TRAGEDY: Family Dog Attack & Kills Three Week Old Baby

Date: 21-06-2015 7:25 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 21-06-2015 07:25 AM (8 years ago)

The mother of a newborn baby who was mauled to death by the family dog was at a family event following a bereavement, according a family member.

Three-week old Reggie was rushed to hospital following the attack by the Patterdale terrier – but doctors were unable to save him.
His family have said they are "trying to cope" with the immense tragedy of losing little Reggie, who lived at Falkland Road with his parents Maria Blacklin and Ryan Young, a builder.
The parents are said to be “distraught” after the tragedy which happened at their home at 4.15am yesterday.
A family member who spoke to the Chronicle outside Ryan's family's home nearby said: "We are trying to cope with this the best we can."

Their family dog, called Tricky, is being kept in kennels and is expected to be destroyed.

Northumbria Police said a 30-year-old man had been arrested in connection with the incident.

“We are carrying out enquiries to establish the circumstances.”

A family member, who did not want be identified, said the baby’s mother was not in the house at the time of the attack, and added that she never left her son alone with the dog.

The source said she had been at a family event following a bereavement, and had returned to find the distressing scene.
Neighbours yesterday spoke of their shock at the death of Reggie, who is believed to have four brothers and sisters.
One, who did not wish to be named, said: “I know terriers very well. I think the dog had become jealous of the baby and that is why this has happened.
“It was Ryan’s dog as far as I’m aware. He is a lovely lad, hard-working and an excellent father. He will be devastated.”

Criminal psychologist Paul Tweddle, 50, who lives opposite the family in Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, said: “They are a caring couple in their 30s and are a lovely family. This is a complete tragedy.
“I see the terrier from time to time. Sometimes I see it clambering at the fence and it gets out so I shout to Ryan and he comes and gets it.

“It is a tiny dog and I cannot say whether or not it is dangerous. Sometimes appearances can be deceptive.
“I am so shocked. It should be such a happy time with a new baby. I have children myself, so you can imagine how I am feeling.”

Another neighbour, Denise Haley, 59, is grandmother to a six-week-old baby called TJ.
She said: “Maria was in the house a few weeks ago with Redgie. She is a lovely girl and I simply do not know how she will cope with this tragedy.

“I am scared of any dog but that dog seemed okay. It is a tiny dog and brown in colour.
“I am in total shock – me and my daughter have been really upset about it. We grabbed TJ straight away and gave him a huge hug.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 21-06-2015 07:25 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Fashoney at 21-06-2015 07:41 AM (8 years ago)
OnkPe!
Posted: at 21-06-2015 07:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 21-06-2015 07:45 AM (8 years ago)
wasted generation
Posted: at 21-06-2015 07:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SOGaiya at 21-06-2015 11:58 AM (8 years ago)
okay nw
Posted: at 21-06-2015 11:58 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- royalsam450 at 21-06-2015 12:12 PM (8 years ago)
See change
Posted: at 21-06-2015 12:12 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 21-06-2015 03:10 PM (8 years ago)
kill the dog
Posted: at 21-06-2015 03:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Dames at 21-06-2015 03:50 PM (8 years ago)
I hate dogs....
Posted: at 21-06-2015 03:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ololababs at 21-06-2015 06:08 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Mikkie on 21-06-2015 07:41 AM
OnkPe!

Abeg which language be this "onkpe"? Grin

RIP Baby.

When u say u no feel comfortable working around dogs they'll reply "get used to our culture, see them as our babies" but when will u ever get used to my "culture of trying to be safe?" Hope they'll learn from this.
Posted: at 21-06-2015 06:08 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- danielsony at 22-06-2015 01:32 AM (8 years ago)
Mad dog,
Posted: at 22-06-2015 01:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 22-06-2015 12:19 PM (8 years ago)
RIP baby
Posted: at 22-06-2015 12:19 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- elchymo at 16-08-2015 12:46 PM (8 years ago)
Dis is so sad
Posted: at 16-08-2015 12:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

7. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu