WOW! Meet The Class Teacher Who Donated Her Kidney To Save Student’s Life

Date: 23-05-2015 7:52 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 23-05-2015 07:52 AM (8 years ago)

Nadirah Muhammad, does not like to be called a hero, but she is certainly a life saver.

USA Today reports that, the physical education and health teacher at Detroit’s West Side Academy donated her kidney to one of her students, 18-year-old A’Ja Booth.

On Wednesday, May 20, Booth returned to school for the first time since the surgery, walking arm-in-arm with her teacher. Muhammad’s colleagues and students organised a red-carpet ceremony to celebrate both Booth’s recovery and the remarkable gift.

“This is what we do as teachers. I did not do it for the accolades. I saw a human being in need, and if it were my child, I’d want someone to step forward and help him,” Muhammad said.

“I am blessed and I am thankful. I can’t thank her any more than I already have. I look at her as my second mother. She’s a wonderful woman,” Booth said, fighting her tears.

It was gathered that last May, 39-year-old Muhammad overheard Booth talking to another teacher about a book she wrote describing and chronicling her health struggles.

“After I read her story, I immediately decided that I wanted to volunteer to donate one of my kidneys. If that was my child, I would want someone to do the same. It was a no-brainer,” the woman said.

After months of testing doctors determined that she and Booth were a perfect match.

On December 15, Dr. Jason Denny, senior staff surgeon and director of the Living Donor Kidney Transplant Program at Henry Ford Hospital, performed a successful operation and gave Booth a new kidney.

Dr. Denny, who has performed hundreds of transplants, said:“I’ve had a lot of combinations, but I don’t know about student-teacher. We’ve had ex-wives, and bosses and their employees.”

Muhammad, a wife and a mother, confessed that, she questioned her decision only once, when doctors told her there was a 2% to 3% chance she could die. But her faith in God and internet research about the safety of transplant operations dispelled her fears.

After the successful operation, Muhammad, was back in the classroom by late January. Members of Booth’s family picked up homework packets from school every week so she could keep up with her studies.

In honor of Booth’s return, her school was brightly decorated; the students were welcoming the girl with cheers when she walked in.

Dr Denny, who accompanied the girl and her teacher, told the crowd that Muhammad’s donation “shows that we can redefine what a hero is.” He took the opportunity to highlight the importance of organ donation.

“The original miracle of life is God’s gift. We agree with that. But right where you are, you can also give the gift of life. Ms. Muhammad did that for A’Ja,” doctor said.

Now healthy and happy, Booth, is looking forward to the future. She will graduate from school on June 8 and she is already planning to attend Oakland University.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 23-05-2015 07:52 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 23-05-2015 07:59 AM (8 years ago)
nice
Posted: at 23-05-2015 07:59 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- spaceangel at 23-05-2015 08:06 AM (8 years ago)
Chai God wil reward u
Posted: at 23-05-2015 08:06 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- freethinker at 23-05-2015 08:13 AM (8 years ago)
AMAZING
Posted: at 23-05-2015 08:13 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- joromy at 23-05-2015 08:28 AM (8 years ago)
Lovely,  GOD blessing is upon ur life in JESUS name amen
Posted: at 23-05-2015 08:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 23-05-2015 08:36 AM (8 years ago)
Nice gesture
Posted: at 23-05-2015 08:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- satsaver at 23-05-2015 08:41 AM (8 years ago)
Seriously, Well done Ma
Posted: at 23-05-2015 08:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 23-05-2015 09:13 AM (8 years ago)
nice to see
Posted: at 23-05-2015 09:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 23-05-2015 09:55 AM (8 years ago)
Nice lady.
Posted: at 23-05-2015 09:55 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oways at 23-05-2015 12:22 PM (8 years ago)
Wonderfully kind woman
Posted: at 23-05-2015 12:22 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 23-05-2015 12:36 PM (8 years ago)
OOOOOH
Posted: at 23-05-2015 12:36 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Aniagain at 23-05-2015 02:23 PM (8 years ago)
Not these kinda Muslims we are having here in naija, well done

Posted: at 23-05-2015 02:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 23-05-2015 02:49 PM (8 years ago)
blog one
Posted: at 23-05-2015 02:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- shaddybaby at 23-05-2015 03:01 PM (8 years ago)
God bless u ma.
Posted: at 23-05-2015 03:01 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- bospak at 23-05-2015 09:46 PM (8 years ago)
Why are you not in Nigeria?
Posted: at 23-05-2015 09:46 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- utomilan at 24-05-2015 06:45 AM (8 years ago)
love will never lie
Posted: at 24-05-2015 06:45 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- whoisuche at 26-05-2015 02:59 PM (8 years ago)
GOD WILL BLESS YOU BOTH.
Posted: at 26-05-2015 02:59 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

7. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

8. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

9. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

10. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

13. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

14. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

15. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

16. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu