Former Lagos Governor, Fashola Accused Of Spending N78.3m ($391,000) To Build A Personalized Website

Date: 08-08-2015 7:05 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-08-2015 07:05 AM (8 years ago)

Yet again, another report, be it outrageous is currently trending on twitter. The story is on an alleged personal website by Fashola which reportedly developed for a whooping $391,000. I can confidently inform you as a blogger, and a social media consultant that, unless, Fashola that we all believe is reasonable guy has gone loopy in the head, how on earth would he have approved a budget of $391,000 on his personal website? In any case, upon visiting the supposed WordPress developed template, it was nothing to write home about.

I had assumed I was going to see a responsive template with modern features. It wasn’t to be. I am totally disappointed with the site of the caliber of Fashola. No current jazzy feature. Same old drab, dull unattractive font type website. It lacks creativity.

The tab arrangement is unattractive. Personally, I wouldn’t go back to visit. I am almost certain it’s not a wordpress template. Therefore, I would suggest the report is a smear campaign. Nothing more. Unless, I am proven wrong. I would expect Fashola to come out fighting his corner. My frustration is with the majority of Nigerians who are headline readers.

They read and take it as the gospel without any research or verification of story. With social media, anyone can pen a story and get Omojuwa or Tolu Ogunlesi to re-tweet and, bang, it trends. It’s crazy!

News report that former governor of Lagos State, Babatunde Raji Fashola shelled N78.3million ($391,000) of Lagos tax-payers money on his personal website, has stirred a huge buzz on twitter.

In tweets and retweets, commentators have been expressing derision and disgust that the former governor could have approved such a questionable expenditure under his watch.

The consensus is that the cost was grossly exaggerated and over-inflated.

A WordPress website, like http://tundefashola.com/ should not cost more than N3million, according to expert opinions.

The story was broken by BudgIT, quoting a budget report on the website of the Lagos State Public Procurement Agency.

The contract was awarded in 2014 to “Info Access Plus Limited”. A Google search by TheNEWS did not turn anything out about the company.

Below are some outraged comments on twitter:

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 8-08-2015 07:05 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 8-08-2015 07:24 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmm I don't believe dis story. Fashola is more decent compare to Tinubu and Ambode join together wen it cums to credibility.
Posted: at 8-08-2015 07:24 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- elchymo at 8-08-2015 08:18 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa oo Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-08-2015 08:18 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ritabrenice at 8-08-2015 09:45 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 8-08-2015 09:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jasperjahsy at 8-08-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago)
I think he want us to visit the site
Posted: at 8-08-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 8-08-2015 10:53 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 8-08-2015 10:53 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 8-08-2015 10:57 AM (8 years ago)
yeye dey smell
Posted: at 8-08-2015 10:57 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- PoliticxGuru at 8-08-2015 11:23 AM (8 years ago)
fake news
Posted: at 8-08-2015 11:23 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ignis99 at 8-08-2015 11:27 AM (8 years ago)
hmmmmm
Posted: at 8-08-2015 11:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 8-08-2015 11:46 AM (8 years ago)
Fashola is a thief
Posted: at 8-08-2015 11:46 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 8-08-2015 12:40 PM (8 years ago)
I wept for my beloved country Nigeria after watching the video in the early days of Nigeria when Prime Minister Abubakar Belewa Visited USA July 25Th 1961, What a glorious welcome of a Hero and Great Nation of Nigeria, What happen to the legacy and pride of Nigeria? Just imagine Cameroon and Gabon deporting Nigerias, what a shame of a country were leaders loot treasury of the people to enrich themselves
Posted: at 8-08-2015 12:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Omego45 at 8-08-2015 01:04 PM (8 years ago)
Na wa o! Want dis yoroba man wan use websyd do.@slimchery wat av u don 2 change or corect dis dat is hapning?
Posted: at 8-08-2015 01:04 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- christianity at 8-08-2015 01:24 PM (8 years ago)
its not news
Posted: at 8-08-2015 01:24 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 8-08-2015 02:50 PM (8 years ago)
This is not true.....no way this site is not worth more than $5,000  or less.
Posted: at 8-08-2015 02:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Danas1 at 8-08-2015 04:21 PM (8 years ago)
I don't believe this!!assuming they said he spent it on women,l for agree
Posted: at 8-08-2015 04:21 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Danas1 at 8-08-2015 04:22 PM (8 years ago)
I don't believe this!!assuming they said he spent it on women,l for agree
Posted: at 8-08-2015 04:22 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 8-08-2015 04:30 PM (8 years ago)
ooooooooooh
Posted: at 8-08-2015 04:30 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chealseafc at 8-08-2015 05:42 PM (8 years ago)
i will not be surprise if this story happens to be true.
we have leaders with questionable characters.
and Fashola might be one of them.
i pity PMB on this fight against corruption of a thing,
because all his associates are all highly corrupt.
so where is he going to start from?.
Posted: at 8-08-2015 05:42 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yukiigb at 8-08-2015 07:12 PM (8 years ago)
I no believe ooo
Posted: at 8-08-2015 07:12 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- royalsam450 at 8-08-2015 09:51 PM (8 years ago)
Even he do this is the only yoruba man i respect so much he has set a record for all governors in africa not only nigeria u are still my best man fash i belive if u are with PMB all is well with my presido but others yoruba are nama geskia nee
Posted: at 8-08-2015 09:51 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming