My Defeat, An Act Of God – Goodluck Jonathan

Date: 29-05-2015 6:39 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 29-05-2015 06:39 AM (8 years ago)

Outgoing President Goodluck Jonathan has described his defeat at the 2015 general election as an act of God. Jonathan also said he has accepted his defeat in the election in good faith.

Speaking at a reception held in his honour by the Chairman of DAAR Communications Plc, Chief Raymond Dokpesi, in Abuja, the outgoing President explained that people might adduce different reasons for the loss,however he maintained that he was more inclined to take the electoral loss as an act of God.

GEJ said:
 “By this time, people are supposed to be running away from someone who has lost an election, but I am being celebrated by Daar Communications PLc.
For me, I have accepted in good faith whatever happened in the election. Even though some have argued that those I entrusted with my campaign disappointed me, I have no regrets for losing because in any political processes, there are all kinds of stories and conspiracies.
We are a very religious society; whether Christians or Muslims or some other religions, I believe it is the will of God that the election went the way it did. I have always maintained that for the ordinary Nigerian, what is important is the style of governance, not who is even the president.
Anybody can be the President any day but if the country is peaceful, and economic activities are going on smoothly, our children are going to school, hospitals are okay and people can eat what they want to eat then, of course, people will be happy.
I believe the incoming administration will toe that line and Nigerians will begin to see that there is no difference between political parties because even as we see there is no difference between the PDP and the APC.
If you look at the number of people that moved from PDP to APC, then you will really see that both parties are almost the same.”

He said what should be paramount to Nigerians is what the government in power is bringing to bear, adding that he has always maintained that politicians must learn to put the people first.

He noted that if the aspiration of politicians was truly to serve the interest of the people, then their actions and utterances would not be tailored towards hurting the same people they claim to want to serve.

Jonathan said:
‘‘For me, my ambition is to see what contributions I can make for the ordinary people and that is why their lives are special to me. And I wouldn’t do anything that would create crisis, to kill innocent people. People should not be surprised for the decision I took. I wouldn’t want to be a party that will diminish this country.
There is a combination of bad and good in my administration just like in any other administration, but what should be uppermost in the mind of the leader is to make sure that the bad is not more than the good.
To those who lost their elections at various levels, Jonathan said they should always remember that you might win tomorrow but that those who were killed in the process of electioneering can never witness another election.

Jonathan revealed his humorous side when he announced to the audience that his wife, Patience, could not attend the event because she was busy packing their personal effects out of the Presidential Villa.
“It is not easy to pack, you know.” he said.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 29-05-2015 06:39 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- victorstic1 at 29-05-2015 06:59 AM (8 years ago)
STOP SOUNDING LIKE A BROKEN RECORD UR TIME IS GONE
Posted: at 29-05-2015 06:59 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- desmonddavis at 29-05-2015 07:20 AM (8 years ago)
God bless you sir, and you shall know peace for the rest of your life In Jesus Name, Amen..
Posted: at 29-05-2015 07:20 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- beneno at 29-05-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago)
00000h
Posted: at 29-05-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- climax_man at 29-05-2015 09:10 AM (8 years ago)
Nice speech..
Posted: at 29-05-2015 09:10 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 29-05-2015 09:39 AM (8 years ago)
God knows all
Posted: at 29-05-2015 09:39 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Amazing04 at 29-05-2015 11:17 AM (8 years ago)
To All the people insulting Jonathan,   let me remind you  that your father could not do what Jonathan did for Nigeria.  Jonathan is the best president in African, Nigeria History.  How  many African leader  do you know could be as peaceful as Jonathan? God  Bless New Nigeria!
Posted: at 29-05-2015 11:17 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Larry28 at 29-05-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 29-05-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- yuwana at 29-05-2015 01:25 PM (8 years ago)
@amazing04 I agree with you my dear. I believe God brought Jonathan to frustrate the predictions of the western world that Nigeria will disintegrate in 2015. Had it been Jonathan won this election, Nigeria could have been at war by now. Jonathan may have fulfilled God's purpose for Nigeria.
Posted: at 29-05-2015 01:25 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- chivicol at 29-05-2015 05:30 PM (8 years ago)
My brother nah GODWILL
Posted: at 29-05-2015 05:30 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 30-05-2015 09:10 PM (8 years ago)
OK na
Posted: at 30-05-2015 09:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 18-08-2015 07:05 AM (8 years ago)
Na so God plan am. It's well
Posted: at 18-08-2015 07:05 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

2. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

3. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

4. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

5. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

6. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

7. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

8. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office