I Will Prosecute Those Who Stole National Resources In Few Weeks, Buhari Tells Abubakar, Oritsejafor

Date: 11-08-2015 9:53 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 11-08-2015 09:53 PM (8 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari said Tuesday in Abuja that the prosecution of persons who have stolen national resources will begin in a matter of weeks.

Speaking at a meeting with members of the National Peace Committee led by Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar in the Presidential Villa, President Buhari declared that his administration was irrevocably committed to doing all within its powers to break the vicious cycle of corruption, unemployment and insecurity in Nigeria.

“Nigeria has to break this vicious cycle before we can make progress,” the President said, adding that his administration was diligently getting facts and figures pertaining to the nation’s stolen funds, before proceeding to the prosecution of identified culprits.

President Buhari told General Abdulsalami and members of his committee that the Federal Government, under his leadership, will not only ask for the return of stolen funds that have been stashed in foreign banks, but will also ensure that those who stole the funds are put on trial in Nigeria.

The President also said that as part of its actions to address the national problems it inherited, his administration was reorganising Nigeria’s revenue generating institutions.

The President explained that a single treasury account had been established for all Federal revenue to ensure greater probity, transparency and accountability in the collection, disbursement and utilisation of national funds.

“We have really degenerated as a country. Our national institutions, including the military, which did wonderfully on foreign missions in the past, have been compromised. But we are doing something about it. The military is now retraining and morale has been resuscitated.

“As Petroleum Minister under Gen. Olusegun Obasanjo in the 1970s, I could not travel abroad until I had taken a memo to the Federal Executive Council asking for estacode. Now, everybody does what he wants.

“That is why security-wise and economically, we’re in trouble,” President Buhari told his guests, adding that those who have stolen the national wealth “will be in court in a matter of weeks and Nigerians will know those who have short-changed them.”

Gen. Abubakar and members of his committee urged the Federal Government to be guided by the rule of law in its fight against corruption.

Members of the National Peace Committee who accompanied Gen Abubakar on the visit were Bishop Matthew Hassan Kukah, His Eminence, Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar, the Sultan of Sokoto, Cardinal John Onaiyekan, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor, President of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) and Archbishop Nicholas Okoh, Primate of the Anglican Church of Nigeria.

Others were Justice Rose Ukeje (rtd), Prof Ameze Guobadia, Vanguard Newspaper Publisher, Sam Amuka, Dame Priscilla Kuye, Senator Ben Obi, Dr. Yunusa Tanko, and Dr Arthur-Martin Aginam.

The National Peace Committee, formed before the 2015 general elections, was granted permission by the President to transform to a National Peace Council.

Speaking to state house correspondents after the meeting, Rev Kukah who was part of the delegation said
“It (the way corruption war is being fought) is not heating up the polity. In our conversation with President Jonathan and members of the parties, I don’t think any Nigerian is in favour of corruption or is against the President’s commitment to ensuring that we turn a new leaf. I think what we are concerned about is the process. It is no longer a military regime and under our existing laws, everybody is innocent until proven guilty. Again, our own commitment is not to intimidate or fight anybody, the former President’s commitment and what he did still remains spectacular and I think that President Buhari himself appreciates that. So, our effort really is to make sure that the right thing is done.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 11-08-2015 09:53 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OlasubomiD at 11-08-2015 09:55 PM (8 years ago)
This man is on fireeeeee
Posted: at 11-08-2015 09:55 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 11-08-2015 09:57 PM (8 years ago)
ok na let wait and see!! 
Posted: at 11-08-2015 09:57 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- chealseafc at 11-08-2015 10:00 PM (8 years ago)
too much talk, talk.
grand pa, start your action na.
Posted: at 11-08-2015 10:00 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uplogsa at 11-08-2015 10:01 PM (8 years ago)
Baba mouth no action abeg make we hear word jare
Posted: at 11-08-2015 10:01 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Spatacuss at 11-08-2015 10:09 PM (8 years ago)
Wasted Noice..... But i still belive you will do it.. Untill then
Posted: at 11-08-2015 10:09 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 11-08-2015 10:31 PM (8 years ago)
oooooh
Posted: at 11-08-2015 10:31 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bright1love at 11-08-2015 10:43 PM (8 years ago)
START FROM IBB
Posted: at 11-08-2015 10:43 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- yukiigb at 11-08-2015 10:53 PM (8 years ago)
OK na
Posted: at 11-08-2015 10:53 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- freethinker at 11-08-2015 10:58 PM (8 years ago)
Confused man
Posted: at 11-08-2015 10:58 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cynubani at 11-08-2015 11:06 PM (8 years ago)
Start fro boko haram that is killing ur pple before fighting those that stole our money
Posted: at 11-08-2015 11:06 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Obaneski at 11-08-2015 11:35 PM (8 years ago)
talk don dey 2 much.. na action dey loud pass
Posted: at 11-08-2015 11:35 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 11-08-2015 11:42 PM (8 years ago)
may Almighty God help fulfill your dreams
Posted: at 11-08-2015 11:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 12-08-2015 12:14 AM (8 years ago)
It's only a matter of time. Baba crush dem one by one Roll Eyes
Posted: at 12-08-2015 12:14 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Fashoney at 12-08-2015 12:16 AM (8 years ago)
No to corruption is all we need..GMB,carry go,
                   Baba go slow
                   Look road!
Posted: at 12-08-2015 12:16 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Anny01 at 12-08-2015 01:03 AM (8 years ago)
We've heard all the promises hundreds of times. Start acting pls.
Posted: at 12-08-2015 01:03 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 12-08-2015 01:08 AM (8 years ago)
Very very good,fantastic.But start from OBJ's time as a Military Head of States,then proceed to Shehu Shagari,after Shagari it will be you and since he that goes to EQUITY goes with clean hands,we Nigerians will appreciate it if you honorably jettison your immunity and probe yourself too,after all what is good for the goose is also good for the chicks.After probing yourself,kindly proceed to the Maradona of Minna IBB,from there go to Ernest Shoneko,then get Abacha's wife and children to do some accounting,call the gentle general Abdulsalami and probe him too,some informed people says he is one of the biggest looters,go back to OBJ again,call Turai Yaradua and her daughters to do some accounting,then get Goodluck Jonathan and do whatever you want to do to him if you find him guilty of looting.But any prosecution or probe or probing that does not follow this pattern will backfire on you and by the time you realize it,you may have bitten more than you can chew.Nigeria belongs to all of us,not to a particular set of people.May God give you the wisdom to do what is right and protect you from setting a fire that will consume all of us.Most importantly may God open your eyes to see the vultures around you.Thank you my President.
Posted: at 12-08-2015 01:08 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 12-08-2015 01:22 AM (8 years ago)
That's good Mr. President.
Posted: at 12-08-2015 01:22 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 12-08-2015 02:32 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Mobbysmartins on 12-08-2015 01:08 AM
Very very good,fantastic.But start from OBJ's time as a Military Head of States,then proceed to Shehu Shagari,after Shagari it will be you and since he that goes to EQUITY goes with clean hands,we Nigerians will appreciate it if you honorably jettison your immunity and probe yourself too,after all what is good for the goose is also good for the chicks.After probing yourself,kindly proceed to the Maradona of Minna IBB,from there go to Ernest Shoneko,then get Abacha's wife and children to do some accounting,call the gentle general Abdulsalami and probe him too,some informed people says he is one of the biggest looters,go back to OBJ again,call Turai Yaradua and her daughters to do some accounting,then get Goodluck Jonathan and do whatever you want to do to him if you find him guilty of looting.But any prosecution or probe or probing that does not follow this pattern will backfire on you and by the time you realize it,you may have bitten more than you can chew.Nigeria belongs to all of us,not to a particular set of people.May God give you the wisdom to do what is right and protect you from setting a fire that will consume all of us.Most importantly may God open your eyes to see the vultures around you.Thank you my President.

my guy you tried.
but only if he will listen.
Posted: at 12-08-2015 02:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Propheto at 12-08-2015 03:14 AM (8 years ago)
President Buhari please Start from IBB to Sanusi . Then you go to OBJ to Tinumbu ,after that you come to GOODLUCK to T. Orji
Posted: at 12-08-2015 03:14 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu