How will Farouk Mutallab's bomb attempt affect Nigeria's Image and Economy?

Date: 01-01-2010 7:10 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8
- at 1-01-2010 07:10 PM (14 years ago)
It’s detrimental to the welfare of Nigerians abroad: Pastor Pius Osombor
When I heard about it, I felt sad. The situation is detrimental to the welfare of Nigerians. I am concerned about Nigerians living abroad, especially in the United States of America. They would definitely be treated badly, as citizens from a terrorist country. This development is not about Muslim fanaticism. It is about an individual deciding to use himself as a tool for destruction. The boy was used to disgrace Nigeria.
I really feel bad about this. My prayer is that God should the heart of the Americans so that they won’t use this as a yardstick against our brothers abroad.

Nigeria is not a terrorist country: Vincent Uche
The way and manner it happened, it would definitely have a negative effect on Nigeria’s image. Though Nigeria as a country has always been viewed negatively, we are not a terrorist country. We are just unfortunate at this stage.

American would no longer respect Nigeria: Biodun Adedokun
This can destroy Nigeria’s image completely. Americans would not respect Nigeria again. Somebody like that boy should not be among living people. It is a big problem for us. The young man should be thoroughly dealt with.

It is a big stain: Humphrey Haruna
It would further destroy Nigeria’s image. It is a big stain that would take time to clear. For such a boy from a rich family to embark on that type of mission, he must be possessed. He needs help.

No right thinking individual would support a terrorist act: Orji Ikechukwu
When you hear about Al-Qaeda, the first thing that would come to your mind is Muslim. But we should not forget that Nigeria is a secular state, not a Muslim state. What I am trying to say is that Nigeria does not engage in this type of act carried out by this boy. If he had succeeded, innocent lives would have been lost. No right thinking individual would support a terrorist act. It is not good for us. We are talking about re-branding Nigeria’s image. Now, look at what has happened.

Nigeria would be seen as a terrorist country: Oluwadare Happiness
The boy is talented and has ability but was channelled into a wrong course. We have such people in Nigeria but because of the nonchalant attitude of our leaders, they waste away, while those that want to be very useful get involved in things that can destroy their lives. Presently, what that boy did is like a black stain. The world would now see us as a terrorist country. Our youths have potentials that should be well harnessed. If not, the result would be this type of shame.

Why go to America?: Alhaji Yakubu Usman
Nigeria is definitely finished internationally. Terrorists don’t rely on religion to work. They can use either a Christian or Muslim that has a willing heart. My question is, why go to the America when we have corrupt leaders that should fall victims. It is unfortunate that this is happening at a time our image is battered. Once he is okay, the American government should deal with him according to their law. Can you imagine the number of passengers on that flight and what could have happened to their family if the boy had succeeded? Why didn’t he blow up his family?

The boy is frustrated: Friday Ehis
I don’t think the boy’s attempt to blow up an American plane has anything to do with Al-Qaeda. Maybe, the boy is frustrated. I don’t think the action would have a negative effect on Nigeria’s image because the whole world knows that we don’t support terrorism. He carried out the attack on his own. According to his confession, he was taught to operate the device but really couldn’t do it. We are a peaceful country. We want peace and not destruction.

It would add to our battered image: David Ahamefula
It would add to our already battered image. Al-Qaeda infiltrating Nigeria is out of it. They must not be in Nigeria to use Nigerians for their operation. All these fanatics can use anybody that is willing to carry out their devilish acts.

A Nigerian doesn’t have any business with terrorists: Sanni Yakubu
We are not happy that everything in this country is going bad. The government is very sick. There is no food and petrol. Crime is increasing daily and now this. We need Allah’s help now. A Nigerian doesn’t have any business with terrorists. Our faith does not support shedding of innocent blood for no just cause. We should thank Allah that the young man did not succeed. If he had succeeded, all of us would have been in serious trouble.

Nigerians should pray: Blessing Nwanchukwu
It is a pity that while we are trying to cover our bad image, others are busy exposing it. I was extremely shocked when I heard the news. The boy is too small to think of such devilish act. He is not alone in the act. Nigerians should pray because these are the signs of the end.

Hijacking hasn’t been part of Nigeria: Marcel Onwuka
There must be reason behind his action. He must have carried out the operation with serious grudge. Hijacking has not been part of Nigeria. He must be collaborating with some people because I can’t imagine how he managed to escape from all the airport’s screening devices.

The boy needs deliverance: Kindness Nkiru
I don’t think such person is a Nigerian. For goodness sake, the boy is just 23 and is too young to carry out such critical assignment. He is not a good citizen. The boy needs deliverance

Have you experienced any incident as a result of this boy's action? or do you have any comment to add, please post it blow

Posted: at 1-01-2010 07:10 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ksurrina at 1-01-2010 07:43 PM (14 years ago)
It has surely helped to damage the already battered brand but acting in denial saying that he is not a Nigerian only allows foreigners tongue to start wagging negatively. He is a son of the soil one who as sinned but shouldn't be throw out like this. Rich people children are not normally happy even though they are wealthy there is always something that they lack. Wealth and money is not all. Love and respect is what should mix with the money and wealth. All Nigerians need to do who are living in the diaspora is to put aside their tribal war and come together as one. Nigerians are nice people and they need to realize this. They are gifted but they lack that togetherness that need inside the country. I am an outsider and I know that Igbo and Yoruba don't get along. This need to stop if you want a Unity Nigeria. Let us strive for this for this year 2010. As for the Americans those shows and books that they wrote and produced in the early years are affecting them. Their writers are the ones who gave terrorists ideas. It is just a pity that it is affecting citizens worldwide.

Posted: at 1-01-2010 07:43 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dolphinkate at 1-01-2010 08:28 PM (14 years ago)
It did not only spoil the image of nigeria, it could become a big problem of terror worldwide. This was may just the beginning. Who knows, if Al-Qaeda and nigerian mafia took over the nigerian country already? What would be the next step of them? Is known, that al-qaeda is misusing the coran for their terror acts. The letter bombs in lagos this christmas time. maybe is act from them too. And may this was just the beginning... They like to destroy christians and the western world. It s not a matter of the western world against nigeria nor a matter of christians against muslims. Besides true muslims r living their religion in peace and the new testament of the holy bible is part of the coran.

The problem is here is, how to stop the terror for the world s peace sake.  Secondly how to restore nigeria. Nigeria needs a good sincere leader and save political system, which is taking responsibility for the whole nation s needs.
Posted: at 1-01-2010 08:28 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- dolphinkate at 1-01-2010 08:30 PM (14 years ago)
It did not only spoil the image of nigeria, it could become a big problem of terror worldwide. This was may just the beginning. Who knows, if Al-Qaeda and nigerian mafia took over the nigerian country already? What would be the next step of them? Is known, that al-qaeda is misusing the coran for their terror acts. The letter bombs in lagos this christmas time. maybe is act from them too. And may this was just the beginning... They like to destroy christians and the western world. It s not a matter of the western world against nigeria nor a matter of christians against muslims. Besides true muslims r living their religion in peace and the new testament of the holy bible is part of the coran.

The problem is here is, how to stop the terror for the world s peace sake.  Secondly how to restore nigeria. Nigeria needs a good sincere leader and save political system, which is taking responsibility for the whole nation s needs.
Posted: at 1-01-2010 08:30 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- landerbrother4u at 1-01-2010 09:06 PM (14 years ago)
NIGERIA ,  NIGERIAN GIVERNMENT WAKE UP.....SUFFER , SUFFER ,  SUFFER  LIKE THA  NA  NIGERIAN GOVENMENT  FAULT  , LIKE DR FELA  SAY IT ...IT WAS SOUND LIKE A   JOKE.....NOW   MY FELLOW  BROTHER....NIGERIAN   WAKE UP.....THIS IS  A  LESSON FOR US AS A CITEZEN OF NIGERIA.....NIGERIAN  IN POLITICS ARE THE MOST CURRUPTA BALE PEOPLE IN THE WHOLE WORLD....  IF WE A A GOOD NATION WHO CARE ABOUT OUR CITIZENS OUR  CHILDREN LIFE WILL BE MORE BETTER THAN THE WAY IT IS TODAY.... WAKE UP  NIGERIAN,   THERE PROBLEM FACING THE NATION.......WHERE IS THE PRESIDENT  OF THE WHOLE FEDERATION   OF NIGERIA....THIS IS THE TIME  TO FACE THE REALITY ....WE ARE NOT ONE NATION....ONE GOVERNMENT.....THE   SMALL BOY THAT TARNISH OUR  IMAGE NOW IS WHAT WE ARE LOOKING /READING ABOUT ....WHERE ARE THE THIVIES THAT LOOT  OUR TREASURY..WHERE ARE THE ECONOMY ?  INSIDE NIGERIA OUR ECONOMY IS   DOWN WITHOUT TERRORIST....WE ARE NOT GOING NO WHERE IF WE CANNOT JUST GIVE  THE VICE PRESIDENT.. THE  PRESIDENCY TO  TAKE POSITION  HE DESERVE.....SO THAT NIGERIA CAN MOVE  FORWARD ,  NOW  LOOK AT OUR IMAGE BOTH HOME AND  ABROAD... TAKE CARE YOUR HOME THAT IS THE ONLY WAY  OUTSIDE  WILL BE  GOOD FOR THE  NIGERIAN CITIZEN,,,,,,THE  POLITICIAN  IN NIGERIA ARE OLE  THIVIES....THEY WILL NEVER GO WITHOUT PURNISHMENT.....THE BANKERS ARE THE ONE THAT LOAN MONEY TO  THIER FRIENDS, FAMILY MEMBERS, BUSINESS  PARTNERS...ETC.  ALL OF THEM WILL NEVER GO WITHOUT PURNISHMENT......THEY SOLD NIGERIA PROPERTY TO ALL THIER FRIENDS....ANYBODY CAN GET NIGERIA PASSPORT....NO   GOOD  GOVERNMENT  .....ALL OF THEM ARE LOOKING  FOR HOW TO  LOOT THE TREASURY....THEY WILL NEVER GO WITHOUT PURNISHMENT.....IF ANY ONE OF YOU HERE READING THIS  NOTE  HAVE ANY FAMILY THAT  IN POWER  TELL THEM THIER PURNISHMENT IS ON THE WAY.....IF OUR LITTLE  SON AND BROTHER CAN  BE A  TERRORIST NIGE IA SHOULD WAKE UP... VERY SOON THEY WILL START BOMBING  THE NIGERIA HOUSE OF REP....STADIUM....STATE HOUSE....EVEN  GO AFTER THE PRESIDENT OF NIGERIA .....WAKE UP  OUR LEADERS  SO THAT YOU ALLL CAN CARE ABOUT YOUR CITIZEN...
Posted: at 1-01-2010 09:06 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- pally4biuti at 1-01-2010 09:22 PM (14 years ago)
dnt really believe dat the guy will do smtin like dat
let's look at it this way, the guy in question is the only nigerian in the plane nd apart 4rm dat wat happen to do securities at airport, we all knw dat whenever we travelling they always conduct a thorough search............well for Nigerian's image, well they've just started cos they always believe information from every angle with no justified proof even his father is not even helping issues even for condemning his own blood...........

Posted: at 1-01-2010 09:22 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- kbyxcogitate at 1-01-2010 10:00 PM (14 years ago)
well....am speechless and i am confused...each time i just start wondering why all this calamity is coming from and why NIGERIA? drug,fraud and now terrorist... this is an insane issue on the Nation. NIGERIA go back and ask your oracle of your tradition that you have forsaking longtime ago what is the problem and why is it happening.
Posted: at 1-01-2010 10:00 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- pally4biuti at 1-01-2010 10:22 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: kbyxcogitate on  1-01-2010 10:00 PM
well....am speechless and i am confused...each time i just start wondering why all this calamity is coming from and why NIGERIA? drug,fraud and now terrorist... this is an insane issue on the Nation. NIGERIA go back and ask your oracle of your tradition that you have forsaking longtime ago what is the problem and why is it happening.
dnt say dat coz u re one of d nigerians nd dis is new yr..........
anyway dis bcoz it so true dat dey see us as a terrorist b4 dis case started so this became the opportunity for nigeria to admit dat they r terrorist since the person in question is a nigerian nd d only nigerian in d plane...........unfortunately nigerian ministers didn't see this comin they look at the wrong side of it by thinking d boy did it........y wont he prove guilty, even though dey set him up its bcos of pressure..........
if they can believe this den they can believe anything...................

Posted: at 1-01-2010 10:22 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ossybang at 1-01-2010 10:44 PM (14 years ago)
 >:(hornestly i just pray that our gorverment prove the wolrd
wrong by leting them know that nigeria we re not a terrorist country
as for da boy he DESERVE TO BE BURIED ALIVE
SO THAT IT WOULD BE EXAMPLE TO OTHERS LOOK AT HOW IM CRYN HERE :'(

BUT THANK GOD FOR HIS WORD WHICH SAYS THERE IS NO PEACE FOR THE WICKED
SEE UPON ALL THE MONEY WEN HIN WICKED FATER GET ME WEN BE PORR MAN PIKIN I STILL GET REST OF MIND PASS THEM ;DNOW I DEY SMILE GO MY HOUSE Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy
Posted: at 1-01-2010 10:44 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Rekky007 at 1-01-2010 10:50 PM (14 years ago)
I dont think dis incident shld affect our image in anyway cos dis boy did not grow up in Nigeria he is just a nigerian and im sure if u ask wella he was not born here. Sad and he does not reps us. I'm a real Nigerian
Posted: at 1-01-2010 10:50 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- martiz at 1-01-2010 11:30 PM (14 years ago)
It has happened nothing much, We thx God to solve the innocent soul. is a lessons for our muslim brothers in Nigeria who are heatless against christain. Mind u that guy hv already choosed death by the sender.
Posted: at 1-01-2010 11:30 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- umodia at 2-01-2010 12:30 AM (14 years ago)
farouk mutallab doesn't deserve to live because he has brought shame to nigeria as a nation and disrespect to the people of nigeria.
    This is a wake up call to so call rich men's children. The people that will suffer r' those abroad.
                       umodia
Posted: at 2-01-2010 12:30 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- williams78 at 2-01-2010 03:03 AM (14 years ago)
well this guy have really brought more attension to nigerians outside,like my girl friend was the one to call me first and tell me of  my country man who is a terrorist, ever since she've been asking me so many things about terrorist movement as if i were a terrorist,just because of thaat stupid ritard boy they call a nigerian,i feel so ashamed for his foolish act.
most of us talk about the leaders,was it the leaders that made the bomb for him?
am i not a nigerian? why didnt i bomb a plane?
nonsense!!
Posted: at 2-01-2010 03:03 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- snowsea at 2-01-2010 06:09 AM (14 years ago)
it is pretty sad. cos the day of the incident, after the breaking news was all over the globe, questions keep coming like"ARE YOU NIGERIAN" and am like YES I AM A PROUD NIGERIAN, BUT WE AINT TERRORIST........... its pretty hard for nigerians here though, cos its a big shame, this is a nation trying to stand firm, and this lil boy from nowhere is used by the devil to destroy our image.......... NIGERIANS HERE IN DA US ARE SO PISSED........... and personally i think the young man has a problem, cos, how in the world will you be from a freaking rich family and still wanna die, not just alone but with 290 people or so on board......... I really fear for his life cos the american law that i know is likely to sentence him to death or life in prison, unless God be with him.
Posted: at 2-01-2010 06:09 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- spekay at 2-01-2010 07:45 AM (14 years ago)
The initial impact of the  umar- muttalab  suicidal  bomb attempt is badly damaging to the battered Nigerian image  but as things unfold and for those who show further interest in this matter  its up to them to  use their common sense and read between the lines to see that Nigerians are still peace loving non terrorist happy  lots .  Just so unpredictably  cosmopolitan in nature

True for many who travel ..... Indeed eye brows will be raised being a nigerian or  carrying a nigerian  or other  black african country passport on a travell trip .   Added pain to their not so light burden of being a Nigerian.

On the economic front the name Nigeria wont draw a lot of tourist attraction  neither would American and Europeans consider this country the best of places to tour for leisure . - preferring to spend their coveted foreign currency elsewhere supposedly less terror -inclined

Posted: at 2-01-2010 07:45 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kristy11 at 2-01-2010 07:51 AM (14 years ago)
The only solution to this is prayer for to god to forgive him.
Posted: at 2-01-2010 07:51 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Kristy11 at 2-01-2010 07:54 AM (14 years ago)
The only solution to this is prayer dat god should forgive him, since he did not suceed god has a purpose for dat.
Posted: at 2-01-2010 07:54 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Kristy11 at 2-01-2010 07:57 AM (14 years ago)
We all know dat the AMERICAN'S never liked us one bit then imagine now dat dis boy has put more sat to d wound.the only solution to this is prayer dat god should forgive him, since he did not suceed god has a purpose for dat.
Posted: at 2-01-2010 07:57 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- mianky1 at 2-01-2010 09:32 AM (14 years ago)
this unknown boy has stain the name NIGERIA America will be looking nigeria as a terorist or a triat to them we are not
Posted: at 2-01-2010 09:32 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- mianky1 at 2-01-2010 09:40 AM (14 years ago)
nigeria has to deliver from the hands of the evil ones this guy those not have reason of doing that but he only wants to stian our name with his uselless act
Posted: at 2-01-2010 09:40 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8