6,000 Nigerians Will Lose Their Jobs If We Are Attacked - MTN NG Warns Nigerians

Date: 21-04-2015 6:25 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 21-04-2015 06:25 AM (9 years ago)

Hours after two groups protested in its Abuja and Benin offices against the violent killing of foreigners in its home country, South Africa, MTN Nigeria on Monday warned that should there be attacks on its facilities, it might be forced to close shop. And 99 per cent of its over 6,000 workforce in the country, who are Nigerians, would be thrown into the labour market.

According to the Corporate Service Executive, MTN Nigeria, Mr. Wale Goodluck, there are only 12 expatriates working for the company in the country, compared to a workforce of 6,000 Nigerians. It also said that calls for the boycott of its services were unjustified as such an action would affect its
support chain, which could cause another 500,000 Nigerians to lose their means of livelihood.

Punch reports that Goodluck said:
“So, if people go ahead with their threats to attack our facilities, what that means is that we may be forced to close down the business in Nigeria and about 6,000 Nigerians that make up 99 per cent of our workforce will be unemployed.
Then, when you look at our support chain, we have about 500,000 Nigerians gainfully employed. So, boycotting our services simply means destroying so many other Nigerian businesses and making over 500,000 other Nigerians to lose their jobs.
This business supports a lot of businesses across the length and breadth of Nigeria. Many of the businesses that are affiliated to South Africa are in the retail space, supporting the growth of Nigeria and employing so many Nigerians.”

He noted that the company had spent in excess of $15bn on capital expenditure growing the telecommunications business in Nigeria.
“We see no revenge of Xenophobia and we commend the role the Nigerian High Commissioner in South Africa has played; at least there has been no fatality on the part of any Nigerian,” Goodluck added.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 21-04-2015 06:25 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Wysetots at 21-04-2015 06:42 AM (9 years ago)
True talk
Posted: at 21-04-2015 06:42 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 21-04-2015 07:09 AM (9 years ago)
Ban their students from studying in OUR universities. At the height of apartheid Nigeria took black SA students (who were denied admission in SA Because they were BLACK) studied and earmed their degrees in Nigeria.

Its stupid that they are killing their FELLOW black men and women The settlers (whites) who STOLE the land from the black SA's must be LAUGHING at what is happening!

You appear to be ONLY SAFE in SA if you are not black. Mozambique did loads of good work for the black SA's and now they are being killef.

Up until today BLACK South Africans are STILL afraid of WHITE PEOPLE. Shame on them.

NELSON MANDELA WILL BE CRYING IN HIS GRAVE!!!
Posted: at 21-04-2015 07:09 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- seundavid88 at 21-04-2015 07:13 AM (9 years ago)
is it not better to live than to die?
if Mtn in nija close down the nija workers will get another job, it's only a matter of time. to protect our own people, let Mtn close down in Nigeria.
Posted: at 21-04-2015 07:13 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- shalomvic at 21-04-2015 07:39 AM (9 years ago)
Idiots, y didn't u pple talk about the losses u will also incure by closing down. Can u make d kind of profit u make here in Nigeria in southafrica ? Who are u fooling
Posted: at 21-04-2015 07:39 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- waleagali at 21-04-2015 07:52 AM (9 years ago)
I feel like strangling that man that made this comments. Is he trying to threaten us the more?
Posted: at 21-04-2015 07:52 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- odegbalegu at 21-04-2015 08:23 AM (9 years ago)
forgiveness is better than retaliation.
Posted: at 21-04-2015 08:23 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 21-04-2015 08:24 AM (9 years ago)
See threat. Have they ever talk about the losses they will encounter if they are forced to close down?
Posted: at 21-04-2015 08:24 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 21-04-2015 08:55 AM (9 years ago)
stupid clown, empty threats, if u close down ur shops, we go enter village go dey farm, Afterall u met us farming, useless sets of people
Posted: at 21-04-2015 08:55 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ken1230 at 21-04-2015 10:37 AM (9 years ago)
Story for the gods of black South African slaves. Who cares if you close shop? Your threat cannot work because we are ready for all South African business in Nigeria.
Posted: at 21-04-2015 10:37 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bankadetoun at 21-04-2015 10:48 AM (9 years ago)
They should please find something to do about what is happening overthere to secure our people.
Posted: at 21-04-2015 10:48 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malamy at 21-04-2015 10:49 AM (9 years ago)
Which kind talk be dis?
Posted: at 21-04-2015 10:49 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Deepsea81 at 21-04-2015 11:09 AM (9 years ago)
Menaing SA are cowards towards the white and brave only when they see a black man. MTN should go another investor will take over in no time and those people will be fully employed again in no time. sacrifices must be made man shall not live by bread alone. the reason Nigeria is not getting anywhere no one wants to sacrifices.
Posted: at 21-04-2015 11:09 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- k4short2 at 21-04-2015 11:48 AM (9 years ago)
foolishness in the highest order, you are busy talking of jobs instead of our beloved Nigerian lives.. idiots.... shut down DSTV, N MTN etc
Posted: at 21-04-2015 11:48 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 21-04-2015 12:34 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 21-04-2015 12:34 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jasperjahsy at 21-04-2015 01:19 PM (9 years ago)
somebody should tell Mr wale goodluck that even before now that MTN doesn't have up to 6000 Nigerian workers here. no matter they've sold all there properties here in Nigeria they still make a lot of money here. Mr wale goodluck can u prove the 6000 you mentioned?
Posted: at 21-04-2015 01:19 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- DrSoba at 21-04-2015 01:24 PM (9 years ago)
Bullshit tal.  If  6, 000 Nigerians looses their jobs, (if there will still be MTNl),  there be 6, 000 Nigerians working there after.  Except MTN is closed down but they can not because they make more money in Nigeria than anywhere in the world.
Posted: at 21-04-2015 01:24 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- luckingto50 at 21-04-2015 02:27 PM (9 years ago)
Empty threat. If u want to pack, pls do another investor will come and manage it.
Posted: at 21-04-2015 02:27 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mubaji at 21-04-2015 03:00 PM (9 years ago)
God, please take control.
Posted: at 21-04-2015 03:00 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 21-04-2015 03:31 PM (9 years ago)
wetin concern me....AttackKkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 21-04-2015 03:31 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. Edo Police Arrest 2 Women, 3 Girls Who Stripped Lady N@ked In Viral Video Over Alleged Phone

2. Embattled Rapper, Drake Gives Conditions For Quitting His Music Career

3. BIG 3 BEEF: Terry G Crowns Wizkid The Undisputed King Of Afrobeats

4. Chad Holds Presidential Election After 3 Years Of Military Rule

5. 'Burna Boy Approaches Music Bizz With Sense Of Order Despite Alleged Crazy Nature' – Baba Fryo

6. PIC: Aspiring Doctor Left Brain Dead After Friends Pushed Him Into Lake Knowing He Can't Swim

7. Five Kidnappers Who Reportedly Slept Off After Operation In Ondo Arrested

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

5. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

6. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

7. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

8. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

9. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)