You're a Moron If You Believe I Insulted Igbos - Professor Wole Soyinka

Date: 06-05-2015 1:59 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 6-05-2015 01:59 PM (8 years ago)

Nobel Laureate, Professor Wole Soyinka has denied media reports suggesting that he made derogatory remarks about the Igbo people in a lecture he delivered at Harvard University, US.

Below is his disclaimer:

I have just read a statement attributed to me on something called The Cable, a news outlet, evidently one of the Internet infestations. My lecture at the Hutchins Center, Harvard University, was video recorded. Anyone who believes what I am alleged to have said must be a moron – repeat, a moron.

It is demeaning, sickening and boring to have to deal with these cowards who cannot fight their own battles but must fasten their imbecilic pronouncements on others. Only the mentally retarded will credit this comment attributed to me regarding the Ndigbo voting pattern in the last elections. I strongly suspect the author of this despicable concoction, and may make a further statement, once the source is verified.

Posted: at 6-05-2015 01:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- bankadetoun at 6-05-2015 02:18 PM (8 years ago)
It is well.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 02:18 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 6-05-2015 02:23 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 6-05-2015 02:23 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kelemann at 6-05-2015 02:31 PM (8 years ago)
Mr Soyinka, if what we read on the internet is what you said, my dear you need to appoligise to Igbo people. However if you insist you are right, God will judge you soon for making derogatory statements about your countymen abroad. I dot know what you intend to gain by that. That's what OBJ did immediately after election. It seems this behaviour is unbecomin of your tribe the Yorubas.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 02:31 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 6-05-2015 04:04 PM (8 years ago)

Posted: at 6-05-2015 04:04 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kelemann at 6-05-2015 04:09 PM (8 years ago)
I don't join issues wit people whose heads are not normal. Why call someone who made a comment animal. That shows how you behave and what you do in Qatar. I'm sure you are not a true born Nigerian.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 04:09 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 6-05-2015 04:45 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 6-05-2015 04:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- rolande147 at 6-05-2015 05:06 PM (8 years ago)
wole soyinka is a moron himself...u father of cultist in nigeria what do u have to say ...from a very primitive tribe.  i nor blame u... make him go comot that yeye white  hair wey dey represent white berret base on symbol of the pirate confratainity...

Posted: at 6-05-2015 05:06 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- fearlesspaul at 6-05-2015 05:35 PM (8 years ago)
Mister professor wole soyinka, Every Nigerian regardless of tribe loves money more than life itself. Not only igbos. In fact, all nigerians will go to any length to make money including selling their best friends.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 05:35 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 6-05-2015 06:16 PM (8 years ago)
What ever you like say
Posted: at 6-05-2015 06:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emybobby at 6-05-2015 06:57 PM (8 years ago)
I think every Naija person likes money so much not only Igbos,if not just tell me the reasons why all our Housa and Yoruba leaders are carrying our country money out of the country ,i mean IBB,OBJ and others
Posted: at 6-05-2015 06:57 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- mathzno at 6-05-2015 07:29 PM (8 years ago)
Yorubas vs Igbos reloaded part 2  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Tongue
Posted: at 6-05-2015 07:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mikelu at 6-05-2015 07:44 PM (8 years ago)
@ Alexajay as a yoruba man aboard, I bet you doing fraud, following an old white lady or an illegal immigrate living on false identity. If not show your face instead abusing people here.. In the uk, In every 10 Nigerian criminal  9 is yoruba. That dont mean all yoruba are criminals. So grow up and stop the hate
Posted: at 6-05-2015 07:44 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- mathiasobi at 6-05-2015 08:14 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: alexjay on  6-05-2015 02:39 PM
You are crazy, apologize for what? He's right men Your tribe only knows how to defraud people, do drug business even kidnap. here in QATAR your tribe has tarnished NIGERIA image. What he said is very correct you ANIMAL.

And your tribes men are all popes right?Huh? your mama yansh there...
Posted: at 6-05-2015 08:14 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- adewoye1 at 6-05-2015 08:36 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Paul D on  6-05-2015 05:35 PM
Mister professor wole soyinka, Every Nigerian regardless of tribe loves money more than life itself. Not only igbos. In fact, all nigerians will go to any length to make money including selling their best friends.

What reckless generalization! You are on your own and I think this emphatic pronoucement of yours is a testament of who you are - the worst of the worst who will kill to make money! So the professor is right about your "incurable money-mindedness".
Posted: at 6-05-2015 08:36 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Instead11 at 6-05-2015 09:24 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mathzno on  6-05-2015 07:29 PM
Yorubas vs Igbos reloaded part 2  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Tongue
You are right I'm watching it here too
Posted: at 6-05-2015 09:24 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ndukwe1 at 6-05-2015 10:21 PM (8 years ago)
You are crazy, apologize for what? He's right men Your tribe only knows how to defraud people, do drug business even kidnap. here in QATAR your tribe has tarnished NIGERIA image. What he said is very correct you ANIMAL

You are a fool by your comment.don't count yourself out because all Nigerians like money, your comment show's that you are Illiterate...IDIOT   
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:21 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- temitope15 at 6-05-2015 10:21 PM (8 years ago)
this site is very funny sha
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:21 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- temitope15 at 6-05-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago)

Briefing newsmen in Lagos, the group’s president, Mr. Paschal Okolie, condemned what it described as the poor attitude of the government towards the recent execution of four Nigerians in Indonesia.

His words: ”Considering that the next batch of execution will take place in no distant time in Indonesia, we urge the good people of Nigeria and our government to rise up with the entire world to stop further executions of Nigerians. Enough of the killings. Nigeria should leverage on the strong bilateral relationship it has with Indonesia and negotiate to stop the execution of the eight waiting to be killed. In as much as we totally condemn drug trafficking and wish to sensitise intending traffickers on the consequences that awaits offenders, we also condemn capital punishment especially since it has not been able to quell the issue of drug trafficking in Indonesia.”

Okolie who gave names of those awaiting further execution as, Michael Titus Igwe, Kingsley Okonkwo, Uchenna Onyewuru, Eugene Ape, Hunphery Ejike, Obinna Nwajiagu, Benjamin Onuoha and Ikenna Abanukwu, said, ”Nigerian Embassy in Indonesia is longer concerned with passport renewals than the welfare or security of Nigerians. Those Nigerians killed were not giving fair trial, there is language barrier which made it impossible for them to defend themselves properly, Nigerian embassy did not even send representatives to court to assist them, so they were left at the mercy of Indonesia which was bent on killing them.”

‘’Most times Nigerians are thrown into prisons for more than four months without anyone knowing about it. They are tortured and some even die in the process. The way a country treats her citizens, is a reflection of how the citizens will be treated in foreign lands. Therefore, we feel it is high time our government rose to the occasion to ameliorate the plight of its citizens.’’

“we expected our government to show concern just like other countries whose nationals were involved. The way a government treats its citizens, is a reflection of how the citizens are likely to be treated in foreign lands. Therefore, we feel it is high time our government rose to the occasion to ameliorate the plights of its citizens no matter the circumstance.

We use this opportunity to appeal to the youth, to beware of the kind of friendships they keep as well as activities they engage themselves. One of the reasons there are many young Nigerians in prisons in different countries of the world today, is due to get rich quick syndrome, fast track. But in the end, they lose everything including their lives.”
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- smilingbab at 6-05-2015 10:57 PM (8 years ago)
All dis name calling,insult,nd hate,which of u can boldly say u don't have a friend,relation,boyfriend/girlfriend,aunty/uncle,husband/wife,mother/father that is somehow related 2 d other tribe?how will dis person feel hearing u say all this about his or her tribe?remember if a tribal war were 2 start 2day,we all have sumtin or sum1 to lose,plz let's stop d hate,no 1 person is beta dan anoda nd no tribe is beta d oda
Posted: at 6-05-2015 10:57 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie