At 13, I Had 3 Major Surgeries – Dencia Recounts Her Battle With Cancer

Date: 15-10-2015 12:18 am (8 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 15-10-2015 12:18 AM (8 years ago)

Dencia narrates her close shave with Cancer at the age of 13

One faithful day When I was 13yrs old, I was laying down in my bed, randomly touched my Bosom  and felt a lump in my right Bosom . I screamed, jumped and ran to my grandma’s room, she touched around and said something was wrong. I was so nervous and couldn’t wait until 8am to go to the hospital. We consulted with a few family Drs who sent us to a specialist, that same day I was doing my first mammogram ever, I was just 13 but had grown boobies (lol) the Dr said the cyst was way too big and was making me sicker.

Luckily I was already scheduled for another surgery in a few days for my throat and nose, the Dr added my Bosom  to my already scheduled surgery. I am 13 thinking how the do I have this in my Bosom . Needless to say waking up to 3 major surgeries and wouldn’t be able to talk for 3 months and bleeding all over wasn’t fun  but my issues might have ended physically but the emotional torture was on its way.

The Dr informed me that ‘There is preliminary evidence that women with Bosom  cysts may be at an increased risk of Bosom  cancer, especially at younger ages’. And that I had something related to cancer (bla bla bla ) that story wasn’t for me.

There goes my school year, before healing, I had to start getting other tests done all over the place to make sure I wasn’t at risk cancer  I was so scared and honestly I didn’t know much about cancer I just knew it killed people. I am 13 living in Africa, I did a lot of research and realized all I needed to do was checkup and make sure I was on top of my exams, mammograms and all the not so fun but necessary things.

I still wear the scar from that cyst, it’s a big scar that i am still trying to get rid it off 10+ yrs later but every time I look at it I am reminded of how lucky I am to have caught that big ass cyst, lucky to have a grandma who was on top of it all.

A lot of young girls around the world don’t have that and a lot of young and older girls and women do have the opportunity to check, do mammograms and pap smears but don’t do it. Bosom  cancer awareness and other cancers should be all year round, stay untop, stay informed, check yourself and if you don’t know how to, ask your mom, Dr, friend.

Posted: at 15-10-2015 12:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 15-10-2015 01:28 AM (8 years ago)
It's a pity but thank God u survived.
Posted: at 15-10-2015 01:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- musleh247 at 15-10-2015 06:46 AM (8 years ago)
Thank God u survived, but still be careful d way u going
Posted: at 15-10-2015 06:46 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stella1981 at 15-10-2015 07:08 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 15-10-2015 07:08 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 15-10-2015 07:13 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmmm
Posted: at 15-10-2015 07:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- aspeng007 at 15-10-2015 07:34 AM (8 years ago)
Eyah,hw abt nw,hw many surgeries u don hav afta ur complete blishin,mtcheew
Posted: at 15-10-2015 07:34 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 15-10-2015 07:44 AM (8 years ago)
Dat one small, another cancer is on its way.. Skin cancer as a result of excess bleaching, na dat time u go spend all the money wey u get to fix am... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 15-10-2015 07:44 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 15-10-2015 08:14 AM (8 years ago)
Take care...
Posted: at 15-10-2015 08:14 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 15-10-2015 08:37 AM (8 years ago)
thank Your God oooob that u detect it very  early....and now you leaving
but be checking ur cancer statues oooh
Posted: at 15-10-2015 08:37 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 15-10-2015 08:52 AM (8 years ago)
The problem wey dae ur body pass full community own,only ur look tells it all,I pity the MUGU wey go carry u put 4 house.
Posted: at 15-10-2015 08:52 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 15-10-2015 08:53 AM (8 years ago)
The problem wey dae ur body pass full community own,only ur look tells it all,I pity the MUGU wey go carry u put 4 house.
Posted: at 15-10-2015 08:53 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- allenspike at 15-10-2015 09:02 AM (8 years ago)
okay, it good hear you are free from it now

Posted: at 15-10-2015 09:02 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- allenspike at 15-10-2015 09:08 AM (8 years ago)
this simply means you've started making researches on how you'll be whiter than snow at the age of 13 right?

Posted: at 15-10-2015 09:08 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 15-10-2015 11:06 AM (8 years ago)
thank God for you He kept you alive.
Posted: at 15-10-2015 11:06 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- benny0047 at 15-10-2015 11:10 AM (8 years ago)
Cancer there ccancer here Na all we dey hear and  u don't stop all that crazy surgery
Posted: at 15-10-2015 11:10 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 15-10-2015 01:53 PM (8 years ago)
wetin make i come do poster? Roll EyesRoll EyesRoll EyesRoll Eyes
Posted: at 15-10-2015 01:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- benny0047 at 15-10-2015 02:31 PM (8 years ago)
lucky you
Posted: at 15-10-2015 02:31 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oways at 15-10-2015 05:35 PM (8 years ago)
Am tired of this Cameroonian
Posted: at 15-10-2015 05:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 15-10-2015 05:43 PM (8 years ago)
So after going thru all dis and u have heart to bleach all d layers of ur skin away ba.
Posted: at 15-10-2015 05:43 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mary11 at 15-10-2015 11:31 PM (8 years ago)
And still yet you no get sense to know say bleaching dey cause cancer, abi u like cancer ni

Posted: at 15-10-2015 11:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero