Lagos Palace Clarifies Alleged Statement Of Oba Akinolu On Igbos In Lagos

Date: 06-04-2015 5:55 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 6-04-2015 05:55 PM (9 years ago)

A press statement from the palace;

My attention has been drawn to a publication in a national newspaper where HRM Oba Riliwanu Akinolu was alleged to have threatened Igbos in Lagos to make them vote for Ambode.

Last Sunday, all honorary Eze Ndigbos in Lagos paid a courtesy call to HRM Oba Akinolu. At the meeting the visitors praised the Oba for his fatherly support for and cooperation with Igbos in. Lagos. They assured him of their continued good neighborliness with other tribes in Lagos and support everything that’ll further strengthen that harmony.

Oba Akiolu on his part acknowledged the enviable performance of Governor Fashola and his contribution to the growth of investments in Lagos. He gave the assurance that he is not disturbed or angry with South-East and South- South votes for President Jonathan as perceived by the Eze Ndigbos. The Obas thereafter called on the Igbos chiefs to show appreciation to Lagos State by supporting his candidate Mr. Ambode for continuity of excellence as they have earlier promised.

He assured them of his continued support‎ and assistance where needed and the meeting ended with the traditional breaking of kolas, alligator pepper, and bitter kola and pouring of liberation on the ground. It was within this context that that the tradition of Lagos with regard to the lagoon came up. It was noted that whoever works against the throne and the interest and peaceful co-existence of Lagos would end up in the lagoon as per tradition.

2. Oba Akiolu stated further that the Igbo people have not betrayed the throne. Lagos has also not betrayed the Igbo people. Lagos has done so much to make the Igbos comfortable and to prosper. For this, we expect reciprocal respect and understanding. The Oba of Lagos prays that the Lagoon and the throne will continue to bless and protect all those who reside and visit Lagos.

3. Oba Akiolu is the father of all irrespective of tribe, religion or political persuasion. In Lagos, we have an old traditional proverb that relates to the Lagoon. The Lagoon is unique to Lagos. The proverb stresses the need for unity and understanding when you do business in an environment and in this case when you live and do business in Lagos.

Oba Akiolu prays for peace for the land of Lagos and prosperity for all its inhabitants.

Signed: Chief Lateef Aderibigbe Ajose, Opeluwa of Lagos

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 6-04-2015 05:55 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- deboalabi262 at 6-04-2015 06:01 PM (9 years ago)
Yes oooo, When you are in Rome -do like the Romans...... Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 6-04-2015 06:01 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 6-04-2015 06:02 PM (9 years ago)
Okay
Posted: at 6-04-2015 06:02 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 6-04-2015 07:03 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 6-04-2015 07:03 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareper at 6-04-2015 07:06 PM (9 years ago)
And he will loose for sure
Posted: at 6-04-2015 07:06 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- TammyA at 6-04-2015 07:52 PM (9 years ago)
Oba Akiolu spoke well, no excuses I beg..
Posted: at 6-04-2015 07:52 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- proly at 6-04-2015 07:53 PM (9 years ago)
Dat oba is a useless nd foolish man
Posted: at 6-04-2015 07:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dollypiper at 6-04-2015 09:25 PM (9 years ago)
Nawa ooo.... When Asari was threatening to finish Nigeria and to destroy Yoruba and Hausa land, was it not this same Igbo that was behind him?, at that time did they see anything wrong with his speech ? Other tribes should know by now that there's nothing you can do to please an Igbo man even if you cut off your head ...hated and discrimination is in built for them, Igbo is the most tribalistic and arrogant set of people on planet earth, they believe they are better than everyone else,  if you don't like the way lagosians  want to run their land, why don't you just pack up and leave kawai ....If you could have supported Asari with his threats, then who the hell are you to call out the Oba. bunch of Hypocrites
Posted: at 6-04-2015 09:25 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- koboko1 at 6-04-2015 10:14 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dollypiper on  6-04-2015 09:25 PM
Nawa ooo.... When Asari was threatening to finish Nigeria and to destroy Yoruba and Hausa land, was it not this same Igbo that was behind him?, at that time did they see anything wrong with his speech ? Other tribes should know by now that there's nothing you can do to please an Igbo man even if you cut off your head ...hated and discrimination is in built for them, Igbo is the most tribalistic and arrogant set of people on planet earth, they believe they are better than everyone else,  if you don't like the way lagosians  want to run their land, why don't you just pack up and leave kawai ....If you could have supported Asari with his threats, then who the hell are you to call out the Oba. bunch of Hypocrites
you need a serious medical attention to re evaluate your sense of reasoning.
Posted: at 6-04-2015 10:14 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dollypiper at 6-04-2015 10:28 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: koboko1 on  6-04-2015 10:14 PM
You are a buffoon...
Posted: at 6-04-2015 10:28 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kelemann at 6-04-2015 11:07 PM (9 years ago)
I watched the oba on channels tv, the man did not speak like reasonable and responsible man by saying that if they vote against his candidate they perish in the lagoon. Even Goodluck spoke hers Apc threatened her now let's see wat apc will say. Desperadoes
Posted: at 6-04-2015 11:07 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chealseafc at 6-04-2015 11:42 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dollypiper on  6-04-2015 09:25 PM

you have convinced everyone that you reason from your ANUS.
Posted: at 6-04-2015 11:42 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollypiper at 6-04-2015 11:59 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: chealseafc on  6-04-2015 11:42 PM

you have convinced everyone that you reason from your ANUS.
Lol is that all you gat? ... Miserable twat, try again
Posted: at 6-04-2015 11:59 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 7-04-2015 12:09 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: koboko1 on  6-04-2015 10:14 PM
I tinks you are the one that need serious medical attention to repair ur "CRACK BRAIN ". And I tink you will need serious beating to calibrate ur dead brain to see and sensed  that she got a  reason ........

She is saying the fact and the truth here ...... Read and glance tru very to know wot she is saying ...........before uttering irrevocably........
Posted: at 7-04-2015 12:09 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 7-04-2015 12:17 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on  6-04-2015 07:06 PM
And he will loose for sure

He will loose ..... Are the INEC resident officer .......

Let wait and see till April 12 .........

Don't go and face ur bag and socks business come here they talk abt politics ........
Posted: at 7-04-2015 12:17 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ouch1212 at 7-04-2015 01:11 AM (9 years ago)
So much hatred and bitterness. One is nt even safe again in our father's land. If u guys have d opportunity, u will kill urselves. SMH
Posted: at 7-04-2015 01:11 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ouch1212 at 7-04-2015 01:12 AM (9 years ago)
Let there be love shared among us. United we stand and divided we fall.
Posted: at 7-04-2015 01:12 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dennis_005 at 7-04-2015 02:55 AM (9 years ago)
If you vote for PDP in lagos you will perish in lagoon sikena haters of yorubas Go and hugs transformer with speed
Posted: at 7-04-2015 02:55 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 7-04-2015 07:11 AM (9 years ago)
 Grin (ftp://;D)
Posted: at 7-04-2015 07:11 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- mar1109 at 7-04-2015 09:50 AM (9 years ago)
Fellow Nigerians, let us not forget that all power belongs to God.  God can decide to take anybody's life today.  Do not brag, fight or insult one another because we are all still alive  due to the LOVE AND MERCY OF GOD and not tribe.  Please, let us build a better Nigeria to surprise the world that is watching and waiting for Nigeria to crumble.  PEACE.
Posted: at 7-04-2015 09:50 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie