"All Teachers Must Be Computer Literate or They Won't Be Promoted" Warns Anambra State Govt

Date: 08-07-2015 9:54 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 8-07-2015 09:54 AM (8 years ago)

The Anambra State government through its Commissioner for Education, Prof. Kate Omenugha has said it is mandatory for all teachers in the state to be computer literate, or such teacher should forget about promotion. The commissioner said though a lot of the teachers have been frowning against this development that would bring improvement in the education sector, but any teacher that fails to acquire the knowledge before January 2016 should forget about being promoted. Such teachers will remain where they are, she explained to journalists yesterday in her office. “There has been misinformation and misconception, with bad blood being generated on the policy of one-teacher-one-computer. When the NCE took the decision in 2012, it was binding on all states and because of the forward-looking nature of the present administration, we decided to implement it.
“When we took over, the state government evolved a blueprint on the implementation of the one-teacher-one-laptop policy and by January 2016, every teacher in the state must be computer literate, otherwise there will be no promotion for non-computer literate teachers.
“Similarly, any new teacher to be employed in the state must be computer literate. What we promised Anambra State people is to give our children an education that is competitive and no pupil can rise above his teacher that is not computer literate, a situation we do not want.
“We made it clear that teachers should key in into the programme voluntarily. It is not mandatory, contrary to what many people are insinuating. We know that making changes often come with resistance, but this is one change that is important for the future of education in our state,” she said.

Posted: at 8-07-2015 09:54 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dembal at 8-07-2015 10:17 AM (8 years ago)
WELL-DONE  MA
Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:17 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- allenspike at 8-07-2015 10:21 AM (8 years ago)
Very Gud

Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:21 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- edpete at 8-07-2015 10:26 AM (8 years ago)
Good one
Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:26 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mobbysmartins at 8-07-2015 10:28 AM (8 years ago)
Hey Prof what,can you just shut up and do the right thing.If you want the teachers to be computer literate,then make out a steady and a running program to teach the teachers,in fact that running program will serve a double purpose of teaching the teachers computer,as well as the student.I said shut up because you as a professor know even the universities are a mess.I did Computer 101 and Computer 102 in first and second semester of my Year 1 in University of Nigeria(UNN).I got A in both courses,when I look back it is very so funny because then,that was 1994,I never saw a computer before,so how can I get A in both computer 101 and 102 when I have not seen a computer before???.It is a mess,the education system is a mess,so Madam Prof. do not just pick on teachers alone,where do you want the teachers to learn computer?,when undergraduates in the best universities in Nigeria cannot access one,is it the College of Education that will give them one??.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- joromy at 8-07-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago)
I GO SUPPLY EACH OF THEN A BUNCH OF LAPTOPS, DEY SHOULD GIVE ME THE LIST OF THE TEACHERS AND THE STUDENTS.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Troublemenot at 8-07-2015 10:55 AM (8 years ago)
What for when most of the schools they are teaching dont even have a computer and the government has no plan to supply them any
Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:55 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Obaneski at 8-07-2015 11:25 AM (8 years ago)
it is very imperitive...Gud move, i luv dis.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 11:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- royalty2008 at 8-07-2015 11:56 AM (8 years ago)
Good
Posted: at 8-07-2015 11:56 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 8-07-2015 02:21 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Mobbysmartins on  8-07-2015 10:28 AM
Hey Prof what,can you just shut up and do the right thing.If you want the teachers to be computer literate,then make out a steady and a running program to teach the teachers,in fact that running program will serve a double purpose of teaching the teachers computer,as well as the student.I said shut up because you as a professor know even the universities are a mess.I did Computer 101 and Computer 102 in first and second semester of my Year 1 in University of Nigeria(UNN).I got A in both courses,when I look back it is very so funny because then,that was 1994,I never saw a computer before,so how can I get A in both computer 101 and 102 when I have not seen a computer before???.It is a mess,the education system is a mess,so Madam Prof. do not just pick on teachers alone,where do you want the teachers to learn computer?,when undergraduates in the best universities in Nigeria cannot access one,is it the College of Education that will give them one??.
very well said......and to imagine that she is giving them until Jan 2016 (5 months), to be computer literate
Posted: at 8-07-2015 02:21 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SOGaiya at 8-07-2015 03:17 PM (8 years ago)
Stupid service needed
Posted: at 8-07-2015 03:17 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fazob at 8-07-2015 03:28 PM (8 years ago)
Some one who tells u to be computer literate, is not doing u any bad. she is only telling u to be modern and civilise. Be wise and equip your self, follow the trend of event 
Posted: at 8-07-2015 03:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 8-07-2015 05:25 PM (8 years ago)
Good to hear
Posted: at 8-07-2015 05:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- beautysharp at 8-07-2015 05:29 PM (8 years ago)
They are trying to impose the laptop on the teachers after which they will be deducting 5000 from their salaries for 18months. A widow being an NCE holder with 32000 salary when u deduct 5000 how will she cope with her children for that 18months. Its not fair
Posted: at 8-07-2015 05:29 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beautysharp at 8-07-2015 05:41 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Fazob on  8-07-2015 03:28 PM
Some one who tells u to be computer literate, is not doing u any bad. she is only telling u to be modern and civilise. Be wise and equip your self, follow the trend of event 
By extorting #5000 from d poor teachers every month. call a spade a spade.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 05:41 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 8-07-2015 09:31 PM (8 years ago)
ooooooh
Posted: at 8-07-2015 09:31 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 9-07-2015 07:13 AM (8 years ago)
make una ask her, the governor wey send her na computer literate him b?Huh??? wasted generation
Posted: at 9-07-2015 07:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 14-08-2015 07:44 PM (8 years ago)
Good move. Everybody must learn computer by force
Posted: at 14-08-2015 07:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Reactions As FFK's Wife, Dr Precious Drops a Cryptic Post, Hints at Separating From Hubby Again

2. Lady Recounts How 4 Abuja Big Boys Abandoned Her & Her Friend In A Nightclub After Spending N2m

3. Wife Left Reeling After Hubby's Abrupt Behavior After Returning Home To Find His Friend Dining

4. 53-yr-old Allen Adeyemi Tejan Identified As Victim Of Fatal Assault In Sunderland Tragedy

5. Newlywed Seeks Advice Amid Husband's Proposal For 'Swinging' With His Best Friend And Wife

6. Top Secret About Mohbad’s Son DNA - Blogger Stella Dimokokorkus Unveils

7. Nigerian Govt Kept My Husband In Jail With Boko Haram Members – Wife Of Detained Binance Execut

8. BREAKING: FG Approves Salary Increase For Civil Servants

9. Man, Hanif Johnson Jailed Three Times Becomes Youngest Judge In Pennsylvania

10. Reactions As Mohbad Wife, Wunmi Allegedly Secretly Undergoes Two DNA Tests

11. Sweet Husband - Nigerian Lady Hails Her Man For Tattooing Her Face on His Chest

12. Bishop Returns To The Pulpit With An Eye Patch Weeks After He Was Repeatedly Stabbed (Video)

13. Joint Forces Eliminate Senior ISIS Commander, Abu Huzeifa In Sahel Region

14. Nigeria President Son, Seyi Tinubu Has Offered To Reconcile Wizkid, Davido – Miami

15. Six Travellers Burnt Beyond Recognition In Enugu State (Photos)

16. Tragedy Strikes as 11-Year-Old Boy, Iremide Opeifa Drowns In Ogun State Hotel Pool

17. Afrobeat Singer, Davido And Chioma Show Off Matching Customized Diamond Rings, “001 And 002”

18. BBN Stars, Doyin, Tacha Hit Hard On Wizkid Over Comment On Davido, Don Jazzy

19. Mother Of Four Hacked To Death By Neighbour & His Son In Edo While Intervening In Fight

20. Drama As Power Outage Disrupts Minister Of Power,Adelabu's Address At National Assembly Hearing

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

6. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

9. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

10. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)