Girl Born Without A Forehead Undergoes Pioneering 3D Surgery To Fill Hole After Her Brain 'Split'

Date: 08-10-2015 12:49 am (8 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 8-10-2015 12:49 AM (8 years ago)

A seven-year-old girl born with a huge hole in her forehead has undergone pioneering surgery to fill it - using 3D printed technology. Grace Kabelenga had surgery at four years old to correct her craniofacial abnormality - but a large section of her skull was removed to prevent infection.

As a result Grace from Ndola, Zambia, has never been to school and is not allowed to play with other children as she is desperately prone to infections.

Just falling over or being touched in the wrong place could have killed her, as the entire front section of her skull was missing and her brain was completely unprotected under the skin of her forehead.

Now Grace has undergone state of the art surgery in South Africa to have a specially constructed forehead implanted into her skull to encourage the bone to grow. Grace's unique facial condition developed in the womb and her parents Ngula and Elijah desperately sought medical attention upon her birth.

Ngula said: "When she was born she was rushed to a children's hospital. There was so many doctors but they told us they couldn't do anything because it was beyond their ability."
Elijah said: "Grace had a cranio-facial abnormality. The eyes, the nostrils, the mouth they were all far apart.

"The nostrils were actually 13 centimetres apart. The brain was suspended and stuck to the hard palette on her mouth. You could physically see it outside just covered by a thin skin."
Grace's face had been forced apart by an encephalocele, a defect in which part of the brain peeks through an opening in the skull , splitting open her face down the middle.

It destroyed the base of the skull meaning there was a hole in the roof of her mouth through which her brain was hanging.

When Grace was three years old, she and her father Elijah flew to Argentina for her first life-changing surgery.

After six months in hospital being treated by nutritionists to increase her size and strength, Grace was considered ready for the 21-hour surgery which lifted her brain and rebuilt her face.

American surgeon Dr Kenneth Salyer, founder of the World Craniofacial Foundation, who stepped in to help Grace, said: "The reason to operate was to save her life, she couldn't live that way and would not survive long term."

At seven years old, Grace's face had healed, but she still has no bone in her forehead. She wore a padded helmet and her parents had to take continual care as only a thin layer of skin protected her brain.

Posted: at 8-10-2015 12:49 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- allenspike at 8-10-2015 03:33 AM (8 years ago)
So touching to see a lil girl @ such state, may God continue to intercede for you and your family.

Posted: at 8-10-2015 03:33 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- noma12 at 8-10-2015 05:25 AM (8 years ago)
Me I read am small na him I rest. I no fit dey read bad news this morning when am about going to work . I feel sorry for the young girl and her parents . May God help us all from this kind situation and prevent it from happening to us all  in jesus name amen.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 05:25 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- proly at 8-10-2015 05:40 AM (8 years ago)
The story is really touchn...sufering statedd at tendder age...but my prayerr is that joy at end will be ur portion IJN
Posted: at 8-10-2015 05:40 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 8-10-2015 05:42 AM (8 years ago)
Waoh wat a wonderful transformation. Congrats to u my name sake.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 05:42 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emma4love3 at 8-10-2015 05:52 AM (8 years ago)
mmmm so so touching...so she wil grow to
adult without bone in her forehead....well
her family try and all the doctors too....
Posted: at 8-10-2015 05:52 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 8-10-2015 05:55 AM (8 years ago)
God wil surely continue to watch over you...
at least u r looking beautiful now....and smile
Posted: at 8-10-2015 05:55 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 8-10-2015 06:11 AM (8 years ago)
God ave mercy,I tank u 4 d successful surgery on dis little girl.I keep saying it God loves scientist cos dis guys dey mke God hapi wella 4 d brain wey em gve dem nd dia dey put am 2 work.No be 2 pose 4 vanity magazine naked.who u help?
Posted: at 8-10-2015 06:11 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 8-10-2015 06:52 AM (8 years ago)
eyaa, dis a very touchin story, jst 7 yrs, she has passed thrugh difficulties, we tnk God 4 a successful operation.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 06:52 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 8-10-2015 06:56 AM (8 years ago)
Grace, i pray 4 grace of d Lord to follow u all d days of ur life, in all ur struggle u shall conquer
Posted: at 8-10-2015 06:56 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osammya2012 at 8-10-2015 07:08 AM (8 years ago)
What a miracle worker! God is Great! Praise Him for this Testimony.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 07:08 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- greatestdon at 8-10-2015 09:11 AM (8 years ago)
God bless her parents for caring enuf to spend for her recovery. So many ppl wld hve dumped the child. I pray for her total healing in Jesus name.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 09:11 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- stella1981 at 8-10-2015 09:27 AM (8 years ago)
Speeding recovery to you little girl in jesus
Posted: at 8-10-2015 09:27 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- giftmurphy at 8-10-2015 09:41 AM (8 years ago)
speedy recovery
Posted: at 8-10-2015 09:41 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 8-10-2015 09:45 AM (8 years ago)
na wa ooo see medical miracle
Posted: at 8-10-2015 09:45 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- dennisjean at 8-10-2015 01:20 PM (8 years ago)
God you are forever Grate
Posted: at 8-10-2015 01:20 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- satsaver at 8-10-2015 02:50 PM (8 years ago)
Thank you Lord for sound health please help her
Posted: at 8-10-2015 02:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cruzita at 8-10-2015 08:59 PM (8 years ago)
It is well with your soul dear, God almighty is with you.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 08:59 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- bohlah at 9-10-2015 06:18 AM (8 years ago)
OMG! What's dis? How did this happen?

Posted: at 9-10-2015 06:18 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bohlah at 9-10-2015 06:21 AM (8 years ago)
In everything, we should give thanks. It is well with you. The Lord will heal u completely.

Posted: at 9-10-2015 06:21 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Nigeria Lady Shares Man’s Hilarious Reaction After Turning Down His S3xual Advances

2. This is Unacceptable - Comedian Seyilaw Calls Out President Tinubu Over New CBN Policy

3. UPDATE! Ekiti Varsity Students Caught on Camera Bullying Classmate Have Been Expelled

4. I Was Ripped After Ordering Azul And Empty Bottle Was Delivered In Kenya - Portable Laments

5. VIDEO: Man Shares The Disgusting State of a Hostel Room in University of Nigeria Nsukka

6. Veteran Nigerian Actress, Ovularia, Reportedly Died At 81 In Port Harcourt

7. NFF Opens Up On Why Finidi Got Super Eagles Job

8. 21Yr Old Woman Killed By Her Boyfriend In South Africa

9. UPDATE: US Announces Plan To Partner Nigeria To Combat Cybercrime, Fraud Scams, Sextortion

10. Real Madrid v Bayern Munich: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

11. Nigerian Police Kill 2 Suspected Kidnappers In Gun Duel, Rescue 3 Indians In Ogun

12. Teenager, Oluwateniola Omidiji Spends Days In Detention Over Mother’s Debt, Drags EFCC To Court

13. Throwback Post Of Davido Calling Mercy Johnson And Husband ‘Wicked’ Resurfaces

14. UPDATE: CBN Releases List Of Licensed Deposit Money Banks In Nigeria

15. President Tinubu Returns To Nigeria After Netherlands, Saudi Trips

16. Family Accuses Vigilante Operatives Of Robbing, Killing 2 Brothers In Rivers

17. 10Yr Old Boy Among 6 Suspected Phone Snatchers, Robbers & Thugs Arrested In Niger State

18. 25Yr Old Man, Aniedi Mfon Sentenced To Life Imprisonment For Raping 8Yr Old Girl In Cross River

19. Bandits Reportedly Kidnap Zamfara Bank Manager, Mansur Kaura

20. VIDEO: Queeneth Hilbert Slams Prophet Who Claimed She Will Die For Dragging Mercy Johnson

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

8. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

9. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe