EXCLUSIVE: ICC To Investigate Patience Jonathan

Date: 16-03-2015 9:16 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 16-03-2015 09:16 PM (9 years ago)

The International Criminal Court (ICC) on Monday confirmed receiving correspondence from the All Progressives Congress (APC), against Patience Jonathan, the Nigerian first lady. TheCable had written to the Office of the Prosecutor (OTP) seeking clarification on reports that the court had formally received a petition against the first lady from APC. The response was that communication was received from APC and the petition would be given the necessary considerations within the ambits of the the law. “Under Article 15 of the Rome Statute, the Prosecutor of the ICC may receive information on crimes within the jurisdiction on the Court (also called ‘communications’),” OTP said. “With regards to your enquiry, the Office of the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court can confirm receipt of the communication referred to since the sender of the communication has made this fact public in the media.

” Earlier on Monday, the United Kingdom arm of the APC claimed that the criminal court said it would begin investigating the wife of the president.

“The ICC based in the Hague has sent confirmation to APC UK, that an investigation will begin against Mrs Jonathan who repeatedly called for the stoning of opposition APC members as captured in the videos released earlier this month,” it said. “The criminal case investigation ICC reference number is: OTP-CR-83/15.” The OTP also told TheCable that it would consider the stance of the APC and treat the allegations as appropriate.

“The Office will give consideration to this communication, as appropriate, in accordance with the provisions of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court, as it does with all such communications.” In order to ensure a violence-free election, political parties signed a peace accord in January, promising to desist from all acts of violence, hate and inciting speeches. The APC however filed a complaint before the ICC against Mrs. Jonathan for her inciting speeches, having told Nigerians at a campaign in Cross River to stone anyone who comes to the state to preach “change” – the mantra of the APC. Fatou Bensouda, prosecutor of the International Criminal Court, released a statement on Monday threatening anyone fuelling violence ahead of the election would be prosecuted.

“Any person who incites or engages in acts of violence in the context of the upcoming elections or otherwise – including by ordering, inciting, encouraging or contributing to the commission of crimes that fall within ICC’s jurisdiction – is liable to prosecution; either by Nigerian Courts or by the ICC,” the statement read. “No one should doubt my office’s resolve to prosecute individuals responsible for the commission of ICC crimes, whenever necessary.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 16-03-2015 09:16 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- maxzy277 at 16-03-2015 09:27 PM (9 years ago)
Ok o, Mama Peace I hope you hear them Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-03-2015 09:27 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- thierry1 at 16-03-2015 09:32 PM (9 years ago)
Stupid ACP people, why would white men won't continue to fool Africans...... They seat on their own you bring matter wey no concern them to then? So is you people that want to change Nigeria APC animals? If by mistake This Useless hopeless party called APC win this presidential election, I swear by everything that I am going to change my Nationlity........ Firstly this country has already gave me lot of setback in life and if it's to be entrust againg into the hand of wrong party and wrong leader I rather change my nationality....... If anyone should answer case at ICC, sorry it's BUHARI.
Posted: at 16-03-2015 09:32 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Gold777 at 16-03-2015 09:41 PM (9 years ago)
@thierry1 u have spoken d mind of elders but why will a good thinkin man/woman believe in dis so called change apc is using to sweet mouth dem... people still dey think low oh
Posted: at 16-03-2015 09:41 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso112 at 16-03-2015 09:42 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: thierry1 on 16-03-2015 09:32 PM
Stupid ACP people, why would white men won't continue to fool Africans...... They seat on their own you bring matter wey no concern them to then? So is you people that want to change Nigeria APC animals? If by mistake This Useless hopeless party called APC win this presidential election, I swear by everything that I am going to change my Nationlity........ Firstly this country has already gave me lot of setback in life and if it's to be entrust againg into the hand of wrong party and wrong leader I rather change my nationality....... If anyone should answer case at ICC, sorry it's BUHARI.

Instead of changing your nationality, why don't you move to MARS....!!!
Posted: at 16-03-2015 09:42 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 16-03-2015 09:45 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 16-03-2015 09:45 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yeksal at 16-03-2015 09:50 PM (9 years ago)
@ Thierry b prepared to go on exile along bode judge. if dis country as failed u in many ways and u still entrust ur  success into d hand of jona, I am really sorry for u.
Posted: at 16-03-2015 09:50 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- koboko1 at 16-03-2015 09:59 PM (9 years ago)
They no get work at all, the investigation should start from their candidate Buhari, who ordered his supporters to kill opposition in 2011 and his supporters later executed his order
Posted: at 16-03-2015 09:59 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- blakman1 at 16-03-2015 10:04 PM (9 years ago)
Who cares if you change ur nationality.your father, go to hell
Posted: at 16-03-2015 10:04 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- thierry1 at 16-03-2015 10:13 PM (9 years ago)
All Nigeria past leaders had failed 99.9%of it citizen..... This is not Jona problem alone, it cacus issues and it's only it's only illiterate and uncivilized people will only believe that the country which this not change for better after 50 something plus years of independent will suddenly expirence change within just 4 years in power...... Nothing call this change, I can belt it with anyone who ready to put is life down...... Bible said my people
Die for lack of wisdom...... I know & have enough knowledge of what I am saying bcos I live in advance nation for a while and have visited all continent of the world.... Who believe should believe who do not want should do opposite but truth always bitter
Posted: at 16-03-2015 10:13 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- thierry1 at 16-03-2015 10:19 PM (9 years ago)
All Nigeria past leaders had failed 99.9%of it citizen..... This is not Jona problem alone, it's cacus issues and it's only an illiterate with uncivilized people will only believe that the country which the not change for better after 50 something plus years of independent will suddenly expirence change within just 4 years in power...... Nothing call this change, I can belt it with anyone who ready to put is life down...... Bible said my people
Die for lack of wisdom...... I know & have enough knowledge of what I am saying bcos I live in advance nation for a while and have visited all continent of the world.... Who believe should believe who do not want should do opposite but truth always bitter
Posted: at 16-03-2015 10:19 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- cosmaker at 16-03-2015 10:24 PM (9 years ago)
APC should start with their man BUHAHAHARI who promised Nigerians ungovernable regime after Goodluck Jonathan has won 2011 election + 2015 bloodshed
Posted: at 16-03-2015 10:24 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- holluomo at 16-03-2015 11:59 PM (9 years ago)
Sometimes I wonder how 'GO-SLOW PURE WATER SELLERS' are allow to make comments of this platform.....Really pathetic. ((Ridiculous)). E.g. @thierry1. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 16-03-2015 11:59 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- kelemann at 17-03-2015 12:02 AM (9 years ago)
Desperate Apc at their best again. This is clear case of low self esteem to take the First Lady to icc. They think Oyibo will solve parochial problem for them. Colonial mentality never leave Apc. Shame on dem.
Posted: at 17-03-2015 12:02 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 17-03-2015 12:06 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes ::
Posted: at 17-03-2015 12:06 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- odudunwa at 17-03-2015 01:04 AM (9 years ago)
If  na to report ppl to ICC. It means that APC no get candidate.
Posted: at 17-03-2015 01:04 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- innocentbola at 17-03-2015 02:41 AM (9 years ago)

AND IF BUHARI TRULY WINS THE ELECTION AND YET YOU REFUSED TO CHANGE YOUR NATIONALITY AS YOU CLAIMED THEN I SAY TO YOU, YOU ARE A BASTARD TO YOUR PARENT AND TO THIS NATION AS A WHOLE. NOTE: MY WORDS ARE IN A EFFECT UNTIL AFTER MARCH 28!
Posted: at 17-03-2015 02:41 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EmekaBlue at 17-03-2015 03:29 AM (9 years ago)
formality bcoz of filed report...nothin them go do am....no b democrazy..she get right to yarn dust
Posted: at 17-03-2015 03:29 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chimak at 17-03-2015 06:02 AM (9 years ago)
TIME WILL TELL THE SAME SO CALLED FIRST LADY WAS ON COMMA 6DAYS AND PRONOUNCED AND WAS ABROAD FOR 3MONTHS AND HER HUSBAND WAS SILENT ABOUT IT AND IT WAS TAX PAYERS MONEY SPENT ON HER IN 2013 YET SHE HAS THE GUT TALK TRASH ABOUT PEOPLES HEALTH CONDITION
BUT GOD DEYOOOOOO
Posted: at 17-03-2015 06:02 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- paulsmit at 17-03-2015 06:46 AM (9 years ago)

You are just talking nonsense. The extreme case of corruptions from my Jonathan is setting back and will continue to set you back until you learn and and choose the right person with moral and discipline to rule the Country and curve the corruptions.
Posted: at 17-03-2015 06:46 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming