Wow! Igbos Voted Based On Their Stomach - Wole Soyinka (Page 3)

Date: 05-05-2015 8:00 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 2 [3] 4
- 24magic at 6-05-2015 09:42 AM (8 years ago)
ANUOFIA TALKING. CULTIST
Posted: at 6-05-2015 09:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chiangel at 6-05-2015 09:52 AM (8 years ago)
Prof Wole, I'm so disappointed in you for disgracing your grey hairs in the public like this. You will really be sorry for that tag on the Igbos. There's need to call you to order, papa because you have joined to compound Nigerian's problems
Posted: at 6-05-2015 09:52 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- makedemtalk at 6-05-2015 10:06 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: benbella1 on  6-05-2015 08:59 AM
you are misinformed brother, we are not short sighted after all my fathers saw the present nigeria 48yrs ago and even wanted secession but the nigerian state wouldn't let us go. we voted for our conscience & damned whatever consequences it might bring, we are not as treacherous as the other tribe that is hausa/fulani gambari slaves. They get hurt whenever lagos is referred to as no man's land but fulani migrants collected their land in kwara state and even installed an emir. Igbos are their nightmares so let them deal with it. nigeria need us more than we need her.
READ YOUR HISTORY WELL,KWARA STATE BELONGS TO THE HAUSA'S,BUT IT SHOWS HOW THE YORUBA KINGDOM IS POWERFUL TO CONQUER THE LAND,BUT ALLOW THE FEW HAUSA'S TO LIVE THEIR LIVES SIMPLE.....SO MORON LOOK THE MAP BEFORE YOU TALK,KWARA CAN BE CALL NO MANS LAND,NOT LAGOS COS IT'S NOT BESIDE ANAMBRA OF ABIA....SO YOU GUYS SHOULD KEEP OFF.......
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:06 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- makedemtalk at 6-05-2015 10:15 AM (8 years ago)
BABA RIDE ON,TELL THEM THE REALITY. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin...WOW NAIJA PALS IS FILLED WITH IGBO'S TOOTHLESS DOG..BAU,BAU,BAU,BAU Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin..YOU WILL KNOW THEM BY THEIR ACTION  Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:15 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- makedemtalk at 6-05-2015 10:17 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Abubu86 on  6-05-2015 09:05 AM
Well said truth.   Just that it is bitter

A  B....NASO IT'S JUST BITTER FOR THEM TO DIGEST,BUT THE MORE THEY BARK,THE MORE IT DIGEST.LEAVE THEM TO BARK BAU,BAU,BAU  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:17 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dennis_005 at 6-05-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: freethinker on  5-05-2015 10:40 PM
ELDER STATE FOOL
SOYINKA IS A BIG FOOL
NO MATTER HOW EDUCATED A YORUBA CAN BE, HE WILL STILL BEHAVE LIKE A FOOL
Soyinka. You right baba they are like goat, money ritual people
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 6-05-2015 10:35 AM (8 years ago)
Bad to hear
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:35 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- benbella1 at 6-05-2015 10:54 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: makedemtalk on  6-05-2015 10:06 AM
READ YOUR HISTORY WELL,KWARA STATE BELONGS TO THE HAUSA'S,BUT IT SHOWS HOW THE YORUBA KINGDOM IS POWERFUL TO CONQUER THE LAND,BUT ALLOW THE FEW HAUSA'S TO LIVE THEIR LIVES SIMPLE.....SO MORON LOOK THE MAP BEFORE YOU TALK,KWARA CAN BE CALL NO MANS LAND,NOT LAGOS COS IT'S NOT BESIDE ANAMBRA OF ABIA....SO YOU GUYS SHOULD KEEP OFF.......
you people are so inferior & daft, so ilorin belong to hausa e kwa? igbophobia beclouded your fathers' sense of reasoning so i'm not surprised @your ignorance.
stop spreading lies & face reality for once, I know so many yariba people who could not even identify their origin obviously you are not exceptional.
afonja invited alimi a fulani scholar to learn of his powers, abdusalam, the son of alimi betrayed afonja. some yariba people even consider afonja's betrayal a punishment of some sort for going against tradition. afonja fought with alimi to defeat solagberu. after alimi died, abdusalam invited the jihadist's flag from sokoto and served under the emirate of gwandu. that was how afonja was betrayed and lost control of ilorin, this account is supported by both samuel johnson and professor akinjogbin. u see, u don't even know your true identity. poor u...
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:54 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- sonitex at 6-05-2015 11:08 AM (8 years ago)
GOD will punish this evil  man called soyinka
Posted: at 6-05-2015 11:08 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- ePeterJames at 6-05-2015 12:02 PM (8 years ago)
stupid fool
Posted: at 6-05-2015 12:02 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- jjiofor at 6-05-2015 12:03 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: james alade anthony on  6-05-2015 08:40 AM
AM NOT FROM ANY OF THOSE TRIBES THOUGH, BUT I THINK IS NOT WISE FOR A WELL KNOWN AND RESPECTED MAN LIKE PROF. WOLE SOYINKA TO SUCH SUCH A STATEMENT. HE SHOULD ALWAYS SIT ON THE FENCE IN TRYING TO COMMENT OR ANALYZE A CRITICAL CASE ESPECIALLY THAT CONCERNED A WHOLE TRIBE OF NATION AS OF THIS. HE SHOULD BE MORE POLITE AND ACT MATURE WHEN TRYING TO DRIVE OUT HIS OPINION. THE STATEMENT MADE IS HIGHLY CONDEMNABLE AND DOESN'T HIS STATESMANSHIP OR LITERACY AS WE WERE TAUGHT IN SCHOOL AND KNOW ABOUT THE PROF
LONG LIVE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF NIGERIA

Wole Soyinka again, this man was well respected at a time but I wonder seriously now, people at his level are supposed to stay out of Politics and weigh what they utter because they are meant to be authorities of a sort. Because Jonathan respectfully conceeded defeat means that everyone who voted Jonathan should be insulted abi.
Some Yorubas supported Jonathan, some hausas supported Jonathan and some of South-South and South East supported Jonathan. If you say the Igbos voted for their stomach I want you to tell Nigerians how many Igbo stomachs benefitted from Jonathan in comparism to North, South West and South South, We are talking of democracy where everyone is free to vote who he chooses, so if Igbos voted Jonathan it makes them greedy.
How many of the know criminals that have looted Nigeria since independence both in government and civil service are Igbos? Are Igbos the only armed robbers or drug pushers or ritual killers that are found in Nigeria? Did Kidnapping originate from Igbo Land or are all the kidnappers in this country Igbos? Wole Soyinka is supposed to be a Nationalist but I am very sorry to say that he is the one fighting for his stomach right now, he has been romancing with Amechi for a long time because of money and he is extending it instead of condemming the corruption among these people. FOLKS PLEASE DO NOT BE SURPRISED THAT WOLE SOYINKA IS LOOKING FOR CHEAP APPOINTMENT AND CHEAP MONEY, JUST LIKE THE OBA OF LAGOS HE WANTS TO IDENTIFY WITH THE WINNER BY ALL MEANS SO HE CAN BENEFIT, EVEN OBASANJO THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE AN ELDER STATESMAN SEE THE BEHAVIOUR HE IS EXHIBITING ----------- I HAVE NEVER SEEN CAMELIONS LIKE THIS B4 - MAY GOD HELP NIGERIA.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 12:03 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Deepsea81 at 6-05-2015 12:56 PM (8 years ago)
I AM NOT AN IGBO TO START BUT THIS RASCAL FATHER OF CULTIST THAT HAS KILLED MANY THIS MAN WOLE SOYINKA IS AN ELDER STATE FOOL AS AN ELDER STATE MAN, HE SUPPOSE TO THINK BEFORE HE TALK, BUT NO NO MATTER HOW EDUCATED A YORUBA MAN CAN BE, HE WILL STILL BEHAVE LIKE A FOOL. INSTEAD OF FEELING REGRETFUL FOR THE MENACE CALLED CULTISM HE CREATED AND BE ASHAMED HE IS STILL OPENING THAT STUPID HOLE IN THAT BRAINLESS HEAD. COMMON CULTIST AND A THIEF BECAUSE THE BOYS DEFINITLY STEAL AND GIVE TO THEIR GODFATHER. NO LEVEL BASTARD 
Posted: at 6-05-2015 12:56 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- 10shun at 6-05-2015 12:57 PM (8 years ago)
this guy is right so i don't blame him, but where are the igbo leaders? are they dead? they must be, after selling their pride for food, those fools are the reason this old man is vomiting this trash.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 12:57 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- kenosas at 6-05-2015 01:05 PM (8 years ago)
this is one of the reasons Nigeria and Nigerian can never grow up,1 because of tribalistic sentiment and blunt interference among the people of Nigeria, which are the mainly the WA zo BIA.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 01:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sippben at 6-05-2015 01:39 PM (8 years ago)
YOU ARE A FOOL OF THE HIGHEST ORDER. THEN TELL US WHAT THE YORUBAS VOTED FOR...
Posted: at 6-05-2015 01:39 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Sippben at 6-05-2015 01:41 PM (8 years ago)
ALSO TELL US WHAT THE HAUSA VOTED FOR IF NOT THEIR BORN TO RULE IDEOLOGY....
Posted: at 6-05-2015 01:41 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- spekay at 6-05-2015 02:29 PM (8 years ago)
The man is alive and he has shared his personal opinion. .The  truth hurts at times but the prof had nothing to lose. All those views here are also well respected . We are in a democracy . and Wole Shoyinka is a great writer.  Check his work out .      "The man Died"  who keeps silent  in the face of tyranny.  The entire world could see something was wrong with the NIgerian leadership  and badly needing change. 

Posted: at 6-05-2015 02:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eric2000 at 6-05-2015 03:12 PM (8 years ago)
wole Soyinka is always on point..the ibos are the only tribe that has been wanting to break out of Nigeria for a long time..I use to think that the thought process of the younger ibos were different.Recents event has proved me wrong.No old Yoruba man will stand up and take any form of tribal decision on behalf of the Yoruba tribe unlike what the ibos do..He will be laughed at by majority of the yorubas..My hope is that with the younger generations of ibos will break away from the bondage of these old biafran obsessed generation and embrace  the country Nigeria.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 03:12 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- shoulerpetres at 6-05-2015 03:16 PM (8 years ago)
DISCLAIMER---THIS IS WHAT THE MAN JUST SAID. READ PM NEWS AND STOP SEEING ONLY WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR- Always try to see beyond your nose, you tribal jingoists. Nobel laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka has said anyone that believes comments attributed to him on the Igbo voting pattern during the last general election must be a moron.
Soyinka was reacting to an online report by The Cable. “I have just read a statement attributed to me on something called The CABLE, a news outlet, evidently one of the Internet infestations.”
“My lecture at the Hutchins Centre, Harvard University, was video recorded. Anyone who believes what I am alleged to have said must be a moron – repeat, a moron,” he emphasized.
“It is demeaning, sickening and boring to have to deal with these cowards who cannot fight their own battles but must fasten their imbecilic pronouncements on others.”
“Only the mentally retarded will credit this comment attributed to me regarding the Ndigbo voting pattern in the last elections.”
“I strongly suspect the author of this despicable concoction, and may make a further statement, once the source is verified,” he said.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 03:16 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- shoulerpetres at 6-05-2015 03:29 PM (8 years ago)
WHERE IS THE ANTI-IGBO SENTIMENT IN THIS SPEECH? MY OVER-ZEALOUS IGBO BROTHERS AND SISTERS, WHO ONLY SEE WHAT THEY ARE LOOKING FOR IN EVERY SPEECH. We must learn to tolerate and respect other tribes. No tribe is better than the other. Success in life as wellas failures has no tribal mark or geographical location. Let's be mindful of our comments. Thank you.

Source: http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html
Published on May 6, 2015 by admin pmnews   ·   No Comments

Nobel Laureate, Professor Wole Soyinka has denied comments attributed to him concerning the voting pattern of the Igbo in the 28 March presidential election.
The report, published by TheCable, alleged that he accused the Igbo of voting according to their “stomachs”.
In his response to the story, Soyinka said in a statement: “I have just read a statement attributed to me on something called The CABLE, a news outlet, evidently one of the Internet infestations. My lecture at the Hutchins Centre, Harvard University, was video recorded.
“Anyone who believes what I am alleged to have said must be a moron – repeat, a moron. It is demeaning, sickening and boring to have to deal with these cowards who cannot fight their own battles but must fasten their imbecilic pronouncements on others.
“Only the mentally retarded will credit this comment attributed to me regarding the Ndigbo voting pattern in the last elections. I strongly suspect the author of this despicable concoction, and may make a further statement, once the source is verified.”
Delivering a lecture titled ‘Predicting Nigeria, Electoral Ironies’ at the Harvard University Hutchins Centre for African & African American Research, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, the revered scholar said the re-election of President Goodluck Jonathan would have been “disastrous”, as Muhammadu Buhari, Nigeria’s president-elect, is better option.
“Muhammadu Buhari was the better of the two evils as the incumbent president Goodluck Jonathan had been an unmitigated disaster and failure,” he said.
“It was a painful decision to tell people to vote Buhari, but the country needed a new beginning. I was more against Jonathan than I was pro-Buhari.
“Nothing is more unworthy of leadership than to degrade a system by which one attains fulfillment, and this is what the nation witnessed time and time again under Jonathan, who was increasingly becoming intolerant of opposition in an escalating streak of impunity and authoritarian madness which was most blatant and unconscionable.
“The ‘militricians’ – soldiers turned politicians in power – aren’t looking for excellence; their civilian cohorts are worse. Short cuts and how to circumvent the system for the profit of a few are the norm of governance. Those who do honest work are derided as lacking the skill to fit in. Ironically, things haven’t quite changed a bit after 16 years of democracy in the country.”
•Prof. Wole Soyinka
He added: “It will not be easy to enthrone democracy as the norm.”
Soyinka who has been labelled the conscience of Nigeria also told the Harvard audience that the ruthless Islamist religious fundamentalism is “the enemy of humanity.”
“We will never get rid of Boko Haram,” Soyinka said, when Hutchins Center’s director, Henry Louis Gates Jr., a former student, longtime friend and colleague of Soyinka asked him to expand on a remark that Boko Haram, and by extension the fundamentalist group ISIS, could create a complete redistribution of power and boundary lines in West Africa.
He described the jihadists who wish to impose Sharia law and ban Western learning across Nigeria as indoctrinated “fanatics who believe that if they die in the cause, they will go straight to heaven,” where they “believe literally in the 77 virgins awaiting their arrival.”
“They do not want to reason — they kill,” said the playwright and poet, urging vigorous international action against Islamist militant groups like Boko Haram, whose campaign of terror in northern Nigeria has included the kidnapping of thousands of women and girls.
“We’ve reached a state where there’s a party of life and a party of death,” he said, and those on the side of life must fight for their belief “as ruthlessly” as the foe they face.
Soyinka, a former political prisoner who became in 1986 the first black African to win the Nobel Prize in literature, spoke in the wake of a historic vote in Nigeria. In a general election at the end of March, opposition candidate Muhammadu Buhari, former military ruler of the country, prevailed over incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan by more than 2.7 million votes.
When Jonathan conceded defeat, it marked the first time an incumbent president had been voted from office via the ballot box in Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, with the continent’s largest economy.
Soyinka, an outspoken campaigner for human rights and Nigeria’s pre-eminent public intellectual, was invited to give his perspective on the political landscape of a nation troubled by a history of military dictatorship, corruption, and civil strife.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 03:29 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 [3] 4