUDE OIL IS IMPORTING FUEL FROM OTHER COUNTRIES WHO CAUSED IT? HAVE U FOOLS ASKED  OBJ ; ATIKU;BUHARI; TINUBU ARE THE CHANGE U PPL WANT; IM VERY SRY FOR U PPL; MANY COUNTRIES ARROUND THE WORLD THAT HAS NO OIL NEVER SURFER OVER FUEL LIKE NIGERIA SHAME ON U ALL; THAT STILL SUPPORT CONTINUITY OF THIS FAKE BIG FOR NOTING ENTITHY;;;; NIGERIA WILL NEVER GET BETTER  BELIEVE IT OR NOT Grin
Posted: at 2-03-2015 07:03 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

3. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

4. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

5. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

6. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

9. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

10. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake