We May Negotiate With Boko Haram - Presidency

Date: 04-07-2015 6:19 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 4-07-2015 06:19 AM (8 years ago)

The Federal Government has said that it is open to negotiations with the Boko Haram sect in order to find a lasting solution to the security crisis in the country, if the group is willing.

This was disclosed by the Special Adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, on Friday, in an interview with the BBC.

In the interview, Adesina said the Federal Government was not ruling out negotiations with the sect if it would put an end to the activities of the group. He lamented that the insurgents had attacked so
many villages and killed scores of people.
“These were very vicious attacks. People were killed in scores and it’s so sad,” he said.
The President had during his inauguration speech said he had launched a strategy to deal with the sect by relocating the military headquarters to Maiduguri, Borno State.

When asked whether this would work, Adesina replied,
“This is going to work. There are machineries being put in place. It’s going to work. The recent killings by the sect were meant to break our resolve, to weaken it, but that will stop. It remains a priority to him (Buhari) to deal with the group.
You will notice that his first two weeks of administration were dedicated to tackling the insurgency. He visited Chad and Niger Republics and the following week, the Presidents of those countries also visited him in Abuja.
The President of Benin Republic and the Defence Minister of Cameroon visited him; machinery is being put in place and once we’re through, we will see the end of the group. The target time for the deployment of the multinational force is July ending; that is in a couple of weeks.”

When the BBC also asked if the Federal Government was considering negotiations with the insurgent group, Adesina replied in the affirmative.
He said, “If they are willing, why not? You know attempts have been made for negotiations in the past and they didn’t work. Every reasonable person would want to see the end to this insurgency. So if they are willing, why not? You can’t rule that out.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 4-07-2015 06:19 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Deltaboy1 at 4-07-2015 06:51 AM (8 years ago)
buhari is behind bokoharam, why will he negotiate when he told us he will crush them
Posted: at 4-07-2015 06:51 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gwadagwa at 4-07-2015 07:29 AM (8 years ago)
since terrorist buhari took over power did you see Abubakar shekau on video again? job done and he disappeared nw buhari bokoharam wnt to negotiate with his boys
(bokoharam).person who promised to crush bokoharam just turn to make peace with them.did u see any country that compromise with terrorist before? Animal in human skin.
Posted: at 4-07-2015 07:29 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- yukiigb at 4-07-2015 07:41 AM (8 years ago)
This is very clear that buhari is behind the so called boko haram
Posted: at 4-07-2015 07:41 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- angesco at 4-07-2015 08:36 AM (8 years ago)
Reaching a deal with Islamists is never going to work. When eating with the devil - use a VERY long spoon.
I doubt Buhari is "behind" BK  - however GIVING INTO THEM (which is the same to me as "reaching a deal") is not the best move. This is the same group that has pled allegiance to ISIS. And ISIS have accepted. Our army has to be equipped to tackle them from the LAND, SEA and SKY. Reaching a deal with Boko Haram will only give other terror groups the idea that Nigeria is a soft touch. We will see a surge in kidnappings, rapes, assasinations, burning buildings, sabotage and so on. My fear is that our military forces cannot do this alone. We need help from foriegn powers (which is a shame especially as nations like Ghana appear to be keeping them a bay on their own). What about the kidnapped Chibok girls? What their fate?  What is important is that the killings STOP in the north and we ensure they do not SPREAD any further  - or we will have a CIVIL WAR on our hands. Our military forces are letting us down.

We are yet to recover from the the last civil war!!!
Posted: at 4-07-2015 08:36 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uchex at 4-07-2015 08:44 AM (8 years ago)
I dey ontop something
Posted: at 4-07-2015 08:44 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- royalty2008 at 4-07-2015 10:05 AM (8 years ago)
This man is confused
He has nothing upstairs
When Goodluck was there, they kept criticizing him, but now HE MAY NEGOTIATE WITH BOKO HARAM
Shame to u BGS, and APC as a whole
Posted: at 4-07-2015 10:05 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- royalty2008 at 4-07-2015 10:07 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Deltaboy1 on  4-07-2015 06:51 AM
buhari is behind bokoharam, why will he negotiate when he told us he will crush them
Thank you
Posted: at 4-07-2015 10:07 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- taung89 at 4-07-2015 10:21 AM (8 years ago)
D!ckhead
Posted: at 4-07-2015 10:21 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- donkagawa at 4-07-2015 10:53 AM (8 years ago)
See childish comments, illetracy is a disease. What has dialouge got to do wth mr president behind boko haram. All these myopic thinking dumb heads runing their mouths.
Posted: at 4-07-2015 10:53 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fashoney at 4-07-2015 11:00 AM (8 years ago)
Either behind or no behind..I'l support negotiation in as much is gonna put an end to Boko ha "RAMS" killing n bombings!
Posted: at 4-07-2015 11:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livinus5 at 4-07-2015 11:15 AM (8 years ago)
No negotiations withs terrorists
Posted: at 4-07-2015 11:15 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- c2crown at 4-07-2015 11:55 AM (8 years ago)
I am expecting presidency to deny this report as soonest as possible,keep my finger cross
Posted: at 4-07-2015 11:55 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Lisabi at 4-07-2015 12:05 PM (8 years ago)
See childish comments, illetracy is a disease. What has dialouge got to do wth mr president behind boko haram. All these myopic thinking dumb heads runing their mouths.

DON'T MIND THEM THEY ARE ANIMALS IN HUMAN SKIN. THEY ALWAYS OPEN MOUTH WITHOUT COMMON SENSE. WELL IS NOT COMMON.
Posted: at 4-07-2015 12:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mathzno at 4-07-2015 12:13 PM (8 years ago)
Don't try this rubbish!!!! You must crush them, Abu you want to pocket $5million grant form the States?Huh?
Posted: at 4-07-2015 12:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 4-07-2015 12:26 PM (8 years ago)
wich ever way we nid paece simple
Posted: at 4-07-2015 12:26 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 4-07-2015 12:27 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Nadine Osama Igbe on  4-07-2015 07:41 AM
This is very clear that buhari is behind the so called boko haram

Congratulations!!! You just Renewed your idiot license

Give us your facts before making unnecessary assumption here ....

common sense has  eroded you ....
Posted: at 4-07-2015 12:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 4-07-2015 12:43 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: donkagawa on  4-07-2015 10:53 AM

Don't mind them bro ..... They are all "nitwit " and "wailing wailers " by their utterances you shall known them  .... Most of  them,  their intellect are been reduced to a worrisome state of abject gullibility and blatant stupidity.   Common sense is not even  common nw ....... 
Posted: at 4-07-2015 12:43 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Obaneski at 4-07-2015 12:59 PM (8 years ago)
people are dying and you are here blowing grammer..
Posted: at 4-07-2015 12:59 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- femjay at 4-07-2015 01:05 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on  4-07-2015 08:36 AM
Reaching a deal with Islamists is never going to work. When eating with the devil - use a VERY long spoon.
I doubt Buhari is "behind" BK  - however GIVING INTO THEM (which is the same to me as "reaching a deal") is not the best move. This is the same group that has pled allegiance to ISIS. And ISIS have accepted. Our army has to be equipped to tackle them from the LAND, SEA and SKY. Reaching a deal with Boko Haram will only give other terror groups the idea that Nigeria is a soft touch. We will see a surge in kidnappings, rapes, assasinations, burning buildings, sabotage and so on. My fear is that our military forces cannot do this alone. We need help from foriegn powers (which is a shame especially as nations like Ghana appear to be keeping them a bay on their own). What about the kidnapped Chibok girls? What their fate?  What is important is that the killings STOP in the north and we ensure they do not SPREAD any further  - or we will have a CIVIL WAR on our hands. Our military forces are letting us down.

We are yet to recover from the the last civil war!!!

To be candid ! .... I am really impressed and delighted  with this your post concerning this issue... This confirm that you are well defined intellect, reasonable and more enlightened..... You are nt like many morons on this forum that will stood by and conclude with their myphoic and un exposed mouth to lay unnecessary insinuation on the presidency personality

Thanks and keep it ....
Posted: at 4-07-2015 01:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac