Federal Govt Names 13-Man Panel To Probe Yar’adua, Jonathan

Date: 25-08-2015 6:03 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 25-08-2015 06:03 AM (8 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari, yesterday, set up a 13-member panel to probe two of his predecessors, late Umaru Musa Yar’Adua and Dr. Goodluck Jonathan, on procurement of arms and ammunition for the Armed Forces.

The investigative committee’s mandate is to identify irregularities and make recommendations for streamlining the procurement process in the Armed Forces.
The committee, which was constituted by the the National Security Adviser, Major-General Babagana Monguno (retd), on the directive of the President, is headed by AVM J.O.N. Ode (retd.) while Brig-Gen. Y. I. Shalangwa is secretary, Mr. I. Magu (EFCC) amongst other members.

A statement from the presidential spokesman, Mr. Femi Adesina, said
“The establishment of the investigative committee is in keeping with President Buhari’s determination to stamp out corruption and irregularities in Nigeria’s public service.
“It comes against the background of the myriad of challenges that the Nigerian Armed Forces have faced in the course of ongoing counter-insurgency operations in the northeast, including the apparent deficit in military platforms with its attendant negative effects on troops’ morale.

“The committee will specifically investigate allegations of non-adherence to correct equipment procurement procedures and the exclusion of relevant logistics branches from arms procurement under past administrations, which, very often resulted in the acquisition of sub-standard and unserviceable equipment.”

The Presidency declared that Buhari’s administration is not a government of probes but of due process, law and order.

Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Mallam Garba Shehu, who spoke yesterday stated that the administration of President Buhari will not shy away from probing the government of former President Jonathan in the face of alleged fraud and corruption.

He said this following an accusation of selective probe against Buhari by a prominent northern leader, Tanko Yakassai.

The presidential aide said there are sensitive matters arising from briefings and official engagements, which the President cannot overlook.
He said:
“Let me say that officially, nobody is under probe, even Dr. Jonathan. People should not make mistakes about the fact that what is going on are routine investigations. These are matters that the President has found on the table.

“So, there is nothing like a probe. If Jonathan will be probed, you would have heard of, may be, an administrative panel of enquiry or judicial panel of enquiry. But it hasn’t come to that. These are matters of routine engagements of due process of law and order.

“President Buhari in his campaign said his government was not going to probe into the past. We are not probing but as a responsible government, you cannot bring to the table matters such as we are dealing with and then, the President will wave them off.

“The Office of the President may be powerful but it is controlled, regulated by due process and the constitution of the country. The President cannot wave away matters that are arising from either handing-over or the routine briefings. How can anybody say he was part of the Obasanjo military regime and that’s why he’s not probing them?

Speaking further, he said:
“Let me tell you, if Obasanjo and Yar’Adua and all of the past governments before Jonathan needed to have been probed, why did Jonathan shy away from his responsibility? Why didn’t he probe them while he was in office? Why didn’t Tanko Yakassai ask Jonathan to probe Yar’Adua, Babangida, Obasanjo? Why do they have to wait for Buhari to come and do what he should have done?

“It is common sense. So, if he didn’t probe them, why should his people ask some other person to probe them? If they felt it was desirable to probe the past administration, as a party, why didn’t they do it themselves? Why do they have to wait for President Buhari?

“This is not a government of probes. It is a government of due process and law and order. President Buhari is dealing with the matters he has found on the table and he has no power under the constitution to wave them. If somebody had stolen Nigeria’s one billion dollars of oil, President Buhari is not authorized to wave it off under the law. He should ask questions. There is no probe going on now. People who are creating the spectre of probes in the country just want to create unnecessary fear.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 25-08-2015 06:03 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moralemike07 at 25-08-2015 06:24 AM (8 years ago)
At this point, OBJ' administration was clean abi?
Posted: at 25-08-2015 06:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DJSNIPPER at 25-08-2015 06:50 AM (8 years ago)

Buhari thinks he is crafty by adding Yaradua, a dead man to Jonathan as the past rulers he will probe so as not be seen as being selective in his partial and discriminatory probe.
The truth still remains that the purported probe is selective and discriminatory. Why only Jonathan and Yar-adua both of whom are civilians?
Does that mean that OBJ, IBB, Buhari, and Abusalam, are untouchable. It is easy for Buhari to probe the civilian rulers but exclude all the rulers with military backgrounds?
Could it be that he is afraid of a military coup if he probes the military rulers? Or could it be because Jonathan and Yar adua do not have connection in the Military that could repeat in his life what happened to him in 1985?

Besides, what is the need of him adding the name of a dead man to Jonathan as those rulers he would probe while excluding the rulers who are living and can be called on to defend their stewardship? This is nothing but craftiness and deception on steroids.
Posted: at 25-08-2015 06:50 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 25-08-2015 07:04 AM (8 years ago)
abeg if na no get any other tin to do wit una time, make una go sambisa go rescue our girls for us oooooo. una don probe so tay dead man wey dey sleep jeje for him grave dey cry make una no come probe am , Na wa oooo
Posted: at 25-08-2015 07:04 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Wysetots at 25-08-2015 07:23 AM (8 years ago)
Uncle Buhari !!
Add ThiefNUBU join naaa !!

Posted: at 25-08-2015 07:23 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 25-08-2015 07:31 AM (8 years ago)
Oh Buhari, d biggest mistake u are already making is not involving d real thief OBASANJO 8yrs to dis probe. Seriously niger delta are jt waiting for dis. Then u will kn boko haram are child's play. Are u not suppose to probe all d 16yrs?Huh? Hmmmm I dey laff. Let's watch how dis drama is going to unfold.
Posted: at 25-08-2015 07:31 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 25-08-2015 08:40 AM (8 years ago)
we dey watch oooh..nigeria go divide oooh..
Posted: at 25-08-2015 08:40 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 25-08-2015 09:09 AM (8 years ago)
ok na ok
Posted: at 25-08-2015 09:09 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- ngfineface at 25-08-2015 09:24 AM (8 years ago)
Great
Posted: at 25-08-2015 09:24 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- anaruth at 25-08-2015 09:39 AM (8 years ago)
Buhari is telling us that true, true, he is a crafty man, deceptive and that he is prepared to face the hotness of Nigeria delta.  How can he probe a dead man, what about obasanjo, instead he made him an adviser for what,  are there not living past leaders?  Why is he excluding them.  We all are waiting to see what Nigeria will be in the next few years.  The truth is that he is telling the Biafrans to prepare to go.  We are ready, we will soon leave Nigeria to go to our father's land.  You can then govern your people as you would like. 

Posted: at 25-08-2015 09:39 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Fashoney at 25-08-2015 09:54 AM (8 years ago)
This is great!
Posted: at 25-08-2015 09:54 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PaskyWosky at 25-08-2015 10:03 AM (8 years ago)
clap for your self
Posted: at 25-08-2015 10:03 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 25-08-2015 10:15 AM (8 years ago)
Ooooooh
Posted: at 25-08-2015 10:15 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- schmit at 25-08-2015 10:56 AM (8 years ago)
This man hate Jonathan
Posted: at 25-08-2015 10:56 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 25-08-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago)
Obasanjo nko? OBJ no follow for ppl wey u go probe? Na wa oo
Posted: at 25-08-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- 4tocopyvan at 25-08-2015 11:56 AM (8 years ago)
Biafra wey  u dey carry for head to , go suffer ehh, cos I can see that u are mannerless idiot
Posted: at 25-08-2015 11:56 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 25-08-2015 04:18 PM (8 years ago)
 Angry Angry how come all of you are scared about Jonathan.....is it because you all know he is guilty Huh?
Posted: at 25-08-2015 04:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Abubu86 at 25-08-2015 04:34 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: oluwasegun on 25-08-2015 11:56 AM
Biafra wey  u dey carry for head to , go suffer ehh, cos I can see that u are mannerless idiot
Grin Grin
Posted: at 25-08-2015 04:34 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 25-08-2015 06:29 PM (8 years ago)
Imagine adding a dead man to justify his action against jonathan administration. If u were to probe past leaders. Obansanjo is the most corrupt of em all cus during his tenure that nigeria made the highest money of all time and nobody account for it. And also IBB. Now we truly know that he(buhari) is a joker and bias in his probe. Sege!!!
Posted: at 25-08-2015 06:29 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- chealseafc at 25-08-2015 08:41 PM (8 years ago)
no be today we don dey hear prob, prob.
Posted: at 25-08-2015 08:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac