How Late Gen. Abacha Died, His Personal Doctor Shed More Light on his Mysterious Death

Date: 08-07-2015 3:17 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 8-07-2015 03:17 PM (8 years ago)
Professor Sadiq Suleiman Wali was General Sani Abacha’s personal doctor. Professor Wali spoke to the press, revealing the details of Abacha’s sudden death seventeen years after his mysterious demise.

An event in 1998 has changed the Nigerian history. By June 1998 Sani Abacha had ruled Nigeria for almost five years. Isolated by the West, Abacha had promised democratic election and a transition to the civilian rule by October 1998, but with just months to go the country’s five licensed political parties all nominated general Abacha as their candidate for president, his rule looked set to continue.Professor Sadiq Suleiman Wali was General Sani Abacha’s personal doctor. Professor Wali describes Abacha as “a quiet person, calm person. He could be really firm on some issues, but normally he didn’t talk much.”  Professor Wali has served as physician to the three previous Nigerian heads of state after being reluctantly recruited to that role in the early 1980-s. He considered himself politically neutral and lived outside the sprawling heavily guarded presidential complex known as Aso Rock in the capital Abuja. But he was a fixture in the presidential entourage. Professor Wali says Abacha’s health was OK just before his death. “Abacha was generally healthy though he had some health issues, he was treated, he’s responded [to that treatment] very well. He didn’t have any heart-related diseases at that time.” On the 7 of June, 1998  Wali’d been with Abacha, as he hosted the Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat and all seemed well. The next morning General Sani Abacha was due to fly to the OAU summit being held in Burkina-Faso and professor Wali was due to go with him. Professor Wali recounts that “around 6 am I had a phone call from his security officers, and they said, “please come, come to the villa, come urgently!”  Before I even could get ready, they came and picked me. I had no idea what it all was about.” The car carrying the doctor sped towards the presidential villa through a special entrance – a shortcut which only the president was allowed to use.The doctor realised something was seriously wrong.
I arrived then I saw chief security there and he said “doctor come in, please, come in!” We all rushed and I just saw the president. There was another doctor who came earlier, resuscitating him. Abacha was in the sitting room. He was on the couch. He was in his normal work clothes. I didn’t panic. I’ve seen a lot of serious problems before in my practice, but to affect him was very tough, definitely. I joined and we did as much as we could to resuscitate him. But I realised that he was dead because he was firming. We just continued resuscitation and even injected some things, but it didn’t work.”
After 40 minutes trying to resuscitate the stricken General Professor Wali declared that General Abacha had died. “I said, sorry – there’s nothing we can do”. There was no immediate public announcement, in the country prone to coups Abacha’s head of security first increased the guard around the presidential complex and then called the heads of the armed forces to gather to decide on the replacement. “Immediately the security officer took over, and he invited all the service chiefs to come to Abuja, by then most of them were based in Lagos.” says doctor Wali. When the service chiefs arrived, some of them asked to see the body to pay their respect to their former leader “They wanted to make sure, that he is dead. And some of them were crying” – tells Wali.

Professor informed the family of what have happened. Obviously, the sudden death of an apparently healthy head of state raised a few questions. Professor Wali was determined that there should be an autopsy to find out what caused the sudden heart attack. After much deliberating, the family declined, preferring the quick burial in line with Islamic tradition. But the doctor was determined to find some clues as to what have happened. “I still try to take some samples of blood and urine and hair and things like that, just thinking for the future chemical tests,”

Professor Wali said, adding that “it’s very difficult to say [whether he died of natural causes]. What I can see. The blood test we did, has shown some raised cardiac enzymes [proteins that are released into the blood by dying heart muscles].That’s why we thought maybe it was cardiac attack.”
Every Nigerian has his own theory about what happened to General Abacha. There are rumours that he has been poisoned, or that he spent a night entertaining young ladies. Professor Wali conmented on those rumours that “when I entered [Abacha’s premises], there were no ladies. It might be true but I did not see them. Concerning the poison, as I said no post-mortem has been done, so I couldn’t assure whether he was poisoned or it was a heart attack.”
While the generals deliberated on who would take over, plans were made to take Abacha’s body in his hometown of Kano later that day. It was decided to finally tell the public what had happened.  But the mystery around Abacha’s death still remains seventeen years after his sudden and unexpected demise.

Posted: at 8-07-2015 03:17 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- edpete at 8-07-2015 04:01 PM (8 years ago)
We thank God for everything
Posted: at 8-07-2015 04:01 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- royalty2008 at 8-07-2015 04:02 PM (8 years ago)
Wonderful
R.I.P Abacha
Posted: at 8-07-2015 04:02 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Anny01 at 8-07-2015 04:05 PM (8 years ago)
This smells like a fresh shit and the sound is louder than that of a sound-track.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 04:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bobchuks at 8-07-2015 04:11 PM (8 years ago)
hmmmmmm
Posted: at 8-07-2015 04:11 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Blessed75 at 8-07-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago)
Abacha deserve to die 
Posted: at 8-07-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Blessed75 at 8-07-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago)
Abacha deserve to die  
Posted: at 8-07-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 8-07-2015 04:53 PM (8 years ago)
You ended up saying nothing. Thought you researched and found out the cause of his death. Don't know you are still mystery-mizing in your thoughts. Mtcheeeew
Posted: at 8-07-2015 04:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kelemann at 8-07-2015 04:58 PM (8 years ago)
Nobody deserves to die my people. Bcos some sections of the country painted him like the devil doesn't mean that he was totally evil. Apart from annulling June 12 election, Obasanjo did everything like Abacha. ( eg 3rd term bid or life president, killing of all political opponents! Odi killing, etc) and some section of Nigeria still see him as their hero.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 04:58 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ada100 at 8-07-2015 05:24 PM (8 years ago)
stale news. not interested at all
Posted: at 8-07-2015 05:24 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 8-07-2015 05:31 PM (8 years ago)
Gone for ever
Posted: at 8-07-2015 05:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dis4real at 8-07-2015 06:01 PM (8 years ago)
Nothing revealing
Posted: at 8-07-2015 06:01 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ogochukwupaul at 8-07-2015 06:34 PM (8 years ago)
If Abacha was to be alive today, believe me there will be no boko terrorist in Nigeria.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 06:34 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- nametalkam at 8-07-2015 06:54 PM (8 years ago)
Forget story, ba Indian girls come give am apple chop, he chop the apple na hin e die

Posted: at 8-07-2015 06:54 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- johnsample at 8-07-2015 06:58 PM (8 years ago)
Boohari will be next..
Posted: at 8-07-2015 06:58 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- ignis99 at 8-07-2015 08:54 PM (8 years ago)
Respect
Posted: at 8-07-2015 08:54 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 8-07-2015 09:07 PM (8 years ago)
oooooooh
Posted: at 8-07-2015 09:07 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- darylsmith at 8-07-2015 09:23 PM (8 years ago)
IF only we can wake up and see the hands really running the show
If they dont want you there and you remain
dey do strong head
they send the Jackals after you
If you win election by popular votes
and they want their guy there
The will vanish you
If they put you there
and you forget to do what they tell you
The vultures will be sent out to expire you
My ppl all that you see is film trick
slight of hand
Abracadabra
Posted: at 8-07-2015 09:23 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- freeway001 at 8-07-2015 10:23 PM (8 years ago)
I pray God Almighty will burn you to burnt.  All money stolen by Abacha can never be recovered.
Devilish devil. Why wouldn't he die surdenly?remember  That bastard met up with pop, wearing black black most probably drunk.  All you family members will surfer from what you made nigeria going through till today Amen.
Posted: at 8-07-2015 10:23 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dennis_005 at 9-07-2015 12:23 AM (8 years ago)
God knows
Posted: at 9-07-2015 12:23 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

4. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

5. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

6. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

7. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

10. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

11. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

12. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

13. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

14. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

15. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

16. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

17. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

18. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

19. BREAKING: Tragedy As 4 Year Old Boy Dies In Abuja School Amid Suspicion Of Foul Play

20. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

10. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So