Former President Obasanjo Says Jonathan Mismanaged Nigeria

Date: 25-05-2015 8:33 am (8 years ago) | Author: Abdulsalam Selim
- at 25-05-2015 08:33 AM (8 years ago)

When the Iyalode of Yoruba land, Chief Alaba Lawson, led a delegation of South-West women leaders on a visit to his Hilltop residence in Abeokuta, Former President Obasanjo told them that President Jonathan had dug the country into a deep hole within the last 8 years..

The 78-year-old former Pres. said due to the mismanagement of the country in the last eight years, the incoming administration of the President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari, should be prepared to face the bad situation that was left behind by President Jonathan.

He said: “The country had been poorly managed in the last eight years and it would take some
    time for Buhari’s government to correct the anomalies. But I want to tell him not to be frightened.”
    He urged Nigerians to be really patient with the incoming administration because the damage that had been done to the country in the last eight years could not be corrected overnight.

“What I would say is that we should all put our minds at rest. He (Buhari) is someone that will perform but we must exercise patience because what has been destroyed for eight years cannot be undone overnight.

But like the Chinese proverb which says the journey of a thousand miles starts with a step, it is not only the first step (that matters) but the first step in the right direction because if you take a wrong step, you’re not likely to get to the destination,” he said.

He further said:

“When I came in 1999, there was no fuel and power. The situation was like this and I thought we have put that one behind us,” he stressed, even as he expressed confidence in the ability of Buhari to surmount the hurdle.

The man that is coming on board has a lot of experience in terms of governance. He is not a novice in governance having ruled the country as a military Head of State from 1983 to 1985. Nigerians need to exercise patience because what has been destroyed in eight years cannot be rebuilt in a day,” Obasanjo maintained.

Recalling his years as military Head of State between 1976 and 1979, Obasanjo said he worked closely with Buhari and that their association produced great results.

Further urging Nigerians to pray for Buhari, Obasanjo said the president-elect needs the cooperation of Nigerians in order to put the country on the right footing.

“Let’s give him time. Let’s pray for him and let’s cooperate with him. We are all concerned about the present situation of Nigeria. The expectation is very high but at the same time, there is a lot of goodwill internally and externally for the incoming government.

Once the incoming administration realises this and takes every step, particularly in the first three months when people will be watching and counting, I think for me, we will get there,” the former Peoples Democratic Party leader said.

Obasanjo warned Buhari not to take Nigerians for granted as he called on him to always be honest in his dealing with the populace.

He said that he believed that Buhari will take Nigeria to great heights.

“God has provided a new opportunity for Nigeria and Nigerians and I believe God does not make mistakes. There are two things I believe the incoming President appreciates; one is that he knows that the expectations of Nigerians are high and two, that he should not be frightened by the situation on the ground.”

EDITOR'S CHOICE

Posted: at 25-05-2015 08:33 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 25-05-2015 09:30 AM (8 years ago)
Dis is a case of a pot calling kettle black o.
Posted: at 25-05-2015 09:30 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 25-05-2015 09:34 AM (8 years ago)
whatever
Posted: at 25-05-2015 09:34 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Gold777 at 25-05-2015 09:37 AM (8 years ago)
Obj go and die, wat u and the rest destroy for over 30 yrs and u wanted Jona to repair it over night? Long hiss for u
Posted: at 25-05-2015 09:37 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PeacetoU at 25-05-2015 09:42 AM (8 years ago)
OBJ you killed and buried Nigeria
Posted: at 25-05-2015 09:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 25-05-2015 09:50 AM (8 years ago)
What shall we do now
Posted: at 25-05-2015 09:50 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- benson4you at 25-05-2015 09:51 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: PeacetoU on 25-05-2015 09:42 AM
OBJ you killed and buried Nigeria
Please can you explain how?
Posted: at 25-05-2015 09:51 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- benson4you at 25-05-2015 09:53 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Gold777 on 25-05-2015 09:37 AM
Obj go and die, wat u and the rest destroy for over 30 yrs and u wanted Jona to repair it over night? Long hiss for u
My dear change starts somewhere, why can't we accept that.
Posted: at 25-05-2015 09:53 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- XTnote at 25-05-2015 10:12 AM (8 years ago)
I don't think OBJ has a good memory otherwise he should remember that he enthroned democratic coruption in nigeria
Posted: at 25-05-2015 10:12 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 25-05-2015 10:13 AM (8 years ago)
All of una na same
Posted: at 25-05-2015 10:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- freethinker at 25-05-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago)
OBJ, YOU ARE THE WORST THAT EVER HAPPENED TO NIGERIA
YOU ARE A DISGRACE NOT ONLY TO YOUR FAMILY, BUT TO ENTIRE YORUBA RACE
Posted: at 25-05-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 25-05-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago)
OLD FOOL
BABA IYABO
CRIMINAL MINDED OLD MAN
Posted: at 25-05-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chidexco at 25-05-2015 11:15 AM (8 years ago)
What is this fool called himself OBJ is talking about? the fuel and the power he is talking about can he tell me any year that nigeria have gotting steady power supply.or is he not with his right sense before saying this ?He is the worst thing that happened in nigeria we crying today is because of him ,the things he destroy in nigeria will take years to repair
Posted: at 25-05-2015 11:15 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- climax_man at 25-05-2015 11:19 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 25-05-2015 11:19 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandra78 at 25-05-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago)
Useless Animal......Are you not the person who distryed Nigeria
Posted: at 25-05-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- enyiekere at 25-05-2015 12:59 PM (8 years ago)
obj, u killed nigeria from military to civilian. Do u remember Fela ?
Posted: at 25-05-2015 12:59 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- schmit at 25-05-2015 01:38 PM (8 years ago)
Dis man sef
Posted: at 25-05-2015 01:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 25-05-2015 03:27 PM (8 years ago)
obj too dey talk ..
Posted: at 25-05-2015 03:27 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 25-05-2015 04:50 PM (8 years ago)
ooooooooooooooooooooooooooh
Posted: at 25-05-2015 04:50 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- royalsam450 at 25-05-2015 06:09 PM (8 years ago)
God were is your face please kill this man and is familly onec
Posted: at 25-05-2015 06:09 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming