The War Planes We Are Using To Fight Boko Haram Were Bought In 1981! - Alex Badeh

Date: 03-08-2015 2:56 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 3-08-2015 02:56 PM (8 years ago)

In an interview with us, immediate past Chief of Defence staff, Alex Badeh said the last time the Nigerian army received new equipment was in 2006 and that the Nigerian military flies the oldest fighter jets in the whole world.
"We found out that we had fifth columnist in the military that were leaking information to terrorist and then we also had challenges of serviceable equipment. If I go down memory lane, I think the last time any piece of equipment was bought for the Nigerian army was in 2006 and how many were they? They were few. In fact they were few and if we go way back to 1993, from then on, soldiers were not allowed to even go to range to go and practice.
"So a soldier that is not practicing how to use his gun, what kind of military are you going to have? So those were the challenges we had so when we were faced with Boko Haram, it became a very big challenge. We have been trying to increase the military by ourselves. You don't give me budget and say go and build barracks. Barracks is capital intensive. So even if we recruit so many people in the military now, we don't have where to house them. So it is a challenge too that government must face. Government must build barracks for us so that we can recruit more.
"For a population of over 170 million, what we have in Nigeria can not be adequate enough to protect us So those were the challenges we had. Inadequate equipment, obsolete equipment. In fact we are the ones that are flying the oldest fighter aeroplanes in the whole world. Alpha jets we bought them in 1981. That is the backbone of our operations in the Northeast"
he said
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jcmtm7Dp9GQ&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jcmtm7Dp9GQ&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>

Posted: at 3-08-2015 02:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 3-08-2015 03:10 PM (8 years ago)
What did they do with the military budget……?
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jcmtm7Dp9GQ" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jcmtm7Dp9GQ</a>

Posted: at 3-08-2015 03:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 3-08-2015 03:12 PM (8 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad so it is now you are telling us this.
Posted: at 3-08-2015 03:12 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 3-08-2015 03:15 PM (8 years ago)
So what is the penalty to those columnist that leak information to boko haram or are the untouched? Instead u were quick to sentence innocent soldiers to death because they run for their dear lives because u refused to equip em with enough amo to stand against a well equipped boko haram. Rubbish!!!
Posted: at 3-08-2015 03:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Spatacuss at 3-08-2015 03:24 PM (8 years ago)
All the flight Gets and weapons that you surpose to buy are already in your BIG BELY's now you are crying for what? CALAMITY
Posted: at 3-08-2015 03:24 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Activated at 3-08-2015 03:26 PM (8 years ago)
But you were in that military as a senior officer for decades, so you are part of the decadence in the military
Posted: at 3-08-2015 03:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- chealseafc at 3-08-2015 03:27 PM (8 years ago)
i'm ashamed of been called a Nigerian.
corruption has eaten too deep into the foundation of Nigeria.
i wonder why and how we came about been called the giant of Africa.
don't tell me you don't know those who are sabotaging the military's effort.
we know them, but tribalism and religion will not allow us to take the appropriate action.
BOKO HARAM will be a history in few weeks if the northerners want it so.
if the truth must be told, they are the brain behind BK.
Posted: at 3-08-2015 03:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mary11 at 3-08-2015 04:26 PM (8 years ago)
can dis fool just shut up
I remember when a northern governor said boko haram have more sophisticated weapon than the Nigeria army,the same idiot came out to refute the claim, so why is he coming out now 2 say trash

Posted: at 3-08-2015 04:26 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- OmniWheezy at 3-08-2015 05:01 PM (8 years ago)
Rubbish NONSENSE
Posted: at 3-08-2015 05:01 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 3-08-2015 05:34 PM (8 years ago)
Talk is cheap
Posted: at 3-08-2015 05:34 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- edpete at 3-08-2015 06:32 PM (8 years ago)
Na wah ooo
Posted: at 3-08-2015 06:32 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fashoney at 3-08-2015 06:51 PM (8 years ago)
Foolish excuses!!!
Posted: at 3-08-2015 06:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 3-08-2015 08:00 PM (8 years ago)
Sebi grandpa don buy na abi if america no sell for am, make he go rissian na.
Posted: at 3-08-2015 08:00 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mercymadu at 3-08-2015 08:32 PM (8 years ago)
the amo  wey una don carry give them boko haram finish? abi who they supply them? 
Posted: at 3-08-2015 08:32 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 3-08-2015 08:45 PM (8 years ago)
trash
Posted: at 3-08-2015 08:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 3-08-2015 08:54 PM (8 years ago)
ooooooooh
Posted: at 3-08-2015 08:54 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sangofire at 3-08-2015 11:49 PM (8 years ago)
JONATHAN BOYS don dey open up, where the trillions wey him budget for security, yeyeh
Posted: at 3-08-2015 11:49 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- 50scent at 4-08-2015 02:34 AM (8 years ago)
Can someone take his or her time to explain to me what happened in this article .

Posted: at 4-08-2015 02:34 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dennis_005 at 4-08-2015 02:51 AM (8 years ago)
Why can't you resign that time, Ole with big Belle, 
Posted: at 4-08-2015 02:51 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dleg at 4-08-2015 05:50 AM (8 years ago)
Hypocrite. Why did you prosecute the noble soldiers that made the same complain you are making now?
These are the kind of people we have as leaders full of mediocrity.
Posted: at 4-08-2015 05:50 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac