Commotion In General Hospital As Decomposing Corpse Chases Patients Out Of Wards

Date: 12-05-2015 7:01 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 12-05-2015 07:01 AM (8 years ago)

Foul odour emanating from a decomposing corpse at the Accident and Emergency Clinic, Orile-Agege General Hospital, Lagos, on Monday, prevented medical workers from attending to patients at the clinic and wards attached to it.

Rather, patients were treated outside a large shed where new patients queued to collect cards before they were eventually taken to different wards for further attention.

When Punch visited the hospital on Monday morning, the doors of the clinic, which is located close to the Pharmacy Unit, had been locked and a male ward attendant in purple uniform was seen mopping the lobby with disinfectant. The nurses evicted from their station were also seen shouting at people not to open the door.

A patient who was relocated to the Surgery Ward said it took hospital officials more than two hours
to evacuate the corpse. “I came in here around 5am and there was no power supply at the time. The generator was also not working at the time, but there was no odour. I was already on a drip inside the ward when this foul odour hit the ward. In a matter of minutes, we were all asked to leave the ward. My drip was detached and condemned by the nurses.

We were all taken outside and we sat on the benches by the Pharmacy Unit. It took them more than two hours to decide what to do with the corpse. I was later dispatched to the Surgery Ward, while others were taken to the Casualty Ward,” he said.

When contacted, the Medical Director, Dr. Afusat Tijani, refused to talk. “I am not allowed to talk to the press,” she simply said.

However, a source who did not want to be quoted because of civil service rule said the corpse was ‘a coroner’s case.’ The source denied that the corpse had been left unattended for three days.

“What happened was that the State Environmental Health Monitoring Unit was supposed to have evacuated the corpse, but they said they did not have fuel to get here. The corpse was a coroner case and there was nothing we could have done. SEHMU only came to pick the corpse this morning.

Patients are being attended to at the moment. The affected section was just the clinic and the patients were taken to another place pending the time disinfection would be completed. We usually wait for 24 hours after disinfecting an area before patients would be allowed to go back there,” said the source.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 12-05-2015 07:01 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Machealex at 12-05-2015 07:05 AM (8 years ago)
nawaoo
Posted: at 12-05-2015 07:05 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 12-05-2015 07:21 AM (8 years ago)
Bad and poor instution
Posted: at 12-05-2015 07:21 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- robertedo3 at 12-05-2015 07:53 AM (8 years ago)
See the 2  reaaons given  ,  power failure  and no  fuel  to get there for  health officials to pick up the courpes  , same applies to the police u will call them they tell u no fuel to get to u  or secene of crime    Do we really hv fucture and directions in  dis country ?
Posted: at 12-05-2015 07:53 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 12-05-2015 07:59 AM (8 years ago)
wahala dey ooooo
Posted: at 12-05-2015 07:59 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- eoadex2003 at 12-05-2015 08:10 AM (8 years ago)
See the 2  reaaons given  ,  power failure  and no  fuel  to get there for  health officials to pick up the courpes  , same applies to the police u will call them they tell u no fuel to get to u  or secene of crime    Do we really hv fucture and directions in  dis country ?

I wonder o.
Posted: at 12-05-2015 08:10 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 12-05-2015 08:17 AM (8 years ago)
That's what we get when there is poor management both on the side of the government and that of the hospital management
Posted: at 12-05-2015 08:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ayogstar at 12-05-2015 08:25 AM (8 years ago)
Like we haven't heard that before
Posted: at 12-05-2015 08:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zednaijaman at 12-05-2015 11:37 AM (8 years ago)
Ok, I thought the corpse got up & started chasing them like in zombie movies. Me sef nearly start to run.
Posted: at 12-05-2015 11:37 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- benosky4 at 12-05-2015 11:42 AM (8 years ago)
double wahala for dead body

Posted: at 12-05-2015 11:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 12-05-2015 12:40 PM (8 years ago)
hmmmm
Posted: at 12-05-2015 12:40 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- vickie_guz at 12-05-2015 03:28 PM (8 years ago)
God na ur hand i dey
Posted: at 12-05-2015 03:28 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- akhaifo at 12-05-2015 04:30 PM (8 years ago)
hmmm...Na wa oooooo
Posted: at 12-05-2015 04:30 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 12-05-2015 07:02 PM (8 years ago)
too bad
Posted: at 12-05-2015 07:02 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- PeacetoU at 13-05-2015 10:07 AM (8 years ago)
Poor country
Posted: at 13-05-2015 10:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 19-08-2015 03:40 AM (8 years ago)
Terrible condition
Posted: at 19-08-2015 03:40 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

3. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

4. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

5. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

6. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

9. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

10. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake