Suspected Members Of The ‘Boko Haram’ Sect Threatens To Kill Thisday Journalist

Date: 07-07-2015 8:35 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 7-07-2015 08:35 PM (8 years ago)

Suspected members of the Boko Haram sect have threatened to kill “infidel” Adeola Akinremi, features editor of THISDAY.

You recall that THISDAY itself has previously been a victim of Boko Haram attacks. In April 2012, their Abuja and Kaduna offices suffered simultaneous suicide blasts. The Abuja attack resulted in the death of an employee, three passersby and the suicide bomber, while the Kaduna blast also wreaked damage on the offices of Moment and Sun newspapers.

The death threat this time – conveyed in an email to Akinremi on May 10 but seen by TheCable on Tuesday – was issued after the journalist, upon travelling to Adamawa state to investigate killings by the insurgents and the plight of Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), wrote a piece titled: Why Boko Haram don’t deserve our amnesty.

“We have seen your hand against us . Inshallah you will die like other infidels that we captured,” read the mail, signed by one Abu Musab Abul-Barnawi.
“You have been joining our enemies. You are made yourself their mouth [sic] but we will get you insha Allah. This is a holy mission for Allah, so stop writing against us.
You’re going too Michika calling yourself a brave journalist, but you’re a coward. We will get you. Its your government that talks amnesty, we are not looking for amnesty. Allah is with us. You’re now a walking dead and a prey to the Lions of Islam from the bullet of a passing car or a nearby rooftop.

We are not asking you to repent, because of your error, we will use your blood to send warning to others. Those people from America and Europe that are using you against our mission will soon know the truth. Our wounded fighters will never give up. they will return to fight for Allah to get their reward. Your soldier will soon know the truth.”
Since beginning its three-pronged war against the government, security agencies and religious institutions in 2009, Boko Haram has killed at least two Nigerian journalists.

In October 2011, gunmen suspected to be members of the sect shot dead Zakariyya Isa, a reporter with the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) in Maiduguri, capital of Borno state, “for working against the interests of the sect”.

Isa was shot dead around 7:30 pm in front of his house in Bulunkutu area of the city shortly after leaving the mosque. His assailants traced him to his house, a few metres from the mosque, before opening fire on him.

In January 2012, Enenche Akogwu, the Kano state correspondent of Channels Television, was killed shortly after multiple bomb blasts at the farm centre police station, Kano. Akogwu was trying to find out details of the attack from bystanders when suspected members of the sect emerged, shooting him three times in the chest and another three times in the stomach.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 7-07-2015 08:35 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 7-07-2015 09:02 PM (8 years ago)
nawa
Posted: at 7-07-2015 09:02 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dis4real at 7-07-2015 09:15 PM (8 years ago)
Na waaaaaa ooooooooooo
Posted: at 7-07-2015 09:15 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- babafero at 7-07-2015 09:27 PM (8 years ago)
what will you do if you recieve this kind of treat from this idiots that thinks that they are doing good for their Allah?
Posted: at 7-07-2015 09:27 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- allenspike at 7-07-2015 09:41 PM (8 years ago)
Omo see treat, dia ris God Ooo

Posted: at 7-07-2015 09:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- royalty2008 at 7-07-2015 10:29 PM (8 years ago)
''This is a holy mission for Allah''
Thankn GOD, our GOD is different from yours
We don't fight for our own GOD, HE fight for us
Posted: at 7-07-2015 10:29 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- climax_man at 7-07-2015 10:45 PM (8 years ago)
Eeya,I pray dat God shld protect nd guide us oo
Posted: at 7-07-2015 10:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- climax_man at 7-07-2015 10:45 PM (8 years ago)
Eeya,I pray dat God shld protect nd guide us oo
Posted: at 7-07-2015 10:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mathzno at 8-07-2015 01:37 AM (8 years ago)
Sit Don look Na my name
Posted: at 8-07-2015 01:37 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kelemann at 8-07-2015 06:52 AM (8 years ago)
There's so much contradiction with this BH, he said he doesn't want amnesty and he's attacking someone who says he doesn't deserve amnesty. Anyway, BH was just an instrument of the north to fight GEJ govt which now has gotten out of control.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 06:52 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 8-07-2015 07:15 AM (8 years ago)
wasted generation
Posted: at 8-07-2015 07:15 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- manope at 8-07-2015 08:31 AM (8 years ago)
THISDAY SHOULD MOVE THIS GUY OUT OF THAT AREA QUICK. THE GOVT. MUST AT THIS TIME DEVICE A MEANS OF STOPPING THIS

Posted: at 8-07-2015 08:31 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- ngfineface at 8-07-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago)
The guy should just relocate and hide his head pending hen all these wahala will die down
Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- edpete at 8-07-2015 10:36 AM (8 years ago)
The guy should just relocate from there
Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:36 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nancys at 8-07-2015 11:04 AM (8 years ago)
o boyeeeeeeeeeeee c wahala islam islam islam religion of peace is nw religion of pecies i tank GOD that am a christain bcos i knw my GOD can neva tell me to kill
Posted: at 8-07-2015 11:04 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- royalsam450 at 8-07-2015 11:05 AM (8 years ago)
To what i view this guy need to flew out of this country fast because no were he can hide in nigeria boko allways go outside their teritory to carry out some killing
Posted: at 8-07-2015 11:05 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 8-07-2015 05:15 PM (8 years ago)
Nawao oh for this people
Posted: at 8-07-2015 05:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 14-08-2015 08:45 PM (8 years ago)
Dem no fit. Rubbish
Posted: at 14-08-2015 08:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. JUST IN: Bobrisky Moved To Kirikiri Prison

2. VIDEO: Woman Arrested After Taking Dead Uncle To The Bank To Secure A Loan

3. Lagos Govt Raids Street Miscreants, Arrest 12 For Sleeping Under Elegushi Bridge (Video)

4. Nigerian Army Detains Two Soldiers Over Alleged Theft In Dangote Refinery

5. Junior Pope Did Not Drown, Nigerian Lady Claims As She Shares Dream She Had (Video)

6. Nigerian Army Rescues Another Chibok Girl 10 Years After Her Abduction

7. Oluwo Tells EFCC About A Spirit In Yoruba That Forces People To Spray Money Uncontrollably

8. Bobrisky Jailed, Cubana Chief Priest Granted Bail For Same Offense - Timi Agbaje Clarifies

9. Billionaire Daughter, DJ Cuppy Announces 2024 As Her Best Year Yet

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video