The Yorubas Did Not Invent Nollywood - Emeka Ike Fires Back At Wale Adenuga Over Nollywood Comment

Date: 13-06-2015 12:33 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 13-06-2015 12:33 PM (8 years ago)

Concerning a statement made by veteran actor Wale Adenuga in an interview last week,  where he asserted that the Igbos have taken over Nollywood, Nollywood Actor Emeka Ike has fired back at him.

Another succinct point made by the veteran actor which irked Emeka Ike was this..." When somebody claims he founded Nollywood, Oga Bello, and of course I, cannot be part of that. When I produced my first film in 1983, Emeka Ike and his Nollywood people were still in school.
They started their own film-making in 1992 and they are claiming that 1992 was the beginning of film-making in Nigeria”

In a fresh interview with Vanguard, Emeka Ike bares his mind and reacts to the assertions made by Wale Adenuga.

Read excerpts below....

"When they talk, they should know that the man they talk to, is a very intelligent man and not a riffraff or an idiot."

"I am properly educated, an Engineer is not a man you take for granted; I am painstaking in my decision and I am very concise in what I say."

"Let him not think it is Uhuru here. Before Wale Adenuga opened his studio, I had opened my studio at Adeniran Ogunsanya. Before he started making cinematographers, I had made several cinematographers in my office at Adeniran Ogunsanya."

"The Nollywood you know today is not the one that cropped up from Hilbert Ogungbe. Nollywood came about with the sales, marketing and multiplication of CDs. The Igbos got more involved by their investments. The Igbos did what they had to do, whether good or not, it has given us the platform."

"They provided the medium for conveying our movies to every home. After a while, the Igbo people decided to go into movie-making themselves."

"It is wrong to start saying who started Nollywood, who did this and who did that. It’s not a good way to go for a man of his pedigree. When he made his movie, nobody knew him, just like we made our movies when nobody knew us. The platform has been created by both the Yoruba and Igbo marketers in Idumota and he started making it more than even most of us that created the image that he took advantage of."

"I’m personally working towards galvanising Kannywood, Nollywood and the Yoruba movies together. We cannot be divided, we should have a central working system. For you to now start dividing, it is backward for a man of that pedigree.
He should keep making good movies which we are proud of."

"We should be responsible Nigerians not just make a way for our own juniors. If Wale Adenuga Junior will not suffer in life, what happens to other people’s Juniors?"

How come Nollywood is predominantly Igbo?

"You could be right about that but that’s not to say that’s how Nollywood should be. When he (Wale Adenuga) made his movie, it was just a one-off. Several movies were made even before he made his own, that we didn’t know about. In that same 1993, Amaechi Obi and I made a movie that never saw the light of day just like his own didn’t.

But what we are talking about is history, pedigree. How did they start packaging this whole thing for export? How did investors get involved? How did all these become a budding industry? It is not impossible that Wale Adenuga would have made an unattractive movie. Let’s stop these tribal issues," he said.

*Interview excerpts from Vanguard *

Posted: at 13-06-2015 12:33 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 13-06-2015 12:44 PM (8 years ago)
 We have REAL problems in Nigeria. And who "invented" Nollywood is NOT on the list. Maybe we should go further and blame the western world for inventing the TV and radio!!!!
Posted: at 13-06-2015 12:44 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- joromy at 13-06-2015 01:40 PM (8 years ago)
THANK YOU MY DEAR. PEOPLE WHO INVENT TV, RADIO, VIDEO CAMERA, MICROSOFT, AIR PLANE, IN FACT MANY MANY THINGS WE CAN'T BE ABLE TO MENTION ALL THIS PEOPLE DEY ON THEIR OWN PEACEFUL. YOU WHEN YOU CALL YOUR SELF ENGINEERING NA ONLY NOLLYWOOD YOU FIT INVENT IF REALLY IS TRUE AS YOU CLAIME TO BE. ENGINEERING YOU INVENT LOCALY MADE NOLLYWOOD IS A PITY TO YOU EMEKA IKE.
Posted: at 13-06-2015 01:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 13-06-2015 01:53 PM (8 years ago)
pls nigerians dont need all this now
Posted: at 13-06-2015 01:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kebella at 13-06-2015 02:12 PM (8 years ago)
uh!

Posted: at 13-06-2015 02:12 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 13-06-2015 02:44 PM (8 years ago)
Smh....

Posted: at 13-06-2015 02:44 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- crocatum at 13-06-2015 02:51 PM (8 years ago)
Men behaving like children, they can always do better than proclaim their glory.
Posted: at 13-06-2015 02:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 13-06-2015 02:55 PM (8 years ago)
Some children show better maturity, than some adults, instead of making noise because thy are excited, they can come together and find ways of taking nollywood to the next level or they can find other invention like refinery, this will create oppurtunities for others in this country and people will be more grateful to them.
Posted: at 13-06-2015 02:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fearlesspaul at 13-06-2015 03:29 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: joromy on 13-06-2015 01:40 PM
THANK YOU MY DEAR. PEOPLE WHO INVENT TV, RADIO, VIDEO CAMERA, MICROSOFT, AIR PLANE, IN FACT MANY MANY THINGS WE CAN'T BE ABLE TO MENTION ALL THIS PEOPLE DEY ON THEIR OWN PEACEFUL. YOU WHEN YOU CALL YOUR SELF ENGINEERING NA ONLY NOLLYWOOD YOU FIT INVENT IF REALLY IS TRUE AS YOU CLAIME TO BE. ENGINEERING YOU INVENT LOCALY MADE NOLLYWOOD IS A PITY TO YOU EMEKA IKE.
    bro. It is engineer not engineering
Posted: at 13-06-2015 03:29 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eniang1 at 13-06-2015 03:39 PM (8 years ago)
Tiese Yorubas self. What is it about who invented Nollywood now? Because the Yorubas have had the privilege to control media dose not mean they own everything. Rather than see how to build a viable and world stardard film industry, yorubas have started with their sentiments.
Posted: at 13-06-2015 03:39 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- mary11 at 13-06-2015 04:32 PM (8 years ago)
this dude sounds more matured on like his counterpart

Posted: at 13-06-2015 04:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 13-06-2015 05:32 PM (8 years ago)
Who cares?

We want security, good infrastructure in all phases and jobs.
Posted: at 13-06-2015 05:32 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SugarBB at 13-06-2015 06:06 PM (8 years ago)
Yorobas are too tribalistic mehn, anytime they see or hear anything Igbo, their smelly bodies will be itching. They always believe that they are in competition with these Igbo ppl. I even decided to stop yabbing bc of the only sensible Yoruba man i respect, the Ekiti State governor but I couldn't resist this one. Kpele "Mr Governor"

Posted: at 13-06-2015 06:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 13-06-2015 06:54 PM (8 years ago)
oooooooh
Posted: at 13-06-2015 06:54 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rizzotti at 13-06-2015 07:13 PM (8 years ago)
maturity
Posted: at 13-06-2015 07:13 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 13-06-2015 07:19 PM (8 years ago)
Kkk
Posted: at 13-06-2015 07:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- asobcom at 13-06-2015 07:54 PM (8 years ago)
Speechless
Posted: at 13-06-2015 07:54 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- orji1234 at 13-06-2015 08:05 PM (8 years ago)
Biafra is comming.
Posted: at 13-06-2015 08:05 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Akinolasunday at 13-06-2015 08:14 PM (8 years ago)
They are all insane, our stories has no meaning only few does, you will advertised all through, what have you achieved now, or what Glory are you fight for when we learn nothing from you, you acted film of good family why most of you have no family. You are not serious, you all only make film to advertised your self for immoral act.
Posted: at 13-06-2015 08:14 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- chealseafc at 13-06-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago)
just here to read the comments.
but wait a minute, where is mr wasted generation na?.
abi him never see this article?.
Posted: at 13-06-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac