Buhari To Reopen Cases Of Political Assassinations And Kidnappings

Date: 05-07-2015 6:18 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 5-07-2015 06:18 AM (8 years ago)

A statement by the President's Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina said that President Muhammadu Buhari on Saturday promised that his administration will make sure that all cases of political assassination and kidnapping in the country are thoroughly investigated.

This  promise was made while addressing state chairmen of the All Progressives Congress who visited him at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.
Adesina said,
“I can confirm to you that the President did say during the closed-door meeting he had with the APC state chairmen that his administration will ensure that all cases of political assassination, intimidation and kidnapping in the country are thoroughly investigated to ensure that the perpetrators are brought to justice. The President said the cases will be investigated irrespective of the perpetrators’ political affiliations.”

Buhari allegedly told the APC chiefs that he remained committed to providing a level playing field for all Nigerians to get on with their daily lives or participate in electing their leaders, without fear of intimidation.

He also promised that his administration would continuously strengthen Nigeria’s criminal justice system to curb the reign of injustice and impunity in the country.

According to the statement, the President said,
“At every point, the law must be supreme and everyone must respect the law, if our democratic system is to survive. Injustice cannot survive for long. Justice will ultimately prevail. We will make sure that those saddled with the responsibility of ensuring justice and equity do not rest on their oars. The only way we can sustain our democracy is to ensure that the law remains supreme at all times. If the law is upheld, people will have confidence that they can vote for who they want to vote for, without intimidation or threats.
“The police and the judiciary must ensure that justice is done in the country. We won’t allow impunity to continue in certain states, where the rights of the people are being violated. I have a personal commitment to fair play and respect of personal rights. This government will do all that is possible to enforce that.”

While recalling his address to the National Executive Council of the APC on Friday, Buhari said now that the APC is the party in government, it must lead by example and consolidate on the gains of a democratic system.

The President urged political leaders in the country to keep to prescribed legal processes for the resolution of political disputes and not resort to violence and other forms of unacceptable behaviour in seeking redress for any perceived injustice.

He also called on them to work with the party’s elected officials to ensure that APC delivers on its promise of better living conditions for all Nigerians.

The leader of the delegation and chairman of the APC in Kano State, Umar Dogowa, reaffirmed their support for Buhari’s administration, assuring him that they would uphold the values of the party, promote peace and unity in the country.

The president made this declaration because some of the chairmen in states controlled by other parties complained to Buhari of political intimidation and harassment in their states.

Dogowa later told State House correspondents that the APC chairmen were in the Presidential Villa to congratulate the President on his election.

He said Buhari promised them that he would continue to be a true party man and that he would not rest on his oars until Nigeria is back on track.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 5-07-2015 06:18 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EMMYBOSS at 5-07-2015 06:34 AM (8 years ago)
No wahala.  Make em look into Dele Giwa's case.
Posted: at 5-07-2015 06:34 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livingstone80 at 5-07-2015 07:22 AM (8 years ago)
my biafran brothers,lets unite and fight for biafra to come!!!!
Posted: at 5-07-2015 07:22 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- mathzno at 5-07-2015 07:31 AM (8 years ago)
Let's finish Boko Haram issue first. They are waxing stronger and stronger
Posted: at 5-07-2015 07:31 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 5-07-2015 07:36 AM (8 years ago)
wasted generation
Posted: at 5-07-2015 07:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Fashoney at 5-07-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago)
one step @ a time's better Mr president....concentrate on insecurity b4 boko haram finish ur brothers and sisters in the north!!!
Posted: at 5-07-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 5-07-2015 08:37 AM (8 years ago)
ooooooooooh
Posted: at 5-07-2015 08:37 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- XTnote at 5-07-2015 08:52 AM (8 years ago)
Misplaced priority, guess Baba go slow will ve more clueless than GEJ
Posted: at 5-07-2015 08:52 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kenosas at 5-07-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
useless opportunity
Posted: at 5-07-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goldspot at 5-07-2015 09:32 AM (8 years ago)
Nawa oh! The presence of boko haram is waxing stronger on daily basis, wasting lives that were created by God. P M B is doing the wrong thing at the wrong time. Focus on the right things, innocent lives are facing cycles of death and crippling of infrastructural developments. " we are still watching you''. I could remember when you pronounced on air that we shouldn't expect miracle. I can see vividly that the absence of miracle has beckoned.
Posted: at 5-07-2015 09:32 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 5-07-2015 12:02 PM (8 years ago)
May God help you
Posted: at 5-07-2015 12:02 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- climax_man at 5-07-2015 01:42 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 5-07-2015 01:42 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- royalty2008 at 5-07-2015 03:42 PM (8 years ago)
this man is a disgrace,,let him stop taking taking and do something
he has began to soud like broken record
Posted: at 5-07-2015 03:42 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Asekuntile at 5-07-2015 04:33 PM (8 years ago)
God will help ...
Posted: at 5-07-2015 04:33 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- chealseafc at 5-07-2015 05:28 PM (8 years ago)
hope this administration will not be more clueless than the past one.
but if this is your utmost priority, then reopen dele giwa file.
don't forget funsho williams family are still seeking justice and we all know where to start the trace.
Posted: at 5-07-2015 05:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 5-07-2015 06:07 PM (8 years ago)
Do the right thing Mr. President....and don't forget the $15 million laundered to South Africa.
Posted: at 5-07-2015 06:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- royalsam450 at 5-07-2015 06:19 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: xtino on  5-07-2015 08:52 AM
Misplaced priority, guess Baba go slow will ve more clueless than GEJ

You are mad is like u dont have father at home idiot let him do what he like is that ok
Posted: at 5-07-2015 06:19 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- royalsam450 at 5-07-2015 06:21 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Mikkie on  5-07-2015 07:47 AM
one step @ a time's better Mr president....concentrate on insecurity b4 boko haram finish ur brothers and sisters in the north!!!

Please let the president do what he have in mind trust me he will make us happy
Posted: at 5-07-2015 06:21 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 5-07-2015 10:26 PM (8 years ago)
Dats not d most important thg right grandpa. Pls address dis new fuel scarcity and high price of fuel. We bought fuel 110 today.
Posted: at 5-07-2015 10:26 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dennis_005 at 6-07-2015 12:44 AM (8 years ago)
May God help us
Posted: at 6-07-2015 12:44 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

2. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

3. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

4. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

5. Nigerian Man Videos The Living Condition of Immigrants Who Were Not Granted Asylum in Portugal

6. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

7. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

8. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

9. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

10. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

11. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)