Non-Indigenes In Lagos Must Respect Their Hosts – Oba Akiolu

Date: 11-05-2015 6:01 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 11-05-2015 06:01 AM (8 years ago)

The Oba of Lagos, Riliwanu Akiolu, says there is a need for non-indigenes in Lagos State to respect the tradition and culture of their host.

The monarch said this during an exclusive interview with PUNCH.

While responding to a question on the threat he issued out to Igbo residents in Lagos State if they did not vote for Akinwunmi Ambode of the All Progressives Congress, Akiolu maintained that he had no ill feeling towards Igbo in the state as some of his closest friends were Igbo.

He said:
 “Eze Odimegwu, who is a former CEO of Nigerian Breweries, is still my best friend as well as many others. The Obi of Onitsha came to visit me here a few days ago. When you go to a place, you have to respect the host leaders, particularly the traditional leaders there because you are coming to benefit from their success.
The people of Lagos are the friendliest and most accommodating people in Nigeria.”
He said the video which showed him issuing threats to Igbo leaders was a misrepresentation of what truly transpired.

He said the issue was twisted by those who wanted to gain political advantage ahead of the governorship election but God put them to shame.
“Those who orchestrated the entire incident know themselves and I tell you, those (Igbo leaders) who came here on that day understand me a lot and have even been coming since then,” he said.
Akiolu said many of the non-indigenes were deceived by politicians in their quest for power. He continued:
 “The man that promised to hand them deputy governorship slot and four commissioner positions and would elevate the status of Eze Ndigbo to that of Oba of Lagos has since denied it.
It was all a political gimmick because I am sure they know that he was only deceiving them. As a matter of fact, prominent traditional rulers in the South-East have been writing us to say that they are not happy about the large number of ezes in Lagos.”
He urged all Igbo who won elections in Lagos State not to disappoint the people. The monarch said he was confident that Ambode would do well in office.

He said Ambode would serve as governor for eight years not just because it was the will of God but because he would perform excellently well. He, however, said Agbaje was free to contest again in 2019 if he wanted. He said:
 “By the Grace of Almighty Allah and my ancestors in this house, the Governor-elect, Ambode, will rule for eight years with a good performance.”
He said he had nothing against the Peoples Democratic Party or its governorship candidate, Mr. Jimi Agbaje, but noted that all humans are equal in the eyes of God but are not equal in the love of God.

He said Ambode proved his competence by saving the state from financial hardship when it was deprived of funds from the Federal Government.

Akiolu said he was not a politician but was only interested in the prosperity of Lagos and would continue to support the best.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 11-05-2015 06:01 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fearlesspaul at 11-05-2015 06:06 AM (8 years ago)
Tell yoruba people to stop misbehaving in malaysia then
Posted: at 11-05-2015 06:06 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dondada4040 at 11-05-2015 07:10 AM (8 years ago)
TFY= Thunder Fire You, useless man, you still de talk. Lagos was built by the Federal government as a capital with money from oil revenue from other areas and not by you, so you don't have the right tell people how to vote or live. There are kings in Abuja but nobody comes to tell people non sense. Lagos is still the commercial capital of Nigeria and you are too small to make some statements. Don't start what you can't  follow to the end, destruction awaits you if you don't change from your stupid n useless ways. Local idiot.
Posted: at 11-05-2015 07:10 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- freethinker at 11-05-2015 07:32 AM (8 years ago)
THIS MAD DOG HAS STARTED AGAIN!
THIS MAN DO NOT DESERVE ANY RESPECT.
AS FAR AS WE REMAIN ONE NIGERIA, EVERY CITIZEN HAS RIGHT TO LIVE IN ANY PART OF THE COUNTRY AS FAR AS HE/SHE IS ABIDING BY THE LAW
CAN SOMEBODY CALL THIS THUG TO ORDER?
I WONDER WHO MADE THIS TOUT OBA?
THIS MAN IS A DISGRACE TO ENTIRE YORUBA RACE
HOW CAN A TRADITIONAL RULER WHO SUPPOSE TO BE FATHER TO ALL INTERFERING IN POLITICS, SAYING ALLSO?
PIG WILL ALWAYS BE GIG NO MATTER HOW ONE TRIED TO CLEAN IT UP
Posted: at 11-05-2015 07:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- factfinding at 11-05-2015 08:31 AM (8 years ago)
This man if you need to be respected stop collecting illegal money from people in LAGOS especially from the igbo traders, go and work don't be a lazy ass who wanna leap where he did not sow,by so doing you will earn your due respect,talking about success in Lagos you know very well that Lagos state success comes from the Igbos, compare their companies, the containers that came into Apapa Wharf weekly, monthly, yearly then you will know that Igbos are the engine room of Lagos success, take it or leave it that is just the truth,Igbos are not and can never be a trouble makers where ever they reside, but will not take any bull-shit from any idiots who think that he or them can intimidate Igbos any place any where, igbos will stand up and say no to the vagabonds, God bless Nigeria.
Posted: at 11-05-2015 08:31 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- x-avier at 11-05-2015 08:36 AM (8 years ago)
It is true that everyone should respect the culture of his hosts or host community.
But since when did culture involve political choices or voting rights?
In a civilized state, the oba would have been arrested and tried for infringing on the fundamental fights of citizens.
Every one has the right to vote and be voted for. That includes the choice of who to vote for.
Posted: at 11-05-2015 08:36 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dollypiper at 11-05-2015 09:22 AM (8 years ago)
Talk is cheap! After all, your so called leaders gave the Oba one week to come and apologize to Igbos or else...   Lol, the one week ultimatum came and the Oba still stood his ground and y'all couldn't more than a dead rat. toothless bulldogs.... Na him you done hear so from the mouth of the horse, after all said and done, your leaders still flock the Obas palace ...na Ogun go kill anybody wey go quote me For this thread, come use the pesin entire family do blood bath. Nonsense
Posted: at 11-05-2015 09:22 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ken1230 at 11-05-2015 09:23 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Paul D on 11-05-2015 06:06 AM
Tell yoruba people to stop misbehaving in malaysia then

To the Oba he believed that every Yoruba is living in South West.
Posted: at 11-05-2015 09:23 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bankadetoun at 11-05-2015 10:27 AM (8 years ago)
Well said.
Posted: at 11-05-2015 10:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Francolysis at 11-05-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago)
This Oba abi Eba has taken some Alomo bitters again.
Posted: at 11-05-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- freethinker at 11-05-2015 10:50 AM (8 years ago)
HOW CAN A THUG/TOUT BE AN OBA OF LAGOS?
WHO MADE THIS UNCULTURED AN OBA?
THERE IS NOTHING ONE CAN NOT SEE/HEAR IN YORUBA LAND
Posted: at 11-05-2015 10:50 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 11-05-2015 10:52 AM (8 years ago)
AREA BOY, ALAYE OSHI
HOW CAN THEY MADE ARMED ROBBER AN OBA?
Posted: at 11-05-2015 10:52 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cestlavie1 at 11-05-2015 12:13 PM (8 years ago)
Ndigbo kwenu not all words we shld count as big deal Oba is jus an ordinary human like me n you we jus have to move on n embrace peace unity diff tribes abused yoruba/hausa/fulani day by day but we jus ignored an move on even if we share no side will suffering in nigeria if The gambia ,niger republic cade verde, all those token population countries are mentain n sustain with thier little resources so every side in nigeria can survive with what they ve jus that we need each other somehow we ve blend together so much intermarriage here n there so biko my brothers let peace n unity reign inshaaalahu AMIN
Posted: at 11-05-2015 12:13 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- beneno at 11-05-2015 02:05 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 11-05-2015 02:05 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- royalsam450 at 11-05-2015 02:05 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ade on 11-05-2015 12:13 PM
Ndigbo kwenu not all words we shld count as big deal Oba is jus an ordinary human like me n you we jus have to move on n embrace peace unity diff tribes abused yoruba/hausa/fulani day by day but we jus ignored an move on even if we share no side will suffering in nigeria if The gambia ,niger republic cade verde, all those token population countries are mentain n sustain with thier little resources so every side in nigeria can survive with what they ve jus that we need each other somehow we ve blend together so much intermarriage here n there so biko my brothers let peace n unity reign inshaaalahu AMIN

Tank brother good talk
Posted: at 11-05-2015 02:05 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 11-05-2015 07:19 PM (8 years ago)
THIS MAN IS A BASTARD
Posted: at 11-05-2015 07:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 18-08-2015 06:21 PM (8 years ago)
ur a big mumu
Posted: at 18-08-2015 06:21 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 19-08-2015 04:22 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 19-08-2015 04:22 AM (8 years ago) | Hero