Checkout Umoja Village, The All Female Village In The Heart Of Kenya

Date: 15-09-2015 2:34 pm (8 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 15-09-2015 02:34 PM (8 years ago)

Umoja is literally a no man’s land in Kenya – a matriarchal refuge where men are not allowed. The village, founded 25 years ago by Rebecca Lolosoli, is meant to be a safe haven for women and girls who want to escape abuse in the otherwise patriarchal society of the Samburu people, in northern Kenya.
Rebecca, a member of the Samburu tribe, now serves as the chief matriarch of ‘Umoja Usau Women’s Village’. Having witnessed occasional violence as a child, she slowly came to the conclusion that some of the traditional Samburu practices were inherently abusive towards women. So she began to speak out against these practices, in favour of widows, orphans, and victims of r*pe, female private part cutting, and forced marriage.
Rebecca’s outspoken attitude was met with a lot of resistance. Things got out of hand when she spoke up for a few women who were defiled by British soldiers training nearby. Men in her village beat her up, and her husband did not protest on her behalf. So in 1990, she led a female exodus and started her own village.
“For more than 50 years, British soldiers trained in our area,” she told Satya Magazine. “Wearing green uniforms they blended with the trees and when women collected firewood, the soldiers would jump out and r*pe them, laughing like it was a game. The men made their wives leave, taking the children with them. Then they had nothing and many would resort to brewing changaa (an alcoholic drink) to earn money, but it is illegal to sell this, and the women were jailed, leaving their children without caregivers and some were eaten by hyenas.”
“My own husband was not bad,” she added. “We married when I was 18, and he paid a dowry of 17 cows. But four men in the village didn’t like me because I started selling goods, and they beat me up and took my money. Then I started talking about helping the r*pe victims and the next time my husband left on business, the men beat me severely. I left the hospital and my parents said I should rejoin my husband. He said nothing about what the men had done, and so I realized I could be killed, so I left.”

Posted: at 15-09-2015 02:34 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bayonel3 at 15-09-2015 02:49 PM (8 years ago)
this is a sad story.... nice one tho.. it takes courage

Posted: at 15-09-2015 02:49 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ken1230 at 15-09-2015 03:03 PM (8 years ago)
Are you enjoying it without men? I mean segxwally?
Posted: at 15-09-2015 03:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- laycopolo at 15-09-2015 03:04 PM (8 years ago)
Lagidigba
Posted: at 15-09-2015 03:04 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- uchex at 15-09-2015 03:05 PM (8 years ago)
Lol hope una dey battle ready cos one day one day horny men go raid that village
Posted: at 15-09-2015 03:05 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- princemma at 15-09-2015 03:19 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: uchex on 15-09-2015 03:05 PM
Lol hope una dey battle ready cos one day one day horny men go raid that village
Posted: at 15-09-2015 03:19 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 15-09-2015 03:38 PM (8 years ago)
all female village hmmm i wonna visit that side
Posted: at 15-09-2015 03:38 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- bayonel3 at 15-09-2015 03:52 PM (8 years ago)
very true

Posted: at 15-09-2015 03:52 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- omoboriowo96 at 15-09-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago)
How would they get married?
Posted: at 15-09-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 15-09-2015 05:44 PM (8 years ago)
nawa ooh
Posted: at 15-09-2015 05:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ebukkkason at 15-09-2015 05:47 PM (8 years ago)
Is dis 4 real
Posted: at 15-09-2015 05:47 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- innocentbola at 15-09-2015 05:50 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: bayonel3 on 15-09-2015 02:49 PM
this is a sad story.... nice one tho.. it takes courage

It is very sad...
Posted: at 15-09-2015 05:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- innocentbola at 15-09-2015 05:51 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Ken1230 on 15-09-2015 03:03 PM
Are you enjoying it without men? I mean segxwally?

Maybe they don't do that...
Posted: at 15-09-2015 05:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Quote from: olalekan on 15-09-2015 03:04 PM
Lagidigba

Lagidigba indeed...

I think so too, but they should battle ready always...
- innocentbola at 15-09-2015 05:52 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: omoboriowo96 on 15-09-2015 04:54 PM
How would they get married?

maybe they plan not to...
Posted: at 15-09-2015 05:52 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- temi_1 at 15-09-2015 06:05 PM (8 years ago)
Strange
Posted: at 15-09-2015 06:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- innocentbola at 15-09-2015 06:05 PM (8 years ago)
A lot is happening in every part of the world...
Posted: at 15-09-2015 06:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- WILLIAMS99 at 15-09-2015 06:27 PM (8 years ago)
That's courage. I like it
Posted: at 15-09-2015 06:27 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 15-09-2015 06:58 PM (8 years ago)
We too bush for africa...
Posted: at 15-09-2015 06:58 PM (8 years ago) | Hero