25 Shops and Two Warehouse Destroyed as Fire Guts Ikorodu Market in Lagos

Date: 08-10-2015 10:03 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 8-10-2015 10:03 AM (8 years ago)

Properties worth millions of naira were lost in an early morning inferno which razed a section of Sabo Market, Ikorodu, as no fewer than 25 shops, a relaxation spot and two warehouses and houses were yesterday razed. The incident was attributed to a power surge which occurred at about 1:20am when the traders had retired from the day’s business. This prompted response of the state emergency responders who were said to have prevented the fire from escalating. It was learnt that the victims blamed their woes on the non-challant attitude of personnel of Ikeja Distribution Company who supplies electricity to the market. According to the traders, the company failed to respond to a distress call until the situation almost got out of hand. "Before going home  on Tuesday, there was high voltage which affected electrical appliances such as bulbs, fans and sockets, a signal that havoc will soon be recorded but the distribution company turned deaf ears to this.
"The office of the electricity supplier is very close to the market and we called their emergency number asking them to switch off the panel leading to the market but there was no response until the fire escalated and almost spread to their office," chorused the traders. An eyewitness, Austin Daniel, said he received a distress call at about 1.25am and quickly rushed to the scene. "I was confused when I got a distress call thinking it was a small matter and I rushed to the scene with two buckets of water but it dawned on me that it was not a child’s play when I got to the scene. 'Anyway, credit goes to the fire services who were readily on ground before me and many other shops were saved," he said. One of the affected victims simply identified as  Sunday,who deals on provision, said he did not believe the inferno could spread to his shop. "I thought I was coming to sympathise with others but I was shocked to discover that my shops were among the affected shops," he lamented.

Posted: at 8-10-2015 10:03 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- omoboriowo96 at 8-10-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago)
sorry for the lost
Posted: at 8-10-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kudoson at 8-10-2015 11:03 AM (8 years ago)
Why is it dat is only whn we enter Mba. Month mkt always start burning in nigeria. God hv mercy
Posted: at 8-10-2015 11:03 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- allenspike at 8-10-2015 11:18 AM (8 years ago)
This barbaric! those who lost properties worth millions of naira, where do u expect them to start from?

Posted: at 8-10-2015 11:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- allenspike at 8-10-2015 11:19 AM (8 years ago)
Nepa should always respond to distress calls as to ensure safety.

Posted: at 8-10-2015 11:19 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- allenspike at 8-10-2015 11:22 AM (8 years ago)
This is the reason why insuring your property helps at times, but the problem is we don't have the funds to secure one!

Posted: at 8-10-2015 11:22 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rara4romSA at 8-10-2015 12:07 PM (8 years ago)
oh my god
Posted: at 8-10-2015 12:07 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 8-10-2015 12:36 PM (8 years ago)
na wa ooo and them  no get insurance
Posted: at 8-10-2015 12:36 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- franklinseyea at 8-10-2015 01:20 PM (8 years ago)
Sorry for the loss brother, I pray God will help u
Posted: at 8-10-2015 01:20 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 8-10-2015 01:36 PM (8 years ago)
Nawaooo this realy hard time that everone is cryn....jst to startup life at fresh
Posted: at 8-10-2015 01:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 8-10-2015 02:14 PM (8 years ago)
Why will dat guy Sunday wish other pple bad and not himself "he thot he is going to sympathise wit others" can u imagine. Good dat ur shop is among. Rubbish
I feel for all those whose shops and warehouse wit enjoyment centre was affected.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 02:14 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Trueyarn at 8-10-2015 03:17 PM (8 years ago)
I felt very sorry for all those involve in dis inferno,I pray God will restore everything that seems to have lost.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 03:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 8-10-2015 03:17 PM (8 years ago)
I felt very sorry for all those involve in dis inferno,I pray God will restore everything that seems to have lost.
Posted: at 8-10-2015 03:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 8-10-2015 08:49 PM (8 years ago)
Dem suppose sue dat company....
Posted: at 8-10-2015 08:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 8-10-2015 10:30 PM (8 years ago)
eyaa, i knw it wil b a great lost to dose whose shopz were affected. may God help u all
Posted: at 8-10-2015 10:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 8-10-2015 10:32 PM (8 years ago)
huge lost...for the owners... i feel for them sha
were to start from now....govt is doing their best
Posted: at 8-10-2015 10:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 8-10-2015 10:36 PM (8 years ago)
but we the individuals we dnt....how can
wearhouse be robbing side by side with
the office of the electricity supplier....
Posted: at 8-10-2015 10:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kelechi86 at 9-10-2015 09:02 PM (8 years ago)
eiya. sorry oh
Posted: at 9-10-2015 09:02 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bohlah at 9-10-2015 10:07 PM (8 years ago)
Properties worth Millions of Naira is gone. Who should we blame, traders or PHCN?

Posted: at 9-10-2015 10:07 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bohlah at 9-10-2015 10:08 PM (8 years ago)
Now they are gonna be seeking help from the Government

Posted: at 9-10-2015 10:08 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero