Babangida Says He Misses Abiola, 22yrs After Denying Him Presidency

Date: 17-08-2015 6:22 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 17-08-2015 06:22 AM (8 years ago)

Former Military President, General Ibrahim Babangida (rtd), yesterday, said he still misses the man he denied presidency 22 years ago, late Chief Moshood Abiola, who died in government detention in 1998.

Speaking at an interactive session with journalists in Minna, Niger State ahead of his 74th birthday anniversary, Babangida who annuled the 1993 election believed to have been won by Abiola said last week, he searched for one of the letters Abiola wrote him and re-read it.

“Let me see, last week, I dug out one of the letters he wrote to me and I read it. So, that shows that I still miss him.”

Babangida commended the Federal Government on its renewed offensive against the Boko Haram insurgency, saying so far, the government has performed well.
“So far, I am confident that they are doing well. They have identified the problems and they look resolute in confronting these problems head-on and there are a lot of people in the society who are offering a lot of sound advice on what to do.”

Commenting on the state of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), which he once belonged to, the former military president said: “I think one of the good things we are experiencing in this country is that for 16 years there has been democracy and democratic practices in the country.

“A lot of things must have gone wrong somewhere and the right judges are the people and the people have spoken. I think it is natural they needed a change after 16 years and they did what is right. They did not go wild, they did not fight anybody; they used their ballot papers to change the government. I think this is the beauty of what happened.
“I look forward to such practices in the next 50 years of democratic practice in this country. I hope they learn from their mistakes, what they did wrong, what they did right and what they can do now to re-launch their party,” he said.

Commenting on President Muhammadu Buhari’s vow to recover stolen funds from the nation’s treasury, Babangida said: “During the tenure of my boss, President Obasanjo, he had a similar strategy and to be fair to him, he made a lot of recoveries. So, we should support this present Federal Government, which is trying to do the same to achieve the same objective. If that objective is pursued reverently, I believe it will achieve some degree of stolen funds.

“You talk about oil theft, I am sure President Buhari is resolute to stamp out all those and to bring to book all those who have tampered in stealing our oil,” he said.
Babangida turns 74 today.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 17-08-2015 06:22 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Lateef67 at 17-08-2015 06:35 AM (8 years ago)
Na hm know betrayer
Posted: at 17-08-2015 06:35 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livingstonee at 17-08-2015 06:44 AM (8 years ago)
You cause all the pain! If you have allowed abiola to rule maybe by now that evil country may be a Good country
Posted: at 17-08-2015 06:44 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 17-08-2015 06:46 AM (8 years ago)
just look the man very well..na from there nigeria problem start..
Posted: at 17-08-2015 06:46 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moralemike07 at 17-08-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago)
Nigerians miss him too.
Posted: at 17-08-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ineffableGod at 17-08-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago)
By shamelessly admitting that he misses Abiola , I get the feeling that he is trying to insult the sensibilities of the Abiola family in particular, and the Nigerian public in general. This Mongrel should just keep his stinky mouth shut while posterity remains his judge.
Posted: at 17-08-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- victorstic1 at 17-08-2015 06:51 AM (8 years ago)
IF U REALLY MISS HIM WHICH I DOUBT JUST WRITE A NOTE THAT U MISS ABIOLA SO MUCH THATS WHY U DRANK A RAT POISON TO MEET HIM WHERE U SENT HIM  THEN I WILL BELIEVE U
Posted: at 17-08-2015 06:51 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fashoney at 17-08-2015 07:17 AM (8 years ago)
He,babangida may b d person who denied him presidency but I think its a settings from God,how he wanted it 2be probably he's tenure would ve been worst..nt to even talk abt dose bibles he threw inside d water!
Posted: at 17-08-2015 07:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 17-08-2015 07:32 AM (8 years ago)
Oldness combined with paskistanis desease is killin dis FOOL gradually
Posted: at 17-08-2015 07:32 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- PaskyWosky at 17-08-2015 09:07 AM (8 years ago)
na them sabi....dazzol
Posted: at 17-08-2015 09:07 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 17-08-2015 09:39 AM (8 years ago)
See what old age can do. He is confessing because he want to make heaven. Story!
Posted: at 17-08-2015 09:39 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 17-08-2015 09:45 AM (8 years ago)
shut up there IBB so you think say you go still dey alive in 50years time!!  YOU BETRAYER
Posted: at 17-08-2015 09:45 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- winace at 17-08-2015 10:16 AM (8 years ago)
Don't look forward to anythg in d next 50yrs o. We don't pray u shld be alive dat time o. We pray all d evil genius in politic shld be dead and gone by then. Beside u and Abiola were friends so u can miss him.
Posted: at 17-08-2015 10:16 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OBASURE at 17-08-2015 11:35 AM (8 years ago)
During the tenure of my boss, President Obasanjo
Posted: at 17-08-2015 11:35 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- shaddybaby at 17-08-2015 12:01 PM (8 years ago)
He's only trying 2 confess his evil deeds. Sorry sir it's too late and if truely u are remorseful sell all ur properties and give 2 d poor
Posted: at 17-08-2015 12:01 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- bamilok2008 at 17-08-2015 12:26 PM (8 years ago)
Stupid man, IBB put Nigeria in darkness we are today
Posted: at 17-08-2015 12:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Tyahaya at 17-08-2015 01:55 PM (8 years ago)
Democracy is indeed beautiful,  this man is walking freely after everything he had done.
Posted: at 17-08-2015 01:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 17-08-2015 02:26 PM (8 years ago)
Missing him for wat? Na ur babe?
Posted: at 17-08-2015 02:26 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DJSNIPPER at 17-08-2015 03:23 PM (8 years ago)
Was IBB reading the letter MKO wrote him while he was in prison begging him to be let out. IBB has no shame saying he missed MKO, knowing he caused that man's demise that annulled the election.The noble thing to do is apologize to the family for their loss.
Posted: at 17-08-2015 03:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 17-08-2015 05:06 PM (8 years ago)
you are just lucky the Yorubas has forgiven you.
Posted: at 17-08-2015 05:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac